We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpacker headquarters of Yangon”
Review of Mother Land Inn 2

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mother Land Inn 2
Ranked #11 of 173 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great place to not only stay, but meet other travelers and get information about Yangon and Myanmar. We started our trip staying here in Yangon and it was perfect. The map they hand out was perfect and the area was relatively quiet but also central to the rest of central Yangon. Of course, a place like this in Myanmar is usually booked way ahead. This is particularly true of the high season, when we were there, so I definitely recommend sending them an email and booking ahead. In the rainy seaon, it might be a good idea as well.

The rooms themselves were basic but clean. They had the typical toast and eggs breakfast, but I definltey recommend ordering one of the Burmese breakfast options the day before. There is no wifi and the internet connection is far from speedy, although this may depend on the time of day you are there.

Easy to get to, all the taxi drivers (at least at the airport) know where it is.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slakjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Mother Land Inn 2
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 537 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Overall- everything what a backpacker needs is there. AC, bathroom with hot water, tasty breakfast, helpful staff, slow Internet:). The price is quite reasonable ( you are in Myanmar by the way). The only but is the room itself- it can be quite depressing.... The sheets are not pure clean, the walls need new painting and the bathroom is to be used only when the nature is calling badly:)
But- this is Yangon and this is the best you can get for this price:) Don't have too big expetations and everything will suit you perfecly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed for 1 night in mother land inn 2. The room is quite nice, clean, and soft bed. All staffs are friendly and helpful.
The hotel is a bit far form center of Yangon but the strength point of this hotel is the bus service to pick you up to hotel or airport, it help you to reduce the expenses of your budget.

Room Tip: The triple room no.12 is quite, nice, and clean but no window
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

All accommodation is expensive in Yangon these days. Prices at Motherland have increased over last year, but by much less than most other places.

The guesthouse was very responsive to emails, which I found quite rare in Myanmar. Service while I was there gave me no reason for complaint.

I was very pleased with my room at the rear of the building - clean, comfortable, with quite enough space, and plenty of window. I was also very pleased with the free airport pick-up.

It's true that the location is not right in the CBD and by western standards is shabby. That's because it is in an actual living breathing Yangon neighbourhood - if you prefer to spend your time in 4 or 5 star hotels then this is not for you. It is walkable from the centre, but can be hard to find at night (just grab a tri-shaw if this happens).

I ate at the restaurant and the food was fine, though the vegetarian selections were a bit limited. It's quite a social place.

Reading some of the reviews here, it seems that the cheapest rooms may not be so pleasant. I booked a room with a/c for just a couple of dollars more than a fan room, and for me it represented excellent value - by far the best value of the 3 hotels I used in Yangon on this trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a room with a fan on the second floor, and it was quite basic: clean beds, a fan, a toilet, and large windows. Not a room one really wanted to hang around in.

But you're not in Yangon to stay in your room! The Motherland Inn (2) was a great homebase. The hotel is in a quieter part of the city, but still close enough to walk to "downtown proper" and the Shwe Dagon Paya. The free airport pickup was appreciated, and the reception desk is filled with incredibly helpful staff who can set you up with a fairly favorable currency exchange, transport bookings, lodging confirmations, and so forth. The "western breakfast" is not much, but ordering the Burmese breakfast (especially the mohinga) was great--though the restaurant is pricey in comparison to the tea houses and street cuisine.

Room Tip: One of the rooms on the second floor has a detached bath, so you may wish to inquire if I private ba...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_and_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

In comparison to the rest of Burma accommodation in Yangon is painfully expensive. Motherland Inn 2 is pretty much your only option if you're on a tight budget and if you compare it to what you can get for a similar price elsewhere in Burma you'll be disappointed.
The whole of Yangon is run down and incredibly dirty – however the Motherland is located in a particularly shabby area. The streets are strewn with rubbish and rats are a common sight. If you're arriving straight from the airport it's quite a shock!
We booked a room with AC and its own bathroom. Though the room had obviously been cleaned and there were clean sheets etc. the room is not particularly pleasant. The furniture is shabby, there are dirty marks on the wall, broken tiles in the bathroom etc. It's fine for a night or 2 if you don't intend to spend any time in the room – just don't expect much. That said your options are very limited. On our last night in Yangon we decided to stay somewhere a bit nicer and booked a room at the Clover Hotel. However it was $70 more expensive and only marginally nicer than the Motherland.
Though the Motherland is not the nicest place to stay it should be noted that the staff are great, it's a fantastic place to meet other travelers and there are certain aspects that are wonderful – for example on New Years Eve they put on a huge spread of delicious food for free, including free cocktails. I can't imagine anywhere else doing that and it turned out to be a fantastic night! They also offer a free storage service so you can leave bags with them while you explore the rest of Burma – a nice touch which we appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0ey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Came back three times in September 2012 because Yangon is a base to go East, North or West. It was my first time travelling alone and was very nervous. They picked me up at the airport and the staffs were super friendly and absolutely helpful! The first time i stayed there I had their twin room - it was a bit pricey. Room was decent. I didnt expect any luxury despite the price.The train track next door scared the bejeezus out of me. I did not know that they have dorms because it wasnt advertised till i overheard another traveler asking for their dorms. So i stayed in the dorms the second and third time i was there partly because the taxi drivers only know Pazundaung Road and also the other places were expensive.The dorms were ok too except the beds were hard as a rock and the room was stuffy. It was next to the staff quarters too - which meant no sleeping in a bit in the mornings. You have to share bathrooms with everyone in that building. Only one shower and one toilet. There are 4 computers - two usually occupied by staffs. No wifi. Internet is expensive and no flexibility - if you only wanted to use it for a few minutes you still have to pay for a full hour. I gave this place a four because the staffs were really friendly and their breakfast buffet is excellent. This place is also far from town but i enjoyed the walks amongst the local people and seeing the real Yangon although i did get lost a few times. One thing i found odd was the fancy supermarket called Ocean just 3 mins walk across the railway track.

Room Tip: Honestly, it doesnt matter where your room is cos the front is noisy and will get hot in the morning...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
335 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#22 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
494 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#27 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#82 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#69 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Land Inn 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Land Inn 2

Address: No 433 Lower Pazundaung Road, Yangon (Rangoon) 951, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $16 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Land Inn 2 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your complete satisfaction is our goal. We offer the convenience, comfort and value that our international guests expect.Located walking distance from many of Yangon's most popular attractions including Sule Pagoda, Bogyoke Market, Kandawgyi Lake, Botahtaung Pagoda, as well as many excellent restaurants. A short taxi ride takes you to Shwedagon Pagoda, Inya Lake, and the Fine Art Museum. Nearby there are many opportunities to explore local neighborhoods and small markets full of the colors, sights and sounds of Myanmar. The hotel is also located on convenient bus routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Mother Land Inn 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mother Land Inn 2 Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Mother Land Inn 2 Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing