We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to be honest”
Review of White House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yangon (Rangoon)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White House Hotel
Ranked #79 of 169 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
801 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Trying to be honest”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

It is not easy to balance the two side of this place. Well situated, close to Sulla Pagoda. The positive side is the staff at the reception are extremely nice and helpful for anything, direction or booking transport. We book a bus to Mandalay and it was the nicest vip bus we took in the country. They hired a taxi for the 4 of us and gave the perfect direction to him. Their web page is well done and helpfull. You have also a helpfull city map on arrival
Some people rate a place or a city by the food! So it is your place. The buffet is complete with all your taste.
But if the room is your importance! It is basic here and to basic for the price. We had a fan room with poor and old and...share bathroom. The shower head throw water so hard it can knock you down. (So much lost of water, sure not environmental thinking)
The room was run down, half clean: the bed and around. Even if you see all the time Cinderella on her knee washing the floor. The blanket smelled moldy and some other rooms that I visited. You have no top sheet, no towel, no soap..nothing for a 25$/night. Compare to what other Hotels in the country offer it is definitely over price.
They have wifi in many areas, sometime good, sometime not.
So It is a minus average regarding the rooms and a plus for service and breakfast

Room Tip: A taxi from the airport is around 7000k but negotiate..may be ...5000k There is a bus traveling from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    34
    24
    26
See reviews for
2
53
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Tiny room (just to fit 1 double bed in it) without window and with moldy ceiling that was falling down, shared bathroom, for 25 USD we can't call good value. Room was simply horrible and even spooky. Fortunately we found much better place after two days. The staff is generally friendly but charge high commission for taxi hire and bus tickets if you buy them via hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursuula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

For 24 USD we got a room about 3 meters square (this is not an exageration, it just fit 2 single beds), no window and a desk fan that didnt stay in the power socket. One bathroom was shared between about 6 rooms. Also the 6 flights of stairs is not much fun. The room got so hot at night I actualy left to try and sleep in the hammock on the roof top. Im not opposed to this type of accom as iv stayed in places like this before. Its just this is terrible value compared to other places I have stayed in myanmar and yangon. 30 USD can get you private bathroom, aircon and satalite tv elsewhere easy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wienerbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed for one night, and must say was impressed on a couple of points.

As I was arriving in Yangon at 4am on an overnight bus, I gave them a call around 6pm the evening before to secure a place. I was told to just come around, and check in, then I could have a breakfast there. Wonderful. I slept in for a few hours, got my breakfast, and spent the day just as if I was staying from the night before.

Secondly, the next morning, as I was going to take the shower, the girls working for the hotel were scrubbing the floor, and had bubbles all over the bathroom and toilets. Not sure how often they do this, but I can tell that they are very serious about making this place clean and tidy.

The owner was very hospitable and I appreciate his Quiet policy and curfew at 11pm, so the guests can relax and rest at night, he is very helpful and try to do everything possible to help you, such as finding your way around town, getting mosquito coils in your room or change money, or whatever, and basically, the stay was very very pleasant.

I guess breakfast also needs a mention, lots of variety, but the idea of taking the stairs to eighth floor was a bit surreal. Wakes you up in the morning.

Room Tip: Just look at a few and choose the one you like in terms of appearance, smell, lights, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carioca500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

So not everything about this place is perfect, there are a lot of stairs and no elevator for an 8 floor building, some of the rooms are a little small and there are no windows. However, having said that, the staff who work there are very nice and often very helpful. The breakfast is massive and there is a huge variety on offer and considering you are in one of the biggest cities; all in all it is not bad value for money. Realistically you have to make adjustments to your expectations based on the rest of SE Asia and reconsider what you are likely to get in Myanmar for your money. For what you get here...I wouldn't complain!

Room Tip: Try and get rooms on lower floors to save yourself the constant mission to get up the many stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Pros:
+ cheap
+ friendly, helpful front desk staff
+ phenomenal breakfast
+ excellent location

Cons:
- small rooms
- low ceilings in parts
- doors close at 11pm, but wasn't really a problem for me as I wasn't ever out too late

Overall it fit the bill. The owner (?) even drove me to the airport! Great guy.

Room Tip: If you're on a lower floor then you have to walk farther up for breakfast, but less far to get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_H155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were told that its one of the good hotels by the locals in the airport.After we went there,it was all bad from the start.Yet we went for this as we were new and had no options due to time and our schedule.

The hotel which is run by some Burmese Muslims has prison like rooms with no windows and was smelling very bad. The common toilets and bathrooms were in a total mess and not well maintained.

They charge 17$ for this place which is not even 1-2$.The breakfast was not fresh with lots of flies and mosquitoes on the food. The foods were not kept closed for hours!

They claim that the hotel has free wifi access! But it is only at the reception. But can't imagine myself sitting there for 5 mins as there were too much mosquitoes.

The next day I moved to a hotel called Daddy home which is a few blocks away from this one.it was way much better than this. They have good air on rooms with no breakfast n wifi. But there is a browsing centre next to it which is like a dollar for 2 hours!the room cost is just 10$.very good ones with aircon!

Room Tip: Never for this. Go for Daddy hotel which is a few blocks away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ram_vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#79 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
662 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okinawa Guest House
Okinawa Guest House
#87 of 169 in Yangon (Rangoon)
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,655 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#22 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Hotel

Property: White House Hotel
Address: 69 71 Konezaydan St, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
White House Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing