We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option in Yangon”
Review of Clover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clover Hotel
Ranked #35 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed December 17, 2012

There aren't many truly budget options left in Yangon it seems. At $70 a night for 2 people, Clover was a pretty good option. Comfy beds, clean bathrooms, breakfast included (although not the greatest hotel breakfast), and a safe in each room. You could walk to the pagoda and take a 10 min taxi ride to most other attractions. The staff were very helpful with directions and making reservations and internet is free (wifi and business centre). A good budget option in Yangon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 297 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Clean, neat and very reliable wifi connection (and free!). The room and bathroom are spacious but the shower has a weaker water stream. But nothing really major. The location is in a walking distance to the Shwedagon Pagoda but needs a 5-10 minutes taxi ride to the city center. Electricity is quite stable here as they have their own generator (and it is common to have a blackout in this city). The price is too expensive for what you get. But every hotel in Yangon are all overpriced anyway. Breakfast is alright, nothing fancy but nothing to complain about. And you can actually see the Shwedagon pagoda from the breakfast place. The area is quite residential. So there isn't much happening. So, better have the dinner in the center and just go back to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the highest level, so you might be lucky to have a view of the pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

2 nights stay in the hotel that reminds me of the low budget airlines (Easy Jet or Spirit)
Heavy orange colors furniture in the room, everything extra is expensive (like room with a view at the pagoda 20 us dollar extra per night) A medium breakfast but it was located in a quit neighborhood exchange rate is bad at the hotel
Nobody does understand English, French or another language except Burmese, but they stay on
smiling.

Room Tip: Be carefull with the airco if you want to see the Pagoda with the sunrise the windows are damped fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain-Ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here 1 night in November, and found Clover to be a good, clean reliable hotel, very convenient to Shwedagon Pagoda, the No 1 attraction in Yangon. And folks who's said the view from the restaurant was great, were right - a tremendous view of Shwedagon.

The complimentary Wifi in the lobby of the hotel was also a nice touch, as was the service of staff.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed there for 1 night only. The hotel is fairly clean and the staff very nice. There were about 6 people working at the reception at the same time and they were still very inefficient, I asked for a city map and everybody got agitated as if I just kicked a beehive.

The room I got was spacious with A/C and acceptable beds. It's very rudimentary and the shower is very weak. The hotel is very central, walking distance from the main temple.

I think most hotels in Yangon are still very basic and the tourism industry still has a lot to do, so don't expect anything special from that hotel - even though it is quite pricey for Asian standards. Clean room and good location - it's not the Marriott.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fyhaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were unable to secure an extra night at Kandawgyi, so needed to move. This hotel was suggested by the travel agent mainly because it can be booked online and has vacancies, also it's quite centrally located. The hotel is 2 star accommodation and is worth just that. If the price is right, you will get clean room, passable cafeteria, helpful staff, free internet, which was one of the best I had in Burma (still terrible). It's a two star hotel that does what it needs to do well.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here when we arrived in Yangon for 3 nights and then again a few days later for 2 nights after a trip to Bagan. The hotel has a very helpful staff that helped us book transportation, gave us helpful tips and held our luggage and laundry until we arrived back again for our second stay at the hotel.

The two rooms we stayed in on our separate stays were spacious, but not luxurious. The bathrooms for each room smelled like a sewer (which may be the norm for a lot of Myanmar), so we just kept the door closed. The water coming out of the taps wasn't clear, but again this is the norm for Myanmar...

The breakfast was good and there's a great pagoda view in the dining room. The wifi was very good and the TV channels were a good selection.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel, although you can find cheaper options in Myanmar if you look around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#37 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
75 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#25 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#44 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#28 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#34 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
266 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#18 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Hotel

Address: 7A Wingabar Road | Bahan, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $38 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Northern Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover Hotel which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 12 kilometers away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Clover Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi in public areas, and shared lounge are just a few of the facilities that set this property apart from others in the city. The hotel features 48 beautifully appointed guestrooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Yangon, make Clover Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing