We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, basic, good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clover Hotel
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New, basic, good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

A relatively new hotel off Nat Mauk Road north of Kandawgyi Lake. Clientele seems to be mainly Chinese business people and Thai tourists. Hotel is fairly new, so the fittings and facilities are in pretty good condition (e.g. compared to the K Paradise nearby which is a dump!) The rooms are quite large, with basic fittings, individual air-conditioning units and a basic sitting area. The bathroom did not have an enclosed shower, and instead the shower space was separated from the sink and toilet by a half-height wall. This meant there was a bit of splashing onto the floor especially if you are tall.
The breakfast room/ restaurant on the top floor serves a basic, predominantly-Asian cooked breakfast. The coffee was pots of basic instant, but otherwise fine. On the plus side the breakfast room has windows on all sides with panoramic views of Shwedagon and other parts of town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD_Dcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    129
    79
    26
    8
See reviews for
26
101
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Tucked away near the Kan Daw Gyi is a new hotel. the rooms are large, the staff are helpful and the dining area on the top floor has spectacular view of the Shwe Dagon Pagoda, which within easy walking distance. Just down the street is an entrance to the Kan Daw Gyi Park great for an early morning stroll. Breakfast is european and asian, the lunch and dinner prices are moderate.

The rooms while large, clean, with lots of hot water. The furnishing are on the sparse side.

We stayed for 3 days on the way in and hoped to stay another few days wehn we came back form upcountry but they were booked solid for the end of February.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms on west side have a view of Shwe Dagon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikonGuy18105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Looking to enjoy the sights of Yangon? Then ask for a room on the 6th floor with a view of the Swedagon Pagoda. We had a very spacious room with a large TV and small fridge, large bathroom with a shower separate from the toilet, and a beautiful view of the pagoda.

The restaurant is on the 7th floor, offers breakfast, and had a decent menu with a very helpful waitstaff. The seats are comfortable and easy to kill a few hours catching up on internet stuff.

There is free WiFi in the lobby as well as the restaurant, but it does not reach the rooms.

The hotel felt very safe, with a very well staffed and attentive front desk, door security, and an attendant stationed on our floor.

For the price, or at least the price we paid at the time (prices are going up quickly in the area), this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitadelizioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

This new hotel has clean rooms with good showers and beds. Free WI FI in room is a bonus and staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The location is great for early walks to the Shedagon Pagoda Kandawgyi lake and also the monastery area. Breakfast is Chinese with the usual toast bread. Rice and noodles are better and the fish or tofu are good. Chicken too if you eat meat. View is great on to floor restaurant. (see picture)
Safe box is available and staff know how to get around town. Book on Agoda to save money and book ahead as Yangon is packed.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicknvalVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chang mai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

On arrival found that they hadn't honoured our online agoda and telephone confirmed agreed reservation of a room with a view, annoying!!! The only room that they could offer us was on a lower floor , with no view and little light. However the room was comfortable enough and clean. Breakfast was standard eggs and toast. great view from the restaurant. Barring a short walk from the abso totally drop dead stunning, and I'm no temple fan, shwedagen pagoda.
its a 6 / 7 dollar taxi ride from anything else.

Room Tip: use a lan lead in the room available from reception, helps the v v slow internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superspurs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed only one night at Clover hotel before taking off to spend a week in Bagan and Inle lake. The room was decent. Restaurant on 7th floor has a great view of Shwedagon. The doorman helped negotiate taxi to the market. On the last day back from Inle Lake, our itinerary left us 7 hours to wait in Yangon for our flight home. We decided to sight see other part of Yangon instead of waiting at the airport. Unfortunately, Yangon airport has no storage service. We went back to Clover asking to leave our 2 bags at the hotel. The staff remembered us from a week ago and graciously let us store our bags with no fee.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ND i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

At first when we arrive in at the hotel we were taken back by its location, which in hidden in a back alley, but after a while we found that it a hidden gems,
the hotel is clean, the staff is helpful, the breakfast with view is a winner,
It just around 5 minute walk to shwedagon were u can get handful of local food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgesim98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#46 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#24 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Hotel

Property: Clover Hotel
Address: 7A Wingabar Road | Bahan, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Northern Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover Hotel which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 12 kilometers away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Clover Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi in public areas, and shared lounge are just a few of the facilities that set this property apart from others in the city. The hotel features 48 beautifully appointed guestrooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Yangon, make Clover Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, JovagoAsia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing