We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greedy greedy owner”
Review of Mayfair Inn

Mayfair Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yangon (Rangoon)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayfair Inn
Ranked #95 of 177 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Though it is true that the rooms might be good value for money, the owner is so unfriendly, so greedy and so arrogant, that I would never ever recommend this place to anyone. Hard to believe that LP recommends this place...
Marie G. Quebec

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YiJing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 28 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

The hotel is in a quiet street, one block from the Strand hotel, this is well located for the city center and the ferry to Dagan. The rooms are good value for money, with hot shower, airco, adequate space and fan. The staff was among the least friendly and accommodating we have experienced in Myanmar. The hotel door is closed between 22:30 and 6:00. It was our only hotel in Myanmar not offering breakfast (although there is a good tea house for breakfast two blocks away).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JvB-Ehv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed here my first night in Yangon as everywhere else was fully booked.I followed two others from the same flight to see if they got a room for me too . And they had a free room but had to share it with another traveler who didn't get to put in a extra bed with his friends. It was late and the electricity was out in Yangon and she totally took advantage of that. Wouldn't let us use the phone at first but then we could use it if we payed 200 K pr min, The owner is not nice, she charges the double for water, there is no breakfast and a 9.30 pm curfew. She had two little kids running around (scared) doing everything she asked and it all just felt wrong. I will never go back to that place. The rooms in 1st floor is not nice , a little bit nicer the room upstairs but still overpriced!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lali_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

$15 single, $24 twin, $30 triple
The lady at reception was very friendly and very responsive by email. The carpet in the room is tatty, and more blanket would be an improvement. However with the price increase it means its not far cheaper than the mid-range hotels

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YNLSNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I wouldn't stay there again. The street outside is full of rats. The rooms have grotty industrial carpet. But it is really the unfriendly and slightly rude staff (especially the owner woman) which makes this place unpleasant. To encounter such unfriendliness in Mynamar is remarkable - everyone else in the country is so nice and polite. Avoid this place but if you are stuck it will do.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

A good budget guesthouse. It has its flaws but is the best of bunch of not great guesthouses we stayed in Yangon. We stayed in a twin room upstairs.

The good:
Great location downtown.
Cheap - I think it was $12 or $15 for a twin room en suite.
Hot shower
A/C
Quiet
Found the people running the guesthouse very friendly and speak perfect english. They gave us advice on how much taxis should really cost and booked bus tickets for us.

The bad:
The rooms are ok but could definitely do with some improvement. Simple things such as extra sheets/blanket covers would help.
Quite a few of the rooms don't have windows and the ones that do face onto the wall of a building only a few meters away.
Breakfast was not offered while we were staying there (don't know if they've done away with it)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Stayed here 2 nights and found the room dingy , smelly and depressing ; also the breakfasts were very ordinary and the public area cluttered and unwelcoming. On the plus side , it is conveniently situated and safe and a friend says the upstairs rooms are Much better even though the proprietor says they're the same....you get some great characters staying here and the price is right but i find you need a place that offers better respite in the overwhelming chaos that is yangon

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archangelosSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,860 reviews
0 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,661 reviews
0 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
530 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#18 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
517 reviews
0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Inn

Address: 115 Sule Paya Rd., Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
May Fair Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Mayfair Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing