We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located with Wifi”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #51 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in total at East Hotel. It is centrally located within walking distance to restaurants, tea houses, tailors and the Scott Market. It is a two minutes walk from Sule Pagoda (opposite Traders Inn). The rooms are cosy but clean with TV, aircon, good showers with decent water pressure, unlimited bottled water and free wifi (slow but good for Myanmar). The (included) hotel breakfast was one of the best in Myanmar as there was the option of local alternatives such as rice and noodles, as well as the nation-wide standard Western breakfast of eggs and toast. Main oddity was the doorless toilet with hanging brown balls to provide an imitation of privacy, but given all the other conveniences this was a minor issue. Staff were helpful with arranging taxis and confirming flights.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sare17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
There are newer reviews for East Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 597 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed at East Hotel for one night and enjoyed it. I booked through Agoda and got a room on an upper floor and a view of Shwedagon Pagoda. Well, it was not much of a view, but it was a nice corner room so it was well lit and a good size. After I checked in, I was also surprised to receive a welcome fruit basket! As others mentioned, the bathroom layout was odd with the transparent shower stall and the beaded curtains, I was traveling solo so it was not an issue. The cafe downstairs was a nice place to getaway from the Yangon chaos. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the location is great. I would definitely consider staying at East Hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedbird282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stay first another hotel but my travel plan change and there was no rooms available that time, so we went to East hotel. Nice staff and good a'la carte brekfast incl. your room price. Good location in center of town and lots of small local restaurant around. Room was ok and clean, in the toilet there was no door... shower was good, internet slow but it works.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattitii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We got a great rate from Agoda for a Pagoda View room - sounded great - someone built an apartment block in front of Pagoda so only top few feet of spire visible & then only to people with fantastic eyesight!

En suite very weird even when u expect it. Nice spacious room, free water, nice breakfast - pleasant staff - despite the toilet would recommend .

Airport transfer only $16 u can get Taxi for $8 but as a first time traveller to Burma was very happy to pay the extra.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor - can be noisy on the front
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I very much enjoyed the breakfasts and all the meals at this extremely well-located hotel. All hotels in Yangon are very overpriced at this time, and so is this one. And the price seems to be going up. Rooms are just okay -- I didn't enjoy the beaded curtains (instead of a door) to the toilet stall,. The wifi was slow and "iffy" in the room but very good in the dining room. We were in a group and reports said the rooms vary considerably. We had a dodgy drain in our sink. They went to fix it and disturbed the water pipes. Result : one flooded bedroom !

Room Tip: Ask to look first
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davancar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I very much enjoyed the breakfasts and all the meals at this extremely well-located hotel. All hotels in Yangon are very overpriced at this time, and so is this one. And the price seems to be going up. Rooms are just okay -- I didn't enjoy the beaded curtains (instead of a door) to the toilet stall, and I didn't enjoy the glass windows in the shower (which is in the room itself). THis may be okay if you are alone in the room, but I wouldn't enjoy it if staying with someone. Rooms need a decent sided desk for a computer. The wifi was slow and "iffy" in the room but very good in the dining room. What I really didn't like was having to pay the entire bill up front in cash (all 6 nights). This made me feel a bit insecure about what to expect. I had never experienced this before except in online booking systems -- not anywhere in the world, and not in Myanmar. The problem is that one may not have a lot of choice and competition in Yangon -- not yet. I will be looking for another hotel for my next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catscam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on two occasions in November 2012. On the first occasion we had room 602 (4 nights) and awoke on the first morning and stepped off the bed onto a flooded floor from a leak from the vanity basin. This was promptly fixed and floor mopped up. Two days later we had another leak, this time from a burst pipe in the ceiling above the toilet and water flowed under the bed. Again this was attended to promptly. From the outset however the room smelled musty which suggested there is an ongoing water leakage/drainage problem. The shower recess also overflowed due to drainage problems.
We were to travel to Bagan and Mandalay and then return to this hotel having pre-booked our accommodation. We tried to cancel the second booking but were told we would lose our full prepayment so we perservered and checked in again to the hotel and this time were given room 402. This room also smelled musty and the windows looked out onto a wall 12" from the window. It felt like a dungeon. The shower recess also had drainage problems.
Both rooms had a toilet which is a few feet from the bed and no privacy.
The good points were the location - close to Scott markets and other conveniences, the service was good and the rate was reasonable for a basic hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 402 and 602
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fonzie198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#42 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#20 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#45 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#30 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#62 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#27 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: No. 234-240, 1 Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $31 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East hotel is situated in the heart of the Yangon downtown area, within walking distance and easily accessible to main shopping area and commercial centers. New concept boutique hotel with all rooms are designated carefully to appreciate local design and craft, 39 Deluxe, 3 View Deluxe, 1 Deluxe, 2 Junior Suite, 8 Retro Deluxe and 3 service apartments, service provided by warm and friendly staff. The hotel is boutique hotel, set in the heart of Yangon business district. It is conveniently located between two major roads, Sule Pagoda Road and Bogyoke is an easily accessible from both incoming and outgoing to downtown area. The property is unit in that when many hotel a large portion of similarly designed rooms with a small amount of individual rooms. Last is the other way around. Lobby area and dinning have a wireless facility with internet access. Room have a wireless internet access direct from your room. Room all have a new flat screen television, unlimited mineral water, and tea and coffee facilities. All in all, a visit to the East will be in memorable on, with subsequent visit giving you the choice of a new room style or just make a special request for the one you had before. East hotel radiates an opulent charm of contemporary Myanmar décor perfectly blended with the traditional warmth of Myanmar Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing