We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
$62
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$78
ZenHotels.com
eDreams$62
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveler rating
52
298
237
58
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
52
298
237
58
22
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 667 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

In the center of Yangon close to the Sule pagoda and in front of the Traders hotel .It is not a very exciting hotel .They take ages to make the check in .
The rooms below the 5 th floor have no windows so they are dark and sad . Do not acceptany room below the 5 th floor . The rooms are weird the bath rooms are in the middle of the room so if you want to have some intimacy forget it . The room was quite humid maybe because it was the rainy season maybe because of th shower who knows .
For what i ´ ve heard the rest of hotels in the same range of price are no better .Do not expect hotels as in Bangkok
Acceptable to spend a couple if nights in Yangon

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfonsodotras
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you've been looking for hotels in Yangon, you've probably noticed that your options are limited to luxury hotels or rundown guesthouses. In the great hotel dearth of Yangon, East Hotel stands out as one of the few midrange hotels. And further, one of the only (maybe the only) boutique hotels. For that reason, I recommend it. However, you cannot compare it to what you would otherwise get in other SEA countries. The breakfast is mediocre at best (ask for the eggs without oil!) and there is no bathroom door (awkward when traveling with friends). Also, the cleaning staff could use a training course on technique and service. However, the air conditioning works well, and the decor of the rooms is decent. We stayed there for a month on business and it made for a fine base.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank exploringexplosions
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the East Hotel and were pleased by the hotel, room and especially the staff. The location is excellent, write on the one of the main streets in the centre and it easy to get a taxi to most places in the city for little money. The breakfast was good and the cafe is always a a/c oasis after the humid city. Having free bottles of water in a fridge near the room was a bonus.

They were very accommodating when I asked to leave my luggage for a few hours on my final day in Burma.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtb105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice last month — once upon arrival in Yangon and the second time, the night before we left the country.

The first time, our 6th floor room was merely "OK" — we came, we slept, we left. Before I recount our second experience, I will say that the best features of the hotel are the staff — very helpful and nice — and the restaurant, which served up surprisingly good food.

Our second time there was more of a reality check — you get what you pay for: "medium" price = medium or lower quality. Our arrival for our second stay was early morning, as most flights in Myanmar tend to be. Check in was absolutely at 2:00pm so our morning arrival meant leaving luggage and going off to see the sights, after changing flight clothes, etc. in the restaurant washrooms — awkward.

The first comeuppance with this second room (4th floor #404) was a hallway wall fluorescent lit window (displaying a painting on the hallway side) which let light into the bedroom side all night long. This room was also very unsoundproof so hallway noises from noisy neighbours were very effectively heard. A water leak on the floor from the shower stall, discovered the next morning, contributed to a very damp room and similarly damp suitcase contents. Not pleasant! Neither was the elevator being out of service for the entire day of our arrival. As for the bathroom curtain "door" that others have mentioned (Flintstones meets the Kasbah), that was simply weird!

IMHO this hotel is good choice for travellers not requiring a quality experience or a good sleep. If you must stay here, my advice would be to somehow insist on a room without the hallway window wall.

Of course one of the problems here is the current inadequate choice of hotels in Yangon: either there are very high end (read "expensive") properties or discouragingly unappealing low end places with almost nothing in between, except for the East Hotel and very few competitors. I can imagine that when new international hoteliers set up shop in Yangon as the country continues to open up to international tourism, that this middle ground accommodation will be addressed and properties like this one will find themselves where they actually are, in the lower end of the market.

Room tip: request a room without the hallway wall "windows" displaying artwork
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pixrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

As with all the places we stayed in Myanmar, the service was superb. What made this hotel stand out was the value for a lovely, clean and well-appointed boutique hotel in a perfect downtown locale. Ps-the staff recommended a super tasty Thai restaurant just a few doors down that was not to miss. Wish I could remember the name of it.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowpoplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews