We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the top most front room”
Review of May Shan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
May Shan Hotel
Ranked #74 of 169 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
ph
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get the top most front room”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is the closest hotel to Sule Pagoda which is the most famous landmark of downtown Yangon. While it's apparently a plus point, the pagoda makes 24/7 loudspeaker chants. Get this hotel if you want to be close to the action but never if you need piece of mind.

I saw some bad reviews like disgusting medicine box, view of a wall and no wifi. You won't get this on room 701 which you must book way in advance. The view is awesome

Room Tip: Consider the rooms in the front with a view or consider other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontifex79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    66
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
12
57
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nites there in Jan 2014. Great location and had the triple room with a great view over the street etc. But we drew the short straw as there was some 24x7 chanting festival thing going on the entire time and we didn't get a wink of sleep. So paying the price premium to be there turned into a mess albeit not the hotel's fault I suppose. But at USD89 for the triple it did still seem over the odds. Can't argue with the location though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank alexdunnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel placed anywhere other than Myanmar (Burma) would be a no-no, however in Myanmar it is and therefore its charms cannot be overlooked - unless you are lucky enough to consider money no object.
The hotels major attraction is its location and friendly family run atmosphere. The hotel is overlooking the Sule Pagoda and is walking distance to the Independent Monument, Scotts Market and a small number of coffee houses / bars.
Inside - the hotel rooms are a comfortable size and more importantly the beds are comfy, if perhaps a little firm for some. Two things that are immediately apparent; 1) they are fully tiled. Walls & floor - Fully tiled however 2) they are spotlessly clean. Bathrooms are often made up of colourful sanitary ware (ours was electric blue this time) But the air-con was cold and a recent addition is the flat screen TV's.
Breakfast is 2 eggs, fried - toast - bananas and honey/jam. Tea or coffee. Ok they will never win a culinary award, but it is sufficient to get you started.
Overall - we have stayed here three times now, its not somewhere Id like to spend a fortnight, but its a great place to stay for a couple of nights whilst exploring this incredible city at a very reasonable price, comparatively speaking.

Room Tip: If you get the family rooms at the front of the hotel the views of the Sule Pagoda are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali-Ludwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at MayShan for a night at each end of our trip... great location in Little India (close to lots of great places to eat, and Sule Paya) and staff were helpful in arranging taxis, letting us into the room early, etc. Room was clean, but fairly small (particularly the second room we had) and with no window. No hot water the first time we stayed, but was fine the second night. At $65/night it's not cheap for what you get, but seems this is the case across Myanmar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed for one night in a twin room with air conditioning. Basic room. We had the room without a window which was perfect. Slept well with air conditioning on. Basic breakfast of instant coffee, toast , banana and bread. Free internet worked great. Great location. We walked to the National Museum, shwe dragon pagoda and Scott market.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

at $69/night for a double room this basic but clean accommodation is very overpriced, but you will be hard pushed to find much cheaper in Yangon. We paid for a room with a window but never once opened the curtains or window because there's no view at all! Just a wall! Very near sule pagoda and a decent (if not half missing) view of Sule Pagoda from the roof terrace. But to be honest, other than Sule Pagoda, its not near much else and you still have to get a taxi to visit Shwedagon Pagoda, Inya lake, so you may as well stay anywhere else in Yangon if you can find it cheaper!

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a room with a window, because unless you pay $90 for the triple room (on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teenytinytin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We were supposed to stay there for two nights but left after the first night. The neighborhood is pretty dodgy, the room had no windows, an annoying light from the hallway were shining into the room and you had to hold the shower head yourself while showering. Not least was the breakfast pretty bad. Two pieces of dry bread and an egg. Not even juice. Stay away!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank GitteHolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#43 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#52 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Space Boutique Hostel
Space Boutique Hostel
#10 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scott @ 31st Street
Scott @ 31st Street
#5 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wayfarer's Rest - Chinatown
Wayfarer's Rest - Chinatown
#13 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Shan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Shan Hotel

Property: May Shan Hotel
Address: 115 117 Sule Paya Road | Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — May Shan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your May Shan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Shan Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing