We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room selection”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #52 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
NZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room selection”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at East Hotel and Clover City Centre Hotel. They are both in central city. Clover is slightly more expensive but is superior - better rooms and more friendly staff.
For East if they allocate you a room finishing in 05 ask to see the room before you commit. These are pocky rooms at the end of the corridor and are to be avoided.

Room Tip: See above. Avoid 05 rooms at East
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Henryx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    271
    217
    42
    15
See reviews for
41
247
101
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

At the time we were in Yangon... they were renovating what was a basic hotel with new fixtures and fittings... GREAT staff... GREAT location.

By next year it will be a great place to stay. Walking distance to everything in central Yangon.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a special room with a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here with an Explore! Tour which, by the way, was excellent. This hotel looks very unprepossessing from the outside, but inside it’s a very smart modern hotel. There is wifi although it’s slow as with all of Burma. The rooms are clean and modern, and the beds comfortable, although the bathrooms are arranged such that they are part of the bedroom but screened, so you are invisible from the main bedroom, but there is no door, so you’re audible. The aircon is efficient. We ate there and the food is reasonably priced and good. The breakfast is generous and varied with a number of dishes made from scratch, plus fruit and breads. It is very near to Scott’s Market for shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed twice at the hotel and saw the Sule Pagoda view room , the Deluxe and the Shwedagon view Suite rooms. When the Deluxe room flooded from the room above. The hotel sorted out all problems promptly, I would recommend paying the extra for the rooms with a view as they are higher from the traffic and have bigger bathrooms and an in room safe.

There a few options in this price bracket in Yangon so this is more than you would expect to pay for this type of hotel, but worth it in the long run.

Room Tip: Pay for the rooms (Pagoda view) higher up in the hotel. This removes the problem some people appear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotcruncherUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,103 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,008 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Room was spacious and nicely appointed. Bed very comfortable, effective AC, hc shower and excellent wifi. Choices for breakfast and the Mandalay noodles were good.
Ideally located near train station, Sule pagoda, local night market and tourist day market. A great place to end our time in Myanmar.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilintentum_reliquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The rooms are a decent size and very clean. Very comfortable beds with clean, crisp fresh linen. After two weeks travelling round Myanmar it feels like luxury to have a duvet! Ten minute walk to Scott market. Five minute taxi to the Strand Hotel or Schwedagon Pagoda. The only thing letting the hotel down is the bathroom set up. No doors on the shower and toilet, ok if you are really comfortable with the person you are travelling with. Shame, as the hotel would get five stars all round otherwise!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The East Hotel is conveniently located in central Rangoon, less than 5 minutes walk from Sule Pagoda and aprox 15 minutes from downtown and Chinatown. There are lots of taxi's outside ready and waiting to take you to any attractions that are further afield.
Rangoon is seriously lacking western standard hotels, therefore the ones that are there can charge what they like !!! The East Hotel is clean, well equipped, modern and comfortable, the staff are friendly, but it's not worth 80 USD a night (the price I paid via Asiarooms.com).
As others have said, the toilet has no door and the shower has a glass screen, not a problem for me as I was on my own, but I would find it uncomfortable doing my business there if I had stayed with my other half.
Rangoon and Burma are definitely worth a visit, the architecture and golden stupa's are spectacular, the people are friendly and haven't yet learned how to rip off foreign tourists the way Thai's, Scambodians, Balinese and Vietnamese do. Go soon before mass tourism spoils a beautiful country with friendly people.

Room Tip: All rooms are non smoking. There is only one lift, which is painfully slow, therefore lower floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#40 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#22 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#44 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#59 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: No. 234-240, 1 Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#16 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East hotel is situated in the heart of the Yangon downtown area, within walking distance and easily accessible to main shopping area and commercial centers. New concept boutique hotel with all rooms are designated carefully to appreciate local design and craft, 39 Deluxe, 3 View Deluxe, 1 Deluxe, 2 Junior Suite, 8 Retro Deluxe and 3 service apartments, service provided by warm and friendly staff. The hotel is boutique hotel, set in the heart of Yangon business district. It is conveniently located between two major roads, Sule Pagoda Road and Bogyoke is an easily accessible from both incoming and outgoing to downtown area. The property is unit in that when many hotel a large portion of similarly designed rooms with a small amount of individual rooms. Last is the other way around. Lobby area and dinning have a wireless facility with internet access. Room have a wireless internet access direct from your room. Room all have a new flat screen television, unlimited mineral water, and tea and coffee facilities. All in all, a visit to the East will be in memorable on, with subsequent visit giving you the choice of a new room style or just make a special request for the one you had before. East hotel radiates an opulent charm of contemporary Myanmar décor perfectly blended with the traditional warmth of Myanmar Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JovagoAsia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing