We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Hotel Yangon
Nearby Hotels
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savoy Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Governor's Residence(Yangon (Rangoon))
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sule Shangri-La Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$155
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand(Yangon (Rangoon))
$242
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PARKROYAL Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
$136
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Loft Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Summit Parkview Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
$70
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
6
26
40
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
26
40
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssule pagodahuge roomworked finefloorsuitehalalcheckinac
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 99 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2012

big clean rooms, large comfy beds ,parquet floors, very interestign location - wander around the nearby streets. breakfast ratehr poor, but service otherwise e xcellent, and the email connection is fast ( for Burma!)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroline.nixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed in different rooms on the 8th floor over the years. The rooms are big, with nice furniture and wooden floor. The bed is comfortable enough and the bed sheets clean. Unfortunately, it is quite dusty elsewhere if you look carefully. The walls need to be cleaned and painted. And so the bathroom. It is sad because this hotel has a great potential and is well located. They should just invest a little and they could become one of the great hotel in Yangon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliekodak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Last July, we came back from Bagan and our local guide proposed us to take a look to the New Aye Yar hotel, because we didn't want to return to the first hotel we had when we arrived 12 days earlier in Yangon.
They proposed me 2 rooms : one on the 8th floor for 47 USD per night, and one on the 10th floor for 42 USD per night. I took the "best" one at 47 USD. The man at the reception told me right away that they will put an additionnel bed in our room, for we needed a triple room. So we went up to the 8th floor.
Surprise, surprise : insteat of putting a bed in our room, the room maids dropped a mattress on the ground and started to put a bed sheet on it. I went down to the reception and complained : I though I was in a hotel and not on a camp site !
The guy said that in Myanmar, it's like that things used to be. But I did'nt give up and they finaly brought a real bed to our room. The room maids where not very happy and made some bad faces...

Now, we had some time to have a look around : our local guide was shocked : dirt everywhere in our room. Seems it has not been cleaned for a long time.
Moisture on the wall, run down furniture, pealing colour dropping on the group (never taken away by the room maids), a dirty thermo bottle we found on a table and that was neither cleaned by the maids, nor taken away by them the 2 days we spend there,...
And the bathroom, completely run down and dirty.

When you see the lobby, you might think you are in a upper class hotel. But just leave the ground level and the corridors and then begins another world.

It's a shame and a pitty, because there are some nice people working here : the bell captain is always polite, smiling and very helpfull, and some of his collegues too.
Even at the lobby, employees smile and are helpfull. But there is a giant gap between their behavior and what you get as a so called room.
It's not surprising that there where no westerners the time we spent there. Mostly chinese and local guests.

So, despite they have a restaurant with not to bad food, don't stay there. This is just a place to spoil your holiday.
Your cellar at home is probably cleaner than this so called hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fairtraveleverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

A friend and I stayed at this hotel late February for 5 nights. We both had deluxe rooms which were huge with large beds, a couch, TV. Cost was $35USD per night. The hotel is a bit dated and the rooms need a bit of an overhaul and worn out. I have a feeling it was a pretty nice hotel years ago. It was clean , the air con worked and it was pretty cheap so it worked out well for us. It is not a well known hotel and appeared to have a larger percentage of folks from Myanmar staying there. We only saw a couple of other Westerners the 5 nights we were there. So there are very few reviews. The breakfast was simple and more Asian of course then western but we were happy. The location is in the older part of the city, but we enjoy walking around the area and mingling with the locals more then the tourists. (although there are not "that many" tourists in Myanmar anyway) Taxi's are always out front. It is about 2000 Kyat to get anywhere and nothing of great interest was that far away. (Temples, markets, etc) It was also just a lot of fun to walk around the area. People from Myanmar do not see that many westerners so you get a lot of looks and a lot of smiles!

A few negatives. My room was a little noisy, even though I was on a higher floor I had a lot of street noise. The bed was really hard.

There was hot water. And that is the most important thing next to Air Con!

The staff at the hotel was great. Even though Thailand makes the claim of the Land Of Smiles, I swear the biggest smiles in the world come from the people of Myanmar. This was no different with our front desk staff and the other staff of the hotel. The hotel also has an internet cafe on site with a lot of computers. Internet in Myanmar is very slow but the staff in the cafe is very helpful and will help you.

If you are looking for cheap digs in Yangoon and do not need to be impressed, this hotel works out fine. We would stay there again, but if we go back to Yangoon would probably check out some other hotels downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

v professional staff,respond to emails which is unusual in Myanmar, huge room with parquet floor, clean but tired bathroom. excellent interent cafe. nice area.close to good restaurants and food stalls.. very good value

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank caroline.nixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews