We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice oasis”
Review of Alamanda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alamanda Inn
Ranked #25 of 169 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Wollongong
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice oasis”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 night in total on three occasions over March. The location is good - quiet and suburban. Easy to get a taxi and Jason the taxi driver who seemed to be attached to the guesthouse was lovely. Fares were only 2000-4000kyat to anywhere in town and it cost me 6000 back to airport.
Getting there from airport was easy by using the taxi stand -cost me 8000 but my friends 7000 so a little random. Print out how to find page from Alamander guesthouse web, it is useful in helping taxi's find it.
I only had the standard room so this was generally room 1, this room is near the restaurant and staff quarters and is noisy BUT when you close windows it is ok, just a pain to have to do this so I would recommend paying extra for a room away from the front. Harder to relax for a bit of an afternoon in your room!
I saw room 1. 3, 4, 5 and 10 from myself and travel companions - all comfortable and it is just 1 and 3 facing restaurant.
Front staff were friendly and helpful when they were there, it is the type of casual place where you end up leaving and taking your key yourself so not ideal if you are very security conscious (in which case a guesthouse is probably not for you anyway). They weren't so great passing messages on but booked us into restaurants etc.
Bathrooms vary but are all large enough but some are wet rooms, providing bathroom thongs would be a nice addition.
Breakfast was large and lovely. Bircher Muesli was our favourite. Service was sometimes a bit of a miss but all food we ate was nice, esp the salads. Price was OK. Would stay again, just in a deluxe room if possible

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank geeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    71
    39
    18
    5
See reviews for
31
95
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Second stay in 12 months and this time I brought work colleagues. Good value, french provincial villa style. Restaurant, garden, staff all charming. And more taxis available so the location (10 minutes north of Dhamazedi Road on the edge of the downturn area) is peaceful but accessible. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dundonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Lovely boutique with colonial style. The building is lovely also the small garden among different buildings. The resultant has bar area with space to sit down and read a book. The rooms are big, very clean, the smell is quite alright at least I haven't smell damp.
The location has both side, good that its away from the noisy city center, not so good is that we stayed few nights , none of the taxi driver could find it easily ,,,, they alll took us least 10 mins to searching it in that area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Very good value, luxury hotel with clean colonial style rooms and large bathrooms with nice bath and shower. Excellent breakfast in the pleasant garden restaurant at the hotel. It is in the embassies district of town so is quiet with a few restaurant options nearby, although we ate at the delicious French restaurant on site. It is easy to get a taxi into the main area of downtown Yangon, or the other main attractions. However, if you want to be in the middle of things in main downtown, this is not the best option as it is not walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

A guesthouse, with a few rooms scattered in a nice garden, in a quiet part of Yangoon.
Comfortable rooms, with all amenities, including wifi. . Excellent restaurant with local and French cuusine. About 10 minutes by taxi from the Shwedagon pagoda., and less than 30 min form the airport.

A relaxing place to stay while in Yangon, en route or back form the other touristic places in Myanmar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchindotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Quiet small hotel in a residential area of Yangon. In fact quite near numerous embassies. Older building with teak floors , mosquito nets,beautiful coloured bedspreads and floor mats. Very quiet and the restaurant was fantastic serving a very substantial breakfast, fruit platter, eggs toast and or pancakes. Friendly staff. Book well ahead ...

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MastertonTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

would always overnight again at Alamanda Inn! A charming boutique hotel in Golden Valley. Nothing to complain at all; the rooms are well equipped, big and charming; as the garden. The restaurant serves nice dishes and draft beer, the breakfast is wonderful. Two items made me give one dot less:
- for a room rate of more than USD 100, there is no Swimming Pool
- the Alamanda Inn is not as central one could wish, though on the other hand it is situated in a very calm area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.6 mi away
Winner Inn
Winner Inn
#7 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
346 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#10 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
328 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Classique Inn
Classique Inn
#12 of 169 in Yangon (Rangoon)
314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thanlwin Guest House
Thanlwin Guest House
#2 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
137 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mango Hill Inn
Mango Hill Inn
#5 of 169 in Yangon (Rangoon)
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Inn

Property: Alamanda Inn
Address: No. 60/B Shwe Taung Gyar Road | Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Golden Valley, a quiet and green area of Yangon, Alamanda Inn is a charming and family-friendly bed & breakfast with 5 spacious and well-decorated air-conditioned rooms. Surrounded by a beautiful garden, the bar and restaurant offer tasty French food. And to make your stay the most enjoyable, the French and Burmese managers will surely share all their tips on Yangon and Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alamanda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Alamanda Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing