We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new a clean hotel within walking distance to Shwedagon Pagoda”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Clover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clover Hotel
Ranked #34 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A new a clean hotel within walking distance to Shwedagon Pagoda”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

At first when we arrive in at the hotel we were taken back by its location, which in hidden in a back alley, but after a while we found that it a hidden gems,
the hotel is clean, the staff is helpful, the breakfast with view is a winner,
It just around 5 minute walk to shwedagon were u can get handful of local food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgesim98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    128
    78
    26
    8
See reviews for
25
101
41
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights and had a great experience. Hotel is new and room is spacious and clean. Room has aircon, fridge, kettle and it is true non-cotton sheets but these were not a problem for us. The hotel is just down the Rd from Shwedagon pagoda but also around the corner from a big monastery with a seated and a huge reclining buddha. It is a fair walk into the city area but this means it is a bit more quiet. Staff speak ok English but we did have a mix up due to language difficulties. Breakfast is ok with a range of options. Overall this was a good hotel to stay, particularly if this is your first hotel in Yangon.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I booked the Clover hotel on agoda and stayed here for one night during a recent trip to Myanmar. Especially compared to other hotels in that country, I was very impressed and find it easy to give 5 stars.

There is a lot to like: The hotel is very clean. The staff is friendly and attentive. I had internet access. Enough power outlets to charge batteries. The breakfast buffet was good, and from one corner of the breakfast room you have a view of Shwedagon.

It is possible to change money at the hotel. The rate was somewhat lower (740 kyat) than what can be had on the street (up to 800), but it's convenient and I didn't worry about getting screwed over. They were also not as particular about my dollar bills as some other places.

It's a 15 minute walk to Shwedagon, and taxis to downtown are just $2. The area seemed safe. I was walking around at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonTobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed at start and end of our Burma visit. Second visit arranged at walk in rate $35, which was same as Agoda's pre-book deal. Good sized room very clean. No problems with sheets reported earlier -maybe ours had been changed. Would endorse Mogok Daw Shan restaurant mentioned by LoveCip - good range of curries and really good stir fry menu and the staff there were really good fun too. Taxi downtown only 1500 kyats ($2). Great view of Shwedagon Paya from hotel restaurant.
Slightly North of the centre of town but we found it a good base, away from city noise and the worst of the air pollution.

Room Tip: Upper floor with Shwedagon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjamjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The location was very good, easy walk to Shwedagon Pagoda and right down the street from Botanical Gardens. Easy to get taxi to rest of city. The rooms are decent, staff is friendly, and they have a generator to deal with the daily blackouts in Yangon. The buffet breakfast is a decent selection of Asian food, and the view of the Pagoda from the restaurant is great. My room was a few floors below, and had a limited view of the Pagoda. The wi-fi is very strong in the restaurant and ok in the lobby, but no signal at all in my room. I had to go upstairs/downstairs to get online. The room is very spacious, with decent A/C and hot water. They also have special surge protectors for the appliances with a spare plug open, to keep from frying your electrical devices when the power surges.

The front desk offers currency exchange, but the bills must be in mint condition (just like the everywhere else in Myanmar), and the rate is not as good as the airport or on the street. There is a good noodle/fast food place right down the street, with an English menu, which comes in handy. If you leave the hotel on foot to explore, always turn right to get anywhere, going left will take you on a long, empty, broken road, but it is a short walk to the pagoda or park going right. There are also plenty of food stalls on the road leading up to the pagoda, as well as endless souvenir shops.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a limited pagoda view, but the view from the restaurant is much better, so no need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank downinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Pros :
- Spacious, very new and very clean room.
- 15 mins walk to the Schwedagon pagoda.
- 2 mins access to tasty food, from the noodle and fastfood place nearby called *Mogok Daw Shan* (Tips : try *fish* menu, ask them to make it hot)
- The most reliable and fastest free internet service we have experienced in Myanmar. Lan access in room. Wi-fi access in lobby and restaurant.
- Staff were helpful.
- Refreshing welcome drink.

Cons :
- The tile work in the bathroom wasn't that good - the aesthetic quality of the grouting was not great.
- Pagoda view in our room had also a big building view in between. Not so nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveCip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I booked this hotel before reading the review about non-cotton sheets...

Indeed, the sheets in my room were made from a fabric which looked like waterproof shower curtain, and judging by the seams it looks like they were specially made. What were they thinking? I asked management if they had something in cotton - they said they didn't, but they gave me two polyester-covered quilts to sleep between.

Later in Thailand I saw a pair of shorts for sale made with the same fabric as the sheets, so perhaps there's a glut of the stuff around at the moment.

My room was clean and otherwise comfortable, and the price was good. View from my room was terrible, but I didn't spend much of the daylight hours there so not a major problem. Breakfast was fair. I also ate dinner in the hotel after a late arrival - I thought the menu choice was disappointing and prices a bit high, but there's not a lot of alternatives nearby.

Staffing levels were generous and I found the service responsive.

This could be a pretty good hotel, but they need to reconsider those sheets.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#33 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#46 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#25 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
134 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Hotel

Property: Clover Hotel
Address: 7A Wingabar Road | Bahan, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Northern Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover Hotel which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 12 kilometers away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Clover Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi in public areas, and shared lounge are just a few of the facilities that set this property apart from others in the city. The hotel features 48 beautifully appointed guestrooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Yangon, make Clover Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, JovagoAsia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing