We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel in a quiet environment”
Review of Alamanda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alamanda Inn
Ranked #23 of 173 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2014

A guesthouse, with a few rooms scattered in a nice garden, in a quiet part of Yangoon.
Comfortable rooms, with all amenities, including wifi. . Excellent restaurant with local and French cuusine. About 10 minutes by taxi from the Shwedagon pagoda., and less than 30 min form the airport.

A relaxing place to stay while in Yangon, en route or back form the other touristic places in Myanmar.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchindotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Alamanda Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 221 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Quiet small hotel in a residential area of Yangon. In fact quite near numerous embassies. Older building with teak floors , mosquito nets,beautiful coloured bedspreads and floor mats. Very quiet and the restaurant was fantastic serving a very substantial breakfast, fruit platter, eggs toast and or pancakes. Friendly staff. Book well ahead ...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MastertonTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

would always overnight again at Alamanda Inn! A charming boutique hotel in Golden Valley. Nothing to complain at all; the rooms are well equipped, big and charming; as the garden. The restaurant serves nice dishes and draft beer, the breakfast is wonderful. Two items made me give one dot less:
- for a room rate of more than USD 100, there is no Swimming Pool
- the Alamanda Inn is not as central one could wish, though on the other hand it is situated in a very calm area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

After two weeks of traveling in Myanmar, we spent our last night before our flight at the Alamanda Inn. Hands down, this was the nicest and best value hotel we stayed at (in Yangon no less which is not known for good value accommodation!).

The hotel property itself is gorgeous and very well maintained, with a driveway opening up into a green, lush, peaceful garden. The rooms are located in a large, old, characterful house but mainly have rooms opening up directly into the garden which makes each space feel very private and villa like.

The rooms are extremely tasteful and elegant, with high ceilings and a very boutique, bespoke feeling to the decor. The bed linens were of excellent quality. We stayed at many hotels across Myanmar and none were as pleasant as this.

There is a restaurant in the middle of the garden, which is absolutely delicious. It was the only good Western food we had in two weeks in Myanmar. I can't recommend it enough.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The only downside (but also a strength) is the location, which is in a residential area slightly outside the city centre. It is peaceful and pleasant and doesn't take that long to get into the city, but during rush hour it can be up to 30minutes.

Another issue worth noting is the lack of safes in the room. The owner will store your valuables in their personal safe. But it can feel a bit strange to hand over your passport and the large amounts of cash you have to travel in Myanmar with to a total stranger. This is perhaps something the management could look at improving in future.

Overall, a very stylish and good value option!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This place is amazing! I stayed here for two nights, the rooms are large, clean and have a lot character. The property is extremely well maintained and the tropical gardens that surround it provide the perfect escape from the heat and hustle and bustle of Yangon. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is also very tasty as is the breakfast that is provided. It's centrally located and very easy to get to the main attractions. Overall a great stay and I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suth0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay here - we spent our first night in Myanmar here and were so pleased we chose this inn. The staff were very friendly, helping us sort our flights to mandalay for the next day. The accommodation was so comfortable, especially the bed. The food was excellent, and I loved the neighbourhood - much more peaceful than staying downtown,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennylh_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed two nights and enjoyed both the facilities and high service level. Stylish rooms in a large old house with character. Very clean well maintained. Large relaxing covered outdoor area set in a garden for meals. Very helpfull french owner. Set in quiet district with taxi only a few dollars to get into the city centre. Meals and drinks were great, and delivered by very attentive, and polite waiters with big smiles which was very welcome at the end of a long day in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainbowglide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.6 mi away
Winner Inn
Winner Inn
#7 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
350 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#8 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Classique Inn
Classique Inn
#12 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thanlwin Guest House
Thanlwin Guest House
#2 of 93 in Yangon (Rangoon)
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Inn

Address: No. 60/B Shwe Taung Gyar Road | Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $53 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Golden Valley, a quiet and green area of Yangon, Alamanda Inn is a charming and family-friendly bed & breakfast with 5 spacious and well-decorated air-conditioned rooms. Surrounded by a beautiful garden, the bar and restaurant offer tasty French food. And to make your stay the most enjoyable, the French and Burmese managers will surely share all their tips on Yangon and Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alamanda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamanda Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Alamanda Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing