We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a good bet in Yangon, but going south”
Review of Clover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clover Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
tokyo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Still a good bet in Yangon, but going south”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My second stay here - stayed in Deluxe Room for 4 nights. It is difficult to get a reasonably priced decent hotel in Yangon, and this is a good choice. However, steep price for what it is. Agree with most good comments. But hotel showing significant wear and tear. And staff turnover means service is spotty. In rainy season, the hotel and rooms feel very damp and the road outside floods. Breakfast not great. Overall good choice for time being, but likely to be overtaken with newer hotels.

Room Tip: The hotel has 7 floors. The 7th floor is the restaurant, so 6th floor (Rm 603 etc) can be noisy very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhelpful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    130
    79
    27
    8
See reviews for
26
101
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
422 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late night , they serve you orange juice when you check in , the room was spacious and clean, it was quiet and peaceful , the wifi is good , it's was good night sleep here , breakfast variety was good with local and international buffet spread , at the restaurant you can see the beautiful view of Shwedagon temple !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Hotel is overpriced for what you get. Clean spacious room with modern airco. Bathroom rather simple. Breakfast not very good. Internet however fast and available in your room. Location not bad, with a beer station in the same street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel offers great value for its price compared most Myanmar hotels. Rooms are spacious, clean with comfortable beds. Staff is friendly and the restaurant on the top of the hotel offers a beautiful view overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda which is more than magnificent. Its also fair to mention that their wifi internet connection is very fast. I will book again.

Room Tip: For a small premium, you can book their Deluxe Plus rooms that offer a guaranteed view over the Shwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfrogk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you have been staying in guesthouses, this might seem nice. We had a deluxe room with a great view of the Shwedagon #703, I think, but the floor was so dirty that we both wore socks constantly. They sweep but they don't wash. Yuck. They leave old flip flops for guests but they were very dirty, too. There was a small trickle of hot water but not enough to warm up the shower - not great. The breakfast was really not good, cold everything and things didn't taste like they were fresh. If you are vegan, you can ask them to make you fresh noodles - still not good, tho'. The staff was generally nice at the front desk and front door and they tried to make deliver good customer service but the restaurant staff was clearly inexperienced and unable to handle any of the many problems with the really poor food. If you must eat there, have noodles or local food dishes - avoid anything "European". Yuck. I would not stay here again but if I had to, I would eat out and bring my own in-room slippers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Shwedagon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is not a 'boutique hotel' and on their own rating is only two star. Its decor is basic but the room size was good. The pillows were poor quality as was the duvet. The bathroom was basic with a shower over the floor and a stand alone sink with nowhere to put anything. The three maids who came in to make up the room every morning were cheerful and friendly. Left to their own devices, the sheets woulkd not have been changed daily. The TV had some international channels including CNN but some of the others, particularly movie channels, were less consistent. WiFi was free and surprisingly good. There were no side lights in the room and the overhead or wall lights gave a rather sterile feel combined with no pictures on the wall and the cheap look 'wooden' flooring.

Although I had booked a double room, I was given one with two single beds. This was changed to a double bedded room without fuss.

There is only one slow lift at the hotel and busy times there could be annoying delays.

Breakfast was included but was pretty bleak. Toast, oddly flavoured butter and the brightest red jam I have ever seen. Bananas and water melon and various dubious looking hot dishes. They were happy to make poached eggs to order rather than taking the overcooked and cold ones laid out.

Breakfast and dinner are served in the 7th floor restaurant which overlooks the golden (Shwedagon) pagoda. The decor is bleak with lights hanging from the high ceiling which gives it an anti-septic feel but will large windows. The food at dinner was surprisingly good (Sweet and sour chicken, in particular). Beer was available but there was no wine. They were happy that we brought our own wine (available at off licenses for about US$7-10 per bottle for australian red). No corkage was charged and they brought wine glasses.

The people on reception were helpful and they lent out copies of the Lonely Planet guide although some editions were 10 years old which could be unreliable. Although my international roaming worked in Yangon and at the hotel it did not allow out going text messages.

This hotel has no credit card facilities at all. They will change money (US$) at a bad rate (8200 Kyat to US$1) but there are no cash advances and all incidentals have to be settled in cash.

There are no leaisure facilities at all and no garden. Its not a great place to walk from.

Wingabar Road seemed to be known by most taxi drivers and it is 10-15 mins to central Rangoon. The non metered taxis would mainly accept US$2 ( or 1,500-2000 . Some were in a dreadful state and pretty unsafe with dodgy doors and windows which didn't work (not helpful in the monsoon in July/August) and no aircon. The new brightly coloured and tiny Tata taxis were a great improvement but still without meters.

For the price, i think it was good value compared to other hotels in Yangon. Its not a luxury hotel but it provides a perfectly reasonable place to stay especially if you do not intend to spend too much time in the hotel. As there is no bar it is worth bringing duty free with you - there are mixers in the minibar fridge but note that it is turned off together with the aircon and lights unless you put a credit card in the entrance slot to keep it on.

Room Tip: Higher floor with Pagoda view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had booked our stay at the Summit Parkview for the first night of our Myanmar holiday, but very shortly before departure the travel agent eMailed to say that it had been cancelled by the hotel as they had accepted a booking from a large group (this seems to be a common occurrence in Myanmar). They had booked us instead into the Clover which they assured us was of a comparable standard. We were hugely disappointed by the hotel, which was far from the same standard as the Summit Parkview and does not meet the 'boutique' description accorded by our travel agent. The room was bare, the beds poor and the bathroom very basic. The view from the room was very bleak. Incidentally the Myanmar travel agency tried to pocket the difference between the cost of the hotel we had originally booked and the Clover and only refunded part of the difference after prolonged correspondence.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fosciandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#39 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#24 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Hotel

Property: Clover Hotel
Address: 7A Wingabar Road | Bahan, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Northern Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover Hotel which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 12 kilometers away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Clover Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi in public areas, and shared lounge are just a few of the facilities that set this property apart from others in the city. The hotel features 48 beautifully appointed guestrooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Yangon, make Clover Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Clover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing