We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Green Elephant Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Green Elephant is a part of a chain with a couple of other branches. We didn't realise this was part of a chain and having already visited it's sister restaurant in Bagan we would have not have gone here as we didn't have a good experience in the Bagan restaurant. The restaurant itself has a nice feel housed in a colonial building.

The service was attentive and the food tasty had a good selection and was plentiful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank syh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    134
    49
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gentle intro to Burmese food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Came here on our first night - nice surroundings - but a sanitised menu - designed to meet the tourist market. Quiet when we were there - and pleasant - but just a gentle taster for local cuisine. I am sure that this was a good choice for our first Burmese meal - but there are other more "exciting" restaurants out there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fidgetbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant and good Burmese food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You won't suffer the next day - it's properly managed and very tasty - good selection and after u can browse the shop with its lacquer ware

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
164 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Busy but mediocre at best”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This place crops up in all tourist guides and recommendations. It was way too busy, staff were way over stretched but trying to do a good job.

Food was mediocre and not the best of what's available. Definitely not a highlight of the food experiences we enjoyed in Yangon

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food and Ambience”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had dinner outside in the garden. Lovely place with no bugs to speak of. Service and food well above average, especially for Burma. Grilled lobster was perfect.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NiceShotSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Green Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing