We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but its Myanmar, what do you expect??”
Review of White House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yangon (Rangoon)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White House Hotel
Ranked #100 of 177 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Coming from a backpackers point of view this hotel was average.

yes the rooms were grubby, but if you are planning on not spending too much money on accommodation in Myanmar then this is how the majority of the rooms are. I think we paid $27 for a room with no window for 2 people

One of the guys who worked there was very friendly, as most of the Burmese are, he helped us book our bus to bagan and even sorted our taxi for us.

the breakfast was the best I had in Myanmar, all of which vegetarian.

the internet only works at reception but expect this for the majority of Myanmar.

The location is perfect, right in the centre of Yangon.

Over all I had a nice 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

At 22 $ for a double room with shared bathroom, you can find much better in Yangon. Room apparently clean but don't look behind the beds or below. Sheets had holes. Overall, the guesthouse need to be refurbished. Large breakfast buffet. Booked bus ticket to kinpun (golden rock) asking for aircon and he confirmed but no aircon in the bus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 90JDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We reserved two nights here since the hotel was in the Lonely planet and people seemed reasonably happy with it online. At first glance, the room looked spartan but OK according to Myanmar/Burmese standards however when we approached the beds we saw that they were literally covered with fleas. The owner was not surprised when we complained and gave us keys to two more rooms. The first had just as many fleas and the second was depressing but no sign of fleas. It should be pointed out that these are rooms at 45 USD - there is nothing in these rooms that makes them worth this amount. The situation in Burma is special but the owner should reinvest in some insect extermination. After the first night we went next door to a hotel called Daddy's Hotel - clean, completely ok and 30 dollars per night - we would recommend this instead!

Room Tip: Beware of fleas, we visited rooms on the 7th floor. Inspect beds closely. Dust on the beds is probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenK538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

It is not easy to balance the two side of this place. Well situated, close to Sulla Pagoda. The positive side is the staff at the reception are extremely nice and helpful for anything, direction or booking transport. We book a bus to Mandalay and it was the nicest vip bus we took in the country. They hired a taxi for the 4 of us and gave the perfect direction to him. Their web page is well done and helpfull. You have also a helpfull city map on arrival
Some people rate a place or a city by the food! So it is your place. The buffet is complete with all your taste.
But if the room is your importance! It is basic here and to basic for the price. We had a fan room with poor and old and...share bathroom. The shower head throw water so hard it can knock you down. (So much lost of water, sure not environmental thinking)
The room was run down, half clean: the bed and around. Even if you see all the time Cinderella on her knee washing the floor. The blanket smelled moldy and some other rooms that I visited. You have no top sheet, no towel, no soap..nothing for a 25$/night. Compare to what other Hotels in the country offer it is definitely over price.
They have wifi in many areas, sometime good, sometime not.
So It is a minus average regarding the rooms and a plus for service and breakfast

Room Tip: A taxi from the airport is around 7000k but negotiate..may be ...5000k There is a bus traveling from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Tiny room (just to fit 1 double bed in it) without window and with moldy ceiling that was falling down, shared bathroom, for 25 USD we can't call good value. Room was simply horrible and even spooky. Fortunately we found much better place after two days. The staff is generally friendly but charge high commission for taxi hire and bus tickets if you buy them via hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursuula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

For 24 USD we got a room about 3 meters square (this is not an exageration, it just fit 2 single beds), no window and a desk fan that didnt stay in the power socket. One bathroom was shared between about 6 rooms. Also the 6 flights of stairs is not much fun. The room got so hot at night I actualy left to try and sleep in the hammock on the roof top. Im not opposed to this type of accom as iv stayed in places like this before. Its just this is terrible value compared to other places I have stayed in myanmar and yangon. 30 USD can get you private bathroom, aircon and satalite tv elsewhere easy.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wienerbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed for one night, and must say was impressed on a couple of points.

As I was arriving in Yangon at 4am on an overnight bus, I gave them a call around 6pm the evening before to secure a place. I was told to just come around, and check in, then I could have a breakfast there. Wonderful. I slept in for a few hours, got my breakfast, and spent the day just as if I was staying from the night before.

Secondly, the next morning, as I was going to take the shower, the girls working for the hotel were scrubbing the floor, and had bubbles all over the bathroom and toilets. Not sure how often they do this, but I can tell that they are very serious about making this place clean and tidy.

The owner was very hospitable and I appreciate his Quiet policy and curfew at 11pm, so the guests can relax and rest at night, he is very helpful and try to do everything possible to help you, such as finding your way around town, getting mosquito coils in your room or change money, or whatever, and basically, the stay was very very pleasant.

I guess breakfast also needs a mention, lots of variety, but the idea of taking the stairs to eighth floor was a bit surreal. Wakes you up in the morning.

Room Tip: Just look at a few and choose the one you like in terms of appearance, smell, lights, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carioca500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,860 reviews
0 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,662 reviews
0 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
530 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#18 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
517 reviews
0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Hotel

Address: 69 71 Konezaydan St, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
White House Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing