We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a break”
Review of 50th Street

50th Street
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Have a break”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have been travelling mow for five months and been travelling on a budget. We decided to treat ourselves and so went to this cafe/bar. It was a Sunday night and the happy you ran all night. I had a pizza (my 6th western meal since being on the road) at it was superb. The waiters were attentive but not pushy. The music was great and not too loud so people could talk. There was a dartboard, pool table and news papers in English. A pleasant place to relax.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2fromWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    166
    75
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Watch your change”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We went to 50th Street our second night in Yangon. Walked over from the Strand Hotel. We had a decent meal and got a check for 21,000 chat. I only had 10,000 chat notes from the airport currency bank. Our woman waitperson (who was fine) did not bring our bill. A young man gave us the bill and I thumbed through my cash twice and gave him three new 10,000 bills and asked for change. He left and we waited 10-15 minutes. My wife finally asked for the change. After another 10 minutes, the young man came back and said I only gave him 21,000, which I said was ridiculous. Another 10 minutes and a bunch of shuffling at the register and he came back again and showed me two 10,000 and a 1,000 bill (why they would claim to still "hold" my original bills after 30 minutes is a bit of tacky showmanship). A manager then joined and insisted I was mistaken. I said the only bills I had in my wallet were new bank 10,000 bills and that I understood simple math -- 3 times 10,000 equals 30,000. He finally relented and gave me the change. A very sour note over a scam for about 10 bucks. Third world country mentality so watch your wallet!,

Helpful?
1 Thank lawyer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sanity”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ok, it's searing hot, you're tired, overheated and a non Burmese speaker, you are sick of endless fried rice (cos it's the only thing you can ask for) and waiters who just giggle and say NO. 50th street is a sane place in an insane city. International menu, good too considering the restrictions, friendly English speaking staff with a will to please the customer who don't stand and stare at you... and recently cider. It's also the place to go watch rugby, test cricket and any other major sporting event. And the air-con always works (too well sometimes). Go. You won't regret it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Queenofwands_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Trendy bar, good food and cocktails”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant/bar was very inviting. Lovely decor in a western style over two floors. The menu was very good with familar items such as burger and sausages with mash potatoes. Cocktails were also very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francesm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great bar, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you are down town and looking for a place to have some time out from the hustle and bustle, this is a great bar. The food and drinks are good; there are tv's with sports etc from all over (including the Australian rules football), and it has very nice decor, atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Petal090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 50th Street also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to 50th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing