We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but great value and free shuttle”
Review of Mother Land Inn 2

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mother Land Inn 2
Ranked #10 of 174 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This place was about a 20 minute walk from the downtown area, but since it's in a more residential area you feel more of the local lifestyle especially the weird India ceremony thing around the corner. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the wifi sucked, the breakfast was amazing, clean rooms, and they had a free airport shuttle which saved 8,000 Kyats. Idk if there's dorms, but there were some families that were staying there as well. Great place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WadeHopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 546 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

The only one in Yangon to reply to email. Good free airport pickup, welcome after a long flight. Large, clean double room and bathroom for $30, much cheaper than Beautyland. Get a room upstairs, at the back away from the noise of reception. Very friendly staff and guests, all muck in together. Very helpful with phone calls to book rooms ahead. BUT a long way from the centre - we did walk it, but not something you'd do often, so have to use taxis.Found a great restaurant a short walk away - the May Kyin Shan Restaurant on BoTaTaung Pagoda Road, a few doors down from Ocean Pearl Inn - tables on the pavement in the evening, great food especailly the whole fish, good prices and delightful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

we stayed here twice during our month in Burma . we paid $ 30 for a twin room , with private bathroom with hot water , air con and tv ( only one English news channel )
As many other reviewers have said the price of rooms in Burma is a little crazy , with demand outstripping supply .Having said that we looked at a few places in yangon , just to gauge the market and motherland 2 , seems reasonable compared with other options .
you are squarely in backpacker territory here , the reception is always packed with the worlds sweaty young travellers but the rooms and hallways are quiet and we slept well .
the rooms are clean and comfortable if a little tired . but the bed linen was clean and the bed big and pretty comfortable . the bathroom was old too but clean enough , but shower was nice and hot too . our first room was at the front of the building and a bit noisy with road noise , but our room at the back was very quiet .

we had travelled to Burma in mid march 2013 to avoid the peak season but we still booked motherland 2 , 6 weeks before we got there to ensure we had a room when we got there . the internet booking went really well , and infact motherland 2 was the only guesthouse in Burma to reply to any emails . they answered all email promptly , reserved the room and came to the airport to collect us - really great customer service .
the girls on reception Miss Cho Zin , Miss Yu Yu and Miss Su Wai , were great at booking the rooms , but were also really lovely and friendly when we met them . Even when the reception was packed which was often , they kept a cool head and tried to keep everyone happy .
there is a restaurant on site which does reasonable food , and the free breakfast is actually pretty good to start the day. but once again the young guys who work in the restaurant are so cheerfull and helpful. it was fun to help them practice their English every day , talking about English football !!!!
as our mobile phone did not work in Burma , we asked them to ring a hotel in mandalay and book a room for us . which they were happy to do for us , and in fact we did this all thru our journey in Burma . when we did try to ring on our own, generally guesthouses said they were full , but when the receptionist rang on our behalf we always got rooms . maybe a language problem but worth giving the receptionist a couple of dollars for .
Before we went to Burma we had changed a lot of thai baht for dollars , and made sure the were all good condition . but we found most big cities now have ATMs that accepted our English Visa dedit cards . Down the road from motherland 2 ( ask the staff the way ) is the ocean supermarket that has two international ATMs , to get cash from in kyat - and its pretty well stocked with food too .For our trip to Mandalay we booked a coach with the guesthouse , they used a company shwe mandalar . and it turned out to be a really comfortable journey. so would recommend them as the coach was big clean and modern .
So overall we had a really great start to our time in Burma . Yangon is really worth spending a few days in , fantastic food , amazing temples, but the highlight of our trip was the really wonderful friendly Burmese people .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pmmh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I am surprised that this hotel can be the top pick in Lonely Planet. I have stayed here for one night last week, and could not comment anything positive except for the cost, which is USD15 per night per person.

The room is tiny (just enough for human passage when three beds are cramped inside), stuffy and smells awful. The hotel is trying to maximize the profit by having many partitions to split the rooms, leaving very narrow access to each of the rooms. You can hear easily the noise from other room. On top of that, the location is far from the city center, approximately 15-20 mins drive by taxi, and the surrounding nearby the hotel is not happening at all.

I would only recommend to traveler who is looking solely for cost. It might be fine for stop over for one day in Yangon before heading to other places in Myanmar. Otherwise, there should be a better choice out there.

Room Tip: Choose the ones on 2nd floor. It looks better than the rooms in 3rd floor, which can only be accesse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tan_HY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I really enjoyed my room. Bright, clean and comfy. The bathroom was spotless.

The breakfast was good but served up in a cramped, worn, but bright room. You'll either love it or hate it. The tea is great.

It was busy when I arrived. The young women were great and quite brisk which may be misinterpreted as rude. They booked my bus to Bagan and produced my ticket on the spot, told me when I needed to leave and so on.

It's an easy stroll into the city and a fascinating neighbourhood or a taxi from outside.

Yes the wifi was non existent when I was there but you can pick free connections elsewhere including Shwedegon Pagoda.

When I compare it to where I am now in Mandalay, which is twice as expensive, I realise what good value it was.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samurai_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

It's a pity that this guesthouse seems to take the steady stream of guests thanks to the LP reference for granted.

Although Mother land inn is a busy, well organized guesthouse, the place is pretty run down. Rooms are not very clean and noisy (even in the back due to AC's units running at night). The restaurant is convenient but not the most tasty in Myanmar.
Staff is friendly and they can help you out arranging transport and booking of other hotels. Bonus is the free pick-up and drop-off at the airport.
The location of the hotel is somewhat outside of the center in a scruffy neighborhood.

We booked another hotel when we visited Yangon for the second time as we didn't feel like returning here.

Room Tip: The back rooms tend to be a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miralontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

It's a shame that places like these get a steady stream of travelers thanks to being featured on Lonely Planet... They don't deserve it, or more probably are taking it for granted. We stayed for three nights in two different rooms: first, a 30 USD room with A/C and private bathroom, second, a 28 USD room with fan and private bathroom. We thought that the first one was a bad deal, but when we saw the second one, it was even worse! Tiny, dusty, bathroom with water clogging problems... Not the best value for money.

The free airport transfer that has been advertised on their website and in Lonely Planet guide isn't accurate: they do have the transfers, but the van leaves only twice a day at fixed times (no flexibility if everyone wants to leave 30 minutes or 1 hour earlier). So we ended up paying a private taxi to make it on time for our flight.

The well-advertised free Wifi wasn't working 2 nights out of the 3, and only thanks to the help of one friendly staffer we could finally get access to it. My travel friend had to pay 1000 kyats for the desktop computer with Internet because the Wifi wouldn't work.

The breakfast was an unlimited supply of bread, margarine, eggs, un-fresh juice, strawberry jam and over-brewed tea. We thought the local specialties would be a better option, but it was a poor value: a dish of boiled rice with 5 small beans.

I find that one of the weakest points of this guesthouse is its staff: the ladies at the check-in counter had a very bad attitude, were pushy with the guests, the anti-helpful and anti-welcoming. When we ordered the breakfast, the staff forgot the orders and brought us someone else's meal.

Location is far from the city centre, but the streets nearby are nice for a stroll and finding a better breakfast/dinner options than at the guesthouse.

Room Tip: Private rooms are a bad value, opt for rooms with shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.2 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#69 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#33 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
263 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Bond
Hotel Bond
#5 of 174 in Yangon (Rangoon)
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 174 in Yangon (Rangoon)
145 reviews
2 mi away
15th Street at Downtown Yangon
15th Street at Downtown Yangon
#6 of 174 in Yangon (Rangoon)
189 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thanlwin Guest House
Thanlwin Guest House
#2 of 97 in Yangon (Rangoon)
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Land Inn 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Land Inn 2

Address: No 433 Lower Pazundaung Road, Yangon (Rangoon) 951, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $20 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Land Inn 2 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your complete satisfaction is our goal. We offer the convenience, comfort and value that our international guests expect.Located walking distance from many of Yangon's most popular attractions including Sule Pagoda, Bogyoke Market, Kandawgyi Lake, Botahtaung Pagoda, as well as many excellent restaurants. A short taxi ride takes you to Shwedagon Pagoda, Inya Lake, and the Fine Art Museum. Nearby there are many opportunities to explore local neighborhoods and small markets full of the colors, sights and sounds of Myanmar. The hotel is also located on convenient bus routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Mother Land Inn 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mother Land Inn 2 Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Mother Land Inn 2 Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing