We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with helpful staff”
Review of Clover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clover Hotel
Ranked #37 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here when we arrived in Yangon for 3 nights and then again a few days later for 2 nights after a trip to Bagan. The hotel has a very helpful staff that helped us book transportation, gave us helpful tips and held our luggage and laundry until we arrived back again for our second stay at the hotel.

The two rooms we stayed in on our separate stays were spacious, but not luxurious. The bathrooms for each room smelled like a sewer (which may be the norm for a lot of Myanmar), so we just kept the door closed. The water coming out of the taps wasn't clear, but again this is the norm for Myanmar...

The breakfast was good and there's a great pagoda view in the dining room. The wifi was very good and the TV channels were a good selection.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel, although you can find cheaper options in Myanmar if you look around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 295 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked the Clover because everything else in Yangon was fully booked. It is a good option, not really stylish, but good location, pagoda view, nice staff and overall friendly service. Very clean, except lots of mold on the bathroom ceiling. Noisy street, so try to get a room facing the backyard. With 85 Dollar for a double room we found it still too expensive - but hard to get anything else in Yangon at the moment. So good to book if you run out of all other options.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in Clover, which we booked in advance, on Oct 12, 2012 for 1 day. After a long an overnight bus trip from Mandalay with bulk luggage. AT 6:00AM, we were tired and were directionless to this city, the hotel front desk staff offered us a free breakfast and kept our luggage; so that, we could save a morning and made a visit to Shwedagon Pagoda which is about 20 minutes by foot from the hotel. Clover is a small hotel but the staff are great and friendly. Yes, Clover is not a 5 star hotel in term of amenities but certainly it is a miniature of what we feel about the people of 2012 Myanmar - friendly and full of sincere and enthusiastic. Thank you, Clover, you had given us a pleasant stay in Yangon.

Room Tip: Request a room to have a view on Shwedagon Pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mastermindsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a few months from August to September 2012. The hotel is new but as others have commented very poorly built. Finishing in the rooms is awful, after you get past the reasonable decor of the lobby and have a good look at the rest of the hotel it's clear this is a very basic hotel. During the monsoon both rooms I was given flooded through the appalling cheap windows. No carpets at all in hallways, all tiled and corridors are narrow so any sounds made by people in adjacent rooms can be heard easily.
Gangs of dogs howling at all times of the day and night.
Housekeeping phone rings all the time and wakes you up.
Housekeeping teams roam the corridors in groups of 3-4 people, very noisy.
Bathroom is very basic with poor water pressure so shower is not good. I had to buy cleaner, disinfectant as the smell from bathroom drains was terrible.
Laundry service is ok but clothes are never properly clean and I returned many items as they didn't look like they had been cleaned at all.
Local area - there isn't any where to eat or drink within walking distance, walking is not a good idea from the hotel either as pavements are lethal. Wingabar lane is like an off road track with potholes and ditches.
Restaurant is very expensive for what it is and I hardly ever saw more than a few people eating there. Nearly all food is oily and fried, even so called 'grilled'. Waiters are pretty hopeless and constantly got orders wrong.
Wifi was the best thing, usually fast by Yangon standards.
Prices constantly on the up. Part of me wishes people would boycott Yangon hotels until these greedy hotel owners would get back to sensible prices. I paid $76 for a room in the Park Royal in June 2011, a room there now is north of $300.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andysgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

By the way, this is not B&B / Inn for all traveler. Not sure why this is mentioned here.

If you are looking for a reasonable price hotel with large and clean rooms, this will be your pick. Near to the Shwedagon Pagoda and to a Chinese restaurant - Dolphins Restaurant - Foo were really good. But on the top floor of the hotel, there owns a restaurant and you get to have a good view of the Shwedagon Pagado and food are good and reasonable priced.

I will consider to stay there again.

Room Tip: Book with the online search engine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Domtoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The clover hotel is a good, clean, comfortable hotel. Rooms are pretty big, with TV, aircon, good showers. The staff are super friendly, and can help sort out any taxis of other requests you might have.

The food in the restaurant isn't the best, there're better places nearby, but i would definitely recommend this place to anyone needing a hotel in Yangon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Pros:
- The staffs told me they can arrange cheaper taxi to airport and other places when I arrived. Yes, they do.
- Clean room, hot water, fast Wifi in room
- Nice breakfast and view in top floor

Cons:
- It takes 20mins walk to Shwedagon Paya, if you do not get loss between buildings.
- No restaurants and other sightseeing places within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#39 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#43 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#27 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#24 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#33 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
263 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#20 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Hotel

Address: 7A Wingabar Road | Bahan, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $49 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Northern Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover Hotel which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 12 kilometers away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Clover Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi in public areas, and shared lounge are just a few of the facilities that set this property apart from others in the city. The hotel features 48 beautifully appointed guestrooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Yangon, make Clover Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing