We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
East Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$383
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sule Shangri-La Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$155
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PARKROYAL Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$135
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand(Yangon (Rangoon))
$242
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Yangon Kaba Aye(Yangon (Rangoon))
$86
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedona Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$131
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Loft Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$104
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveler rating
49
281
229
48
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
281
229
48
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssule pagodafree bottled watertoilet and showerlocation is greatmain buildingwalking distanceboutique hotelexchange ratedowntown yangonsmall hotelstreet foodnoodlesprivacymarketburmacorridortaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 623 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you want to be downtown, this is the place to be. Room fairly basic but fine, clean and very inexpensive. If you are lucky you get a view of the Pagoda.
You can expect to get a few short power cuts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRDRHorndean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very good location, opposite the Traders (and close to Scott market and Sule Pagoda) but although adequate comfort, it's over-priced but kind of right for the Yangon offering now (2012). Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. The landmark building used to be a grain trading center. Not really what we call a boutique hotel It can be recommend if you are ready to pay close to $100 per night and hate large open spaces. When I stayed there I accompany a small group and everybody say they were fine with the place.

Room Tip: Higher floors but the one elevator can mean waiting at its door!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for a night at the beginning and end of a tour round Myanmar and thought it was perfectly adequate. It is well placed in the centre of town within walking distance of many sights. The first room was a good size with nice shower but the room on the last night was small with an even smaller 'bathroom'.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Airport is about 45min-1 hr and we paid 8,000ks from airport counter - for a crappy old car with no aircon. We refused to get into one with aircon for that price so they changed to another "newer" car with aircon. My husband enquired whilst waiting (from other taxis outside for US$10 for a brand new car with aircon). Thinking booking at airport counter is safe but wait till you get outside.

Paid $62 for a night at East Hotel - a high end backpackers joint. OK for a night but I'll die if more than that. No safety deposit box but unlimited bottled water supplied. Very small toilet area. Basin was loose, no room for soap dish, no table for toiletries. Shower cubicle in room, not in "bathroom". Shower curtain too small hence water flowing out inside room. No toilet roll holder, just placed on top of cistern. Only one toilet roll supplied so had to ask for another roll. Staff gave a weird look when we asked for another toilet roll.

Free wifi everywhere. The "ball" curtain that separates the room and the toilet is so damn annoying. TAKE THEM DOWN. Just collects dust. No tea bags for tea but they supply tea leaves. No kettle but a percolator for you to boil water?

One night is enough in Yangon. East hotel is about 8 mins walk around the corner to Bogyoke markets. Nothing much in this market - same stuff, jade, gems, traditional outfits. ALL same same. Boring. Money changing touts - beware, even on the main roads whilst crossing the streets. The Indians or Pakistanis are everywhere trying to change money. The one bank at the corner of the market opens at 10.30am and then they close again from 12-1pm for lunch!! What a life!!. The markets open at 9am (so we were told) but only a few were starting to set up at this time. Even by 9.30am, the place is still dead. Suggest you come back at 10am.

East Hotel is also down the road (other direction) from Sule pagoda. Tiny shops around the pagoda are astrologers - not too sure how genuine they are.

Didn't bother going to Swedagon Pagoda - saw this from the car from airpot - another golden shining glittering pagoda, like all the other pagodas I've seen.

Where we have breakfast is where you can also have dinner - not much choices. Breakfast is also "restricted" from a set menu.

Never again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed in East Hotel for a night. The location of the hotel is very good. Sule Paya and Bogyok Aung San market are within walking distance. It is very easy to get the taxi to go to other places in front of the hotel and the hotel area is safe at night. For the room, it is a decent size and clean. Unfortunately the room we had was kind of humid. It was a bit uncomfortable to sleep on the damp bed. We didn't bother to ask to change the room as the hotel was fully booked. The washroom was a bit of surprise as there was no door. It will be for sure not suitable if you stay with someone who you're not very closed to. For the price we paid, I think it's good enough and ok for 1-2 night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usahana79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews