We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Mother Land Inn 2

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mother Land Inn 2
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It's not the best in terms of location (about 30-45 minutes from the airport depending on traffic) that's why they provide free pick-up and drop off service.

We booked a double room for $30.

Even though our room reservation was for September 28, they picked us up from the airport when we arrived in Yangon morning of September 23 (we left for Bagan that same afternoon). And when we arrived very early (7:00 am) from Mandalay on September 28, they let us check-in early at 8:00 as soon as the room was ready. They let us have breakfast first.

Each table at the breakfast 'room' has its own toaster which we found really nice. You can have as much bread, butter and/or jam, coffee/tea, fruit juice as you want. You will also be served eggs cooked to your liking.

The room is spartan but A/C works just fine and water pressure was okay. Towels, soap and hangers were provided too.

WiFi is not that fast and cannot be accessed in the rooms especially on the upper floors, but connection was decent at the lobby. You can use several desktops, too, for a fee.

Staff can speak conversational English and are very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Excursionista14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 547 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a fantastic hostel. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgable; they help with everything from currency exchange, to local maps, to booking bus tickets. We would definitely recommend Motherland Inn 2!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAdict17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I arrived at Motherland Inn 2 in the dead of the night without a reservation and was lucky enough to get the last available room (double) for $22. The staff, like anywhere else in Myanmar, will win you over with their friendliness and willingness to help. (The female staff at reception even graciously drew a little map for me to get to Sule Pagoda on foot the following day.) The hostel has a restaurant that runs til late at night and serves Myanmar beer. Wifi sucks, and if you badly want to go online, you can use the three available PCs near the lobby area for 300 kyat/ 30 mins. Gone were the days when this hostel serves pancakes for breakfast (so I heard from another traveler) but you can have all the toast and omelet you want. The staff also helped me arranged my onward bus ticket to Bagan and taxi going to the bus terminal. Overall, this is a sweet deal in Yangon and I’ll never hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomadofthecentury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Well, yes if you are after hanging around with other backpackers, yes its ok. But the free airport transfer is only at one time a day, and it might not be at the time you depart. The rooms are basic, no water bottles, and with fans and no aircon, they say they have wiifi but you wont see it in your room. I paid USD 30 at another place I got mini bar, water, aircon, wifi in my room, same level of access to information and support for USD 35. There are places other than Motherland in Yangon you get more factilities and the same or better level of service for the same price, and in areas with much better access to restaurants, places of interest, airport, main bus terminal and train station. You would know, only if you stay in multiple places in Yangon only, that this place is not real value for money and running only on recommendations by people who have only stayed there. I have not direct complaints about the hotel or service, but why spend money for less value!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PadMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

we stayed there back in July and we liked the free airport pick up, th fact that we were offered breakfast as we were waiting for our room to be made, the smily friendly staff and the very comfortable beds. the rooms are basic but clean and functional. Plus, nearby there's the only place in Myanmar where you can find chrysanthemum tea!!! lol
the only negative is that is far from the centre: so be ready to bargain for taxi rides or prepared for long -frogger style- walks... as pedestians are not really considered in Myanmar!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeez4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

though this place is away from centre but still always found to be full. luckily we got reservations here, but the hotel provided us free airport transfers, had excellent wifi service in room. breakfast was very nice and filling. the staff is very friendly and helpful. they helped us in planning site seeing. they made our trip worth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couple79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here knowing that you have to lower your standards a bit while traveling in Myanmar. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were plain and simple but clean. The staff was sometimes helpful and sometimes utterly uninterested in helping. There seems to be a lot of staff but most are doing nothing so you are often literally tripping over them when you are there. They had absolutely no interest in arranging tours and there is no shuttle bus to the airport as i was informed. The Inn is nice enough but it is set in the middle of a poorer part of the city and the view out my window reflected this ( all i saw was a garbage dump with people living in it). Good cheap place to stay but they failed me in the customer service department. On the plus side the bus tickets they got me were with the most comfortable bus company i used in the country.

Room Tip: get aircon the fan rooms are stifling when you cannot open a window and often you cannot because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Bond
Hotel Bond
#5 of 176 in Yangon (Rangoon)
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 176 in Yangon (Rangoon)
149 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thanlwin Guest House
Thanlwin Guest House
#2 of 100 in Yangon (Rangoon)
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
15th Street at Downtown Yangon
15th Street at Downtown Yangon
#6 of 176 in Yangon (Rangoon)
197 reviews
0 mi away
Traveller's House
Traveller's House
#15 of 176 in Yangon (Rangoon)
25 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pickled Tea Hostel
Pickled Tea Hostel
#1 of 100 in Yangon (Rangoon)
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Land Inn 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Land Inn 2

Address: No 433 Lower Pazundaung Road, Yangon (Rangoon) 951, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $20 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Land Inn 2 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your complete satisfaction is our goal. We offer the convenience, comfort and value that our international guests expect.Located walking distance from many of Yangon's most popular attractions including Sule Pagoda, Bogyoke Market, Kandawgyi Lake, Botahtaung Pagoda, as well as many excellent restaurants. A short taxi ride takes you to Shwedagon Pagoda, Inya Lake, and the Fine Art Museum. Nearby there are many opportunities to explore local neighborhoods and small markets full of the colors, sights and sounds of Myanmar. The hotel is also located on convenient bus routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Mother Land Inn 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mother Land Inn 2 Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Mother Land Inn 2 Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing