We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Great Location”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #52 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Near Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Value and Great Location”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This small, city centre hotel offers a good value way to stay in the centre of Yangong (just across the road from the Traders Hotel. The Aung San market is walking distance and the Sule Pagoda is visible at the end of the road if you look to the left as you come out the hotel.

Our room was high and at the back which meant it was quiet and, while the room arrangement was unusual in having the shower within the room and the loo in a recess behind the shower it was clean and met our needs for a few nights very well. There is a lift and were adjacent to a fire escape which is always reassuring.

We found the staff friendly and helpful and breakfast in the small seating area facing the street was tasty and fresh.

When leaving our pick up was very early (before the restaurant was open) but the reception desk was manned and we were given a packed breakfast to eat as we travelled.

This hotel was MUCH less costly than Traders and felt it to be great value.

My score of four stars is given against other, similar grade hotels and reflects the slightly unusual room layout. I warmly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good, central base at a sensible price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somersettraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    271
    219
    42
    15
See reviews for
41
247
103
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I felt very comfortable at the East. It's quite small, clean, friendly and generally nice. I would say, recently renovated. Yes, hot water took so long to arrive at the shower head that I first thought it was not available. The location is great, with the real street world of Yangon at the doorstep - death traps in the form of sidewalk holes and cables running from nearby generators, and, of course, street food. The internet worked and an official money changing kiosk is just feet from the hotel entrance (best rates for US$100 bills). Comparable accommodation could the had in Bangkok for a lot less., but that's Myanmar right now! You can book via Agoda which sidesteps the difficulty of doing business in a country that does not entered the credit card age.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Musttravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night. It was perfect for the price we paid. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was a basic room. The shower was a bit tricky for us so we called down to the desk and they sent someone immediately to show us how to turn it on. He made it seem so simple. The water power was strong and the water was hot. There were only two hangers. There was no door to the bathroom and a partial glass enclosure separated the shower from the rest of the room. So there's no privacy when using these facilities. There was a nice restaurant at the corner where you could view
Swendagon Pagoda in the distance. The hotel is across from Traders Hotel and a block away from Scott Market in one direction and Sule Pagoda in the other. They made us a breakfast box to take with us because we had an early morning flight to Bagan. People were very nice and spoke English.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it could be pre booked online unlike many hotels in myanmar. Really centrally located as across the road from Traders hotel and round the corner from bogyoke aung San market, clean, quiet, loads of hot water, great breakfast and really helpful staff. There was a limitless supply of bottled water which was really handy when you arrive with no local currency!

Quite a weird room layout as toilet is in the room with hanging divider that offers little privacy, maybe the twin rooms were different. Highly recommended and there is a good money changer just outside.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FlynnyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was a great choice for our first might in Myanmar. The staff are friendly, have pretty good english and the rooms are simply decorated and clean. I would agree with other reviewers that the toilet/ shower arrangements are decidedly odd, but if you're a couple it's ok. The location couldn't be better, especially if you are planning to travel by train (which i really wouldn't advise- most uncomfortable 16 hours my life- and i have taken the bus in Nepal). The communal areas are lovely and the breakfast very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna_mountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location of the hotel is the key. It is right at the center of town within walking distance of many touristic places. The staff goes the extra mile to make the customer happy - the door and lift boys, the reception, the restaurant team.
We stayed for two nights and changed rooms, as we wanted to stay at a higher floor. First night was in room 502, which was just nice. Second night at 805 - nice view from the bathroom, but had a mould smell to it, as no windows can be open in any of the rooms.
The rooms are clean, and as said earlier - there are no doors to the toilet or shower. It is an open concept.
the breakfast was simple but nice. there is free drinking water - unlimited - on every floor, which is a great plus .
Would stay here again. good value for money taking the overpriced hotels in Yangon into consideration.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My friend and I had a great experience staying at the East Hotel. Here are a list of pros:
- Right in the center of the city, across the street from Traders Hotel
- Walking distance to Sule Pagoda
- Walking distance to 19th street China Town
- Plenty of food places all around!
- Free bottled water (as much as you want)
- Clean rooms with comfy beds
- Free breakfast
- good fast wifi (you will come to appreciate this once you stay in several hotels in Myanmar, internet is generally awfully slow!)
- we paid USD117/ night - which is pretty good value for hotels in Yangon

The only con is that the rooms are weird in which the bathroom does not have a door, so its sorta weird. Additionally, during our second stay, we had a room that smelled of mildew, and it was due to the shower flooding. So make sure you inspect your room and try to change it up if you aren't satisfied.

But overall, great experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#41 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#45 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#30 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#59 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: No. 234-240, 1 Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East hotel is situated in the heart of the Yangon downtown area, within walking distance and easily accessible to main shopping area and commercial centers. New concept boutique hotel with all rooms are designated carefully to appreciate local design and craft, 39 Deluxe, 3 View Deluxe, 1 Deluxe, 2 Junior Suite, 8 Retro Deluxe and 3 service apartments, service provided by warm and friendly staff. The hotel is boutique hotel, set in the heart of Yangon business district. It is conveniently located between two major roads, Sule Pagoda Road and Bogyoke is an easily accessible from both incoming and outgoing to downtown area. The property is unit in that when many hotel a large portion of similarly designed rooms with a small amount of individual rooms. Last is the other way around. Lobby area and dinning have a wireless facility with internet access. Room have a wireless internet access direct from your room. Room all have a new flat screen television, unlimited mineral water, and tea and coffee facilities. All in all, a visit to the East will be in memorable on, with subsequent visit giving you the choice of a new room style or just make a special request for the one you had before. East hotel radiates an opulent charm of contemporary Myanmar décor perfectly blended with the traditional warmth of Myanmar Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JovagoAsia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing