We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there”
Review of Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orchid Hotel
Ranked #58 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is way overpriced $115 per night. The staff is not helpful at all they are only busy with getting more money out off your pocket. This hotel made our stay in Yangon less nicer. A lot off notice in the rooms. Now Internet in the room. Cold shower. Its just an annoying experience in your holiday that will cost you a Lott of money

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backpacker777123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 85 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

I am not a difficult person to please but staying in this very expensive hotel (US$115/night) considering the quality and service is just too much!

They initially gave me a room with a window but the noise is just too much to bear. You will be kept awake by everything that is moving along the major intersection just opposite the hotel so I asked to be transferred. They then gave me a windowless room that supposedly muffs the noise... well, as I write this, I just heard a speeding car pass by.

The windowless room is like staying in solitary confinement. The furniture is old and tired.The toilet is small and dark. There is only one plug for the TV and the fridge so choose which creature comfort you prefer -- at least they give you options.

The bed has hairs. The toilet has cobwebs. The shower curtains are stained.

Run away as far away as possible from this hotel. Complete rip off!


just cannot bear the noise from the street. The other option is for you to stay in a room with windows but

Room Tip: Don't even think of it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Another hotel that has jacked prices 2-3X Just paid $85 for a tiny room and tiny bathroom. Hotel is right on major intersection with traffic lights. Every bus and lorry stops and then starts with a demeaning noise that sounds like it is in your room. That is because they are right outside with a single pane of thin glass and cheap plastic curtains. Restaurant is awful with 2-3 staff sitting around an empty room waiting for someone to come. Awful breakfast. Very budget hotel. Would be great for someone only wanting to pay $30 which is what it was charging last year and which is above what a comparable room would cost in Bangkok As with every Myanmar hotel the staff were lovely and helpful. It should be noted that the advertised spa does not exist any more and the room wifi does not work. The lobby wifi is good.

Room Tip: No such thing due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ralondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We paid $60 for a room without windows. Felt more like a $10-room/hotel

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swede44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The hotel is a middle class hotel without anything special. It is outside the center of Yangon, but at a very busy, noisy intersection. It is also near a monastery that starts playing music at 5 am.Internet is available. Breakfast is average.

It is very, very much overpriced. A hotel like this should be around 35 or 40 dollar, we were charged 110 for a double room. On top of that they tried to charge is two nights no show, although our date change was well communicated, agreed and documented.

We went there because hardly anything else was available. A next time we would choose a different hotel whenever possible.

Room Tip: Try a room at the back side; may be a bit less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JvB-Ehv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We were disappointed in this place. We had a hard time finding a hotel for our trip, and we booked a room here because it was one of the few places that was available. We paid $60 night, and it wasn't worth half of that. We were on the ninth floor, and there is a pigeon infestation between the ceiling panels and the roof (as indicated by the feathers in the room, and the bird feces dripping down the window and upper corners of the bathroom walls). Very noisy at night and hard to sleep because of it. There was also a mouse in our room, rustling in our trash, so we had to move the garbage can into the hallway. The staff were polite at times, but rude and dismissive if you asked too many questions. Hot water in the shower lasts for about 3 minutes, and then it's lukewarm at best.

Also, be aware that they are VERY picky when it comes to US dollars. They didn't accept our $100 bills because they were "before series 2000". No other place in Yangon rejected our money for this reason.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank migrant546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights with some friends. The hotel manager was exceptionally nice and very helpful, however we do have some language problem when communicating with the other staff. Room - comfortable and clean. They could definitely improve on the breakfast menu which were exactly the same for the total 4 days we were there! Location- it is about 30 minutes from the airport which costs us 5000 Kyats. It is very near (10mins) to the famous Scott market (1500 kyats).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel 63
Hotel 63
#27 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
124 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#26 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#62 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#88 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asahi Hotel
Asahi Hotel
#89 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#44 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Hotel

Address: 91 Anawrahta Street, Pazundaung Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11171, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $31 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Yangon city centre, this hotel is only 300 metres from downtown area. It has an on-site cafe, and offers air-conditioned guestrooms with satellite TV. The Red Myanmar Hotel is 5 km away from Mingaladon International Airport. It offers 24-hour front desk service and has an airport shuttle available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing