We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clover like most hotels in Myanmar are way overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Clover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clover Hotel
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clover like most hotels in Myanmar are way overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a week at Clover Hotel in Yangon. Apart from an amazing view of the Shwedigon temple, it has little to recommend it. The rooms are basic and the restaurant very poor with a limited, mostly Chines breakfast menu. Only plus is that the staff are very friendly (apart fro restaurant) and trying hard. Beware also its a cash only society - no banks or ATMs to get cash from a credit card..

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleetec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    130
    79
    26
    8
See reviews for
26
101
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Clover Hotel, Wingabar Road in February 2013. We paid their highest rate, about $140 for Pagoda View. We should have paid no more than $50.

Their advertising is deceptive - lots of pretty pictures. The hotel is new but poorly designed and built. The coffee shop was very unattractive. Our rooms were large and empty looking with tacky furniture. The Pagoda View was obscured by an ugly building. Bathroom fixtures were poorly installed. Bathroom lighting was great and the room was clean - the only highlight. Amenities such as shampoo were of the poorest quality.

The breakfast buffet was very disappointing. They offered commercial bakery grade sweet white bread, cold fried eggs, instant coffee and chinese food - yes all stir-fried Chinese dishes. Actually, I would be open to having good traditional Myanmar food in the morning. But only having Chinese food (and poor quality to boot) seemed ridiculous. By the way, the only food the hotel has on offer for all 3 meals is Chinese food.

If this hotel were priced at less than $50, it would be acceptable. But, how they can feel they can charge so much for this hotel is beyond me?????

Room Tip: If they can give you a room for under $50, it could be a good value. Rooms were very clean and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed twice at the Clover Hotel, once when we first arrived in Myanmar, then again the last night before departure. At first the hotel gave a bad impression, but in the end I found it perfectly satisfactory.

The restaurant is weird. It serves mostly Chinese food, something like Tang for orange juice, and a mediocre assortment of fresh fruit. Eggs come only poached, one over done egg at a time. The pastries are dry; the croissants neither buttery nor crunchy. There is essentially no service, other than one waiter standing behind the buffet table to pour coffee or tea, so long as you go ask for it yourself. Other meals are OK.

This was the first place I tried to change money. Don't even bother, unless you have bills fresh from the press. The hotel was far fussier than any other money changer in Myanmar, and fussier than any other hotel we stayed in in Myanmar. Once I realized that the hotel really doesn't want to change money for you, and once I found other money changers, I got past my irritation--but not until after I had rejected two-thirds of the Myanmar bills they tried to give me in exchange for my dollars. They were appalled that I gave them the same treatment they gave me.

First morning I came down with laundry. They said that it would take two days, because they send the laundry out. Most hotels in the region send laundry out, but they get it back in one day. If the hotel cared about service, they would insist that the vendor delivery clean laundry by 5, if it was giv en to the laundry by 9am. Fortunately, I was staying two more nights, so I put up with it, but this was the third thing that created a bad impression--and not just for the hotel, by also for Myanmar.

Once I got out into the city, my impressions changed. I loved Yangon, so I decided I should be satisfied with the Clover. It's a mediocre hotel, but it's only half the price of the fancy hotels, and it is in a nice quiet neighborhood only a short cab ride away from everything one might want to do, and a short walk to Schwedagon Paya. There's even a great view of Schwedagon from the 7th-floor restaurant.

The rooms are spacious, and the bathrooms big and adequate--nothing fancy though. The rooms are like cells; the chairs are ugly orange--two put together like a love seat, but very uncomfortable. There aren't enough electrical outlets if you bring a cellphone or a tablet or computer. Wifi is slow, but at least it works. The beds, however, were comfortable, and the linens were high quality, so I slept well.

The male staff wear western clothes, instead of the longyis worn at most other hotels, so the place seems a bit antiseptic.

Still, once my expectations got adjusted downward, I found the Clover satisfactory and a reasonable value, a place I can recommend halfheartedly to anyone, with appropriate warnings. It was quite a come down, though, from our hotels in Cambodia and Laos, and not as good as our hotels in Mandalay or Bagan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impatiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just down from Shwedigon Pagoda which is a great location. Rooms were clean and staff tried really hard. I found breakfast was mediocre, but beer was cold and trip was fabulous. Do the Lonely Planet walk through old Yangon, it feels like an abandoned movie set. Have tea at the Strand and visualise the boats rolling in. Was pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: There was no pool or fitness Center just can't get dots to go away when you er lick them. Got so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texasfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Point, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

From the doormen to the receptionist and cleaners, everyone was friendly and anxious to be helpful. The standard bedroom was surprisingly large, with a sofa in addition to the bed, and with all the necessary amenities. The bathroom was large, spotless and in a european style rather than asian 'wet cell'. Rooms were well serviced daily.

Meals were available at anytime. While not memorable, they were substantial and inexpensive. The view from the dining room window was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djdcns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is clean and easily accessible. My room was clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and attentive. Breakfast is good value and more than adequate. Overall good hotel and efficient service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holicday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
529 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Located very close to Shwe Daogon. Rooms are average. The property we heard has the same ownership as the Clover city center location. Not as clean and tidy as the city center location. Rooms were bigger, but less appealing. We payed over $100 for a night, which i thought was overpriced for what we got. Breakfast was included, but nothing to write home about. Its about a 40min walk to the city center, worth a cab ride in the afternoon heat of the city. Bellboys were nice and helpful. staff at the reception desk were so-so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#46 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#24 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Hotel

Property: Clover Hotel
Address: 7A Wingabar Road | Bahan, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Northern Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover Hotel which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 12 kilometers away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Clover Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi in public areas, and shared lounge are just a few of the facilities that set this property apart from others in the city. The hotel features 48 beautifully appointed guestrooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Yangon, make Clover Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, JovagoAsia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing