We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winner Inn, Bahan Township, Yangon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Winner Inn
Ranked #6 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Winner Inn, Bahan Township, Yangon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night in March and would have stayed longer but it was fully booked. It is a pleasant hotel and reasonably good value at $30 U.S. (cash) per night for a single room with breakfast.
The room was clean and well equipped with fridge, TV and a large shower room with plenty of hot water.
I had quite a good dinner there as it was quite late and I was able to use one of the computers in the lobby for which they charge.

Breakfast was a meagre affair with some scrambled egg, bread and juice so as with many hotels in Myanmar you will need to eat again shortly after.
Location is a bit out of the main downtown area which is about 15-20 minutes by taxi but it is only about 10-15 minutes from the airport so quite handy if you are arriving late.

Room Tip: I had a room with a window but not really a view; there are rooms with views of the garden which wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    130
    44
    10
    3
See reviews for
36
53
35
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Mainly a winner – nice location in the suburbs on the way to Yangon Airport, our room had a working air condition, good beds, and a more or less ok bathroom. The staff was friendly but not very flexible with breakfast – we came there 1 minute before closing time and were denied food (which must have been ready made anyway). Good value for money though in Yangon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimobloggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AungMM, Manager at Winner Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have added 22 new Deluxe rooms and are in the process of renovating the old rooms which will be completed by October 2014. We now offer free Wi Fi to all our hotel guests. We are now providing complimentary buffet breakfast which includes traditional Burmese breakfast dishes, continental breakfast, salads and Burmese desserts. Thank you again for your review because this will help us improve to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were recommended this hotel by a friend and after visiting, we realised that what some people may think is perfectly satisfactory, others do not... Although the hotel was not a complete disaster, it wasn't great either and we decided to book somewhere else the second night. The hotel was on the way to town from the airport and although you need to get a taxi to get into town, we never had any problems there. Our main issue were the lack of windows in our room - it was dark, dingy, old, little smelly (mould?). Towels left a lot to desire - they were old and stained.The walls are also very thin, but luckily for us the hotel got very quiet around 10 pm so in the end this wasn't an issue (although may be on other nights depending on the guests staying). I'd say if you are on a budget and you are a bit of a backpacker, this may be ok for you. But for us, we expected something nicer and were disappointed. NB The pictures I put up actually look a lot nicer than the real thing!

Room Tip: If you insist on staying here, ask for a quiet room with a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddy-Mag-Madster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AungMM, Manager at Winner Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We have added 22 new Deluxe rooms and are in the process of renovating the old rooms which will be completed by October 2014. We have provided bath towels, tooth brush, toothpaste, soap and shampoo. We are providing complimentary buffet breakfast and remodeled our garden so you can enjoy your meals there as well. Thank you again for your review because this will help us improve to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is perhaps one of the best deals for hotels in town. Good location, though not as good as Guest Care Hotel. Clean rooms and beds, toilets are large, service is friendly, and the hotel restaurant has good food at low prices. One complaint is that the water pressure for the hot water shower is poor. Another item is that there is no wifi but guests can pay US$1 for an hour of internet. Problem is that its nearly always fully booked, and hard to get a long stretch stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moichee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

A clean place, if a little old fashioned in the furnishing department, and a bit dark. We booked online and it was $40 b& b. Breakfast was not great, but usual for this sort of place in Asia. Paid for their airport pickup at $15US but didn't need to. Loads of taxis at the airport for half of this, but as it was our first stop in Myanmar, we arrived at night, so we didn't know what to expect. Bathrooms were clean but the usual shower style that floods the bathroom. Power available 24 hours as they have their own generator in case of power cuts. It's within 10 - 15 mins walk of Shwedagon Pagoda but you need a taxi (only a few dollars) to get into town. But the location is good in terms of eating out at night, which you will need as the hotel restaurant doesn't have much to recommend it. A five minute walk (but take a torch, even though it's a main road, it's quite dark and there are huge holes in all the pavements!) gets you to a few good places, local and Western. Coffee Circles is good for a drink, but expensive, and Sabai@DMZ, about a ten minute walk is a really good, low priced, Thai restaurant that also serves local Shan state wine at a reasonable price. Lots of other places to choose from too. Don't change your dollars for Kyats at the hotel, they give a really low rate. Wait till you get to town. Apparently you can now get a good rate through official moneychangers and banks, but we never tried this. Overall a decent place to stay if you will be out and about most of the time, not a place if you want to relax in your room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill35Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We only stayed one night upon arrival before venturing off to other parts of Myanmar. Overall, it is a decent budget hotel with basic amenities. The place feels a little old and the room is average, but sufficient for a quick stay.

If you don't mind walking, the Shwedagon Pagoda is about 20 to 30 minutes away. There are a few restaurants and a coffee place nearby but it is not near the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeyoshun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AungMM, Manager at Winner Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have added 22 new Deluxe rooms and are in the process of renovating the old rooms which will be completed by October 2014. We now offer free Wi Fi to all our hotel guests. We are now providing complimentary buffet breakfast which includes traditional Burmese breakfast dishes, continental breakfast, salads and Burmese desserts. Thank you again for your review because this will help us improve to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Overall I would agree with the other reviews that the hotel is fair value for money. However, I would make you aware that breakfast was pretty minimalist with most items "not available" and, having stayed in hotels right around Myanmar from $15 to $150 this was the ONLY hotel that provided just one sachet of instant coffee for breakfast and which refused to provide refills. This may sound petty but breakfast should be a pleasurable start to the day, not an argument over a second cup of coffee. At the same price we found the Sweet Hotel better value, only 5 minutes away and trading location for a slightly older room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AungMM, Manager at Winner Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have added 22 new Deluxe rooms and are in the process of renovating the old rooms which will be completed by October 2014. We now offer free Wi Fi to all our hotel guests. We are now providing complimentary buffet breakfast which includes traditional Burmese breakfast dishes, continental breakfast, salads and Burmese desserts. Please come stay with us again. Thank you again for your review because this will help us improve to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.2 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#23 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chinatown Hotel
BEST WESTERN Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winner Inn

Property: Winner Inn
Address: 42 Than Lwin Road | Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11041, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Winner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family hotel in the heart of Yangon. Your home away from home. Located in an all inclusive residential neighborhood (supermarket, beauty salons, restaurants and bars all within walking distance from the hotel) with easy access to the rest of Yangon as there's a taxi stand right in front of the hotel. The hotel is a 45mins drive from the Airport and 20mins drive to the City Center. Shwedagon Pagoda is just 20mins walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Winner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Winner Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing