We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place out of the city”
Review of Clover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clover Hotel
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Clover is located close to Shegadon Pagoda, but a bit far from the city and waterfront area. We checked in after requesting a Pagoda view room and were relegated to the first floor, which basically has no windows. We paid for the "Superior Room" but I am not sure why you would have a superior room with NO view... nothing. So it was a bit prison-ish. We also requested a double bed, but got two singles. Not the end of the world but for $73 (through agoda), you would expect a bit better. Not sure why you take reservations for rooms you do not have available. It was clean, kept 24 hour power, and had a good wifi connection to help with upcoming plans out of Yangon. The restaurant does have a nice view of the pagoda on the 7th floor also. Hotel asked for $30 for airport transfer, which is OUTRAGEOUS considering you can pay $8 walking out of the airport. They also charge $1 for city maps, which again, for $70+ seems ridiculous. Overall, I think this place exists because it is one of the few that you can book through agoda and pay with credit card. As more come online, I think this one will be weeded out. Mainly because it is very stale and does not make you feel like you are in Myanmar at all.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a Pagoda view... or at least on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieShreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 290 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel is very clean and affordable. The staff are friendly and the food was delicious, we really enjoyed our stay. The night view from the restaurant was fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traceandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Hi

the hotel is clean, easily accessible, very near to the Shwezgon pagoda and the local lake. The staff is decent and helpful. the hotel offers food but no vegeterian options. The staff is helpful/friendly and try to answer your questions/request. This is a strictly functional hotel and a good choice for solo travellers/friends as opposed to families.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbadhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Clover Hotel. The room was very big and the beds are great. Breakfast was ok, nothing really spectacular . Also a big plus is the fast internet and the Shwedagon-Pagode nearby. There is also a great park in walking distance. I also enjoyed the little authentic Myamnmar Restaurant just down the street. The greatest thing about the hotel was the staff at the reception. The guys where so helpful and extremly friendly. All wishes I had they tried to solve for me. I can just congratulate the owner of the hotel for such excellent staff. Next time in Yangoon I will definitely stay again at the Clover hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akimmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

High speed internet, prefer Superior room as the size of AC is same in Deluxe or superior, and big deluxe room makes the AC ineffective.. Breakfast has very less choice. Staff very helpful and ready to service you, but very clear about commercial part. No freebies. Very near - Ashoka Rest (Indian Food- behind Chatrium hotel). Taxi takes 1000 Kyats one way. All the not so perfect things are neutralized by high free speed internet. Any one away from home wants high speed internet.

Room Tip: Forth Floor gives good view of Shwedagon pagoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bharat1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

When looking at this hotel, please bear in mind where it is located and what else is available. Hotels in Yangon are still a rarity and ‘western style’ hotels are nearly non-existent. The 3 or 4 that are up to international standards are at present extremely pricey. Due to the lack of ‘decent’ accommodation and the present demand with the opening up of Myanmar, hotel prices have increased drastically and will continue to rise on a regular basis. The Clover is not of your average international standard, but at the price, this hotel is good value for money.

Location
The hotel is situated off the main road and in a quiet area. Some people complain that it is far from any decent restaurants, shops etc but it is very close to Shwe Dagon and other interesting areas (eg Royal Garden, Kandawgyi Lake). There are absolutely no problem in getting taxis to go anywhere (downtown about a 10-15 min ride) and taxis are still very affordable. If you are adventurous, there are quite a few local eateries within walking distance and they serve good food at ‘local’ prices.

Reception
Efficient and friendly. The level of English proficiency varies, but all are friendly and try to help where they can.

Room
The (Deluxe) rooms are large, but spartanly furnished. The bed is comfortable (although the linen is a bit ‘awkward’), there are chairs, a desk, fridge, flat-screen TV, safe and a kettle. Air Conditioners are a must most of the time and it worked well. The room is comfortable and spotlessly clean, but not exceptional.
On the negative side, it can get quite noisy when housekeeping starts early morning. Noise from outside was mostly contained by the hum of the A/c. The most irritating thing was the house phone (on each floor) for staff that rang near non-stop from about 7 onwards.

Bathrooms
Large, but very basic. Hot water is a problem at times, but during our 10 day stay, we only had a problem twice. As in most Asian countries, you have a sewage ‘pong’ occasionally, but once again, considering the relative price, it is not nearly as bad as I have experienced before. Keeping the door closed at least kept it out the room when there was a problem.

Meals
Very basic and really not up to standard. Breakfast caters mainly for Asian customers and just about everything including the fried eggs are cold. As we stayed there for a while, we befriended the staff. Gratuities are not expected, but always welcome. After a few days (and surely due to the gratuities), the staff offered to make us omelets for breakfast. They were delicious and warm!
Breakfast is served up to 10h00.
The restaurant lacks atmosphere, but has a beautiful view of the Shwe Dagon. The only alcohol served there is beer. We never had dinner at the restaurant, but at sundown/early evening, we carried out chairs to the miniscule balcony and had a beer there with the panoramic view of the Shwe Dagon and other pagodas.

Business Services
Once again it is important to remember that internet services are still in its infancy. Wi-Fi is available and free and good by Myanmar standards. It was, contrary to what is mentioned in previous reviews, available in our room on the 5th floor, so it might be a new ‘service’. Fax & printing services are also available in the Business Centre.

General
Power supply in Yangon remains a problem and there are frequent outages. The hotel has a generator that handles all electrical equipment – including the A/c’s whereas many other places provide for lighting only in such an event.
All staff including housekeeping can speak some English and problems are attended to immediately.
If you pay cash, make sure you have crisp $ bills. The hotel is not as particular as some other places, but still rejects notes that are actually still in a good, but not crisp, condition. (The reason is that there is about Kyat 5 difference on the $ between crisp and passable notes – so everyone tries to get the most for their $!)
There are sufficient taxis at the hotel, but we ended up hiring one at a daily rate. If you are going to travel around a bit, it really is worth your while. We nick-named our driver John as his name was too much for a westerner to pronounce and he was excellent. I think it was his first close contact with Westerners, but he is very astute and quickly picked up on our likes and dislikes. If anyone wants his contact details, please PM me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very clean hotel, although a little removed from the city centre. Rooms are large, basic and comfortable as well as clean. Only issue was the walls were thin and so we could hear all the noises of the hotel and beyond as if only a piece of cardboard was separating us.

Run by Chinese the menu and breakfast buffet was very ordinary Chinese fare and lacked Burmese charm.

Overall good hotel and efficient service. Only issue is when booking with agoda you were given base price and when you confirm the booking do you realize there are taxes on top. However booking through agoda meant we could pay via credit card, which is rare for hotel bookings in Myanmar.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#34 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
63 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#41 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#28 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#23 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#31 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#24 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Hotel

Address: 7A Wingabar Road | Bahan, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $42 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Northern Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover Hotel which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 12 kilometers away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Clover Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi in public areas, and shared lounge are just a few of the facilities that set this property apart from others in the city. The hotel features 48 beautifully appointed guestrooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Yangon, make Clover Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing