We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small clean room with great hospiality”
Review of May Shan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
May Shan Hotel
Ranked #73 of 163 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small clean room with great hospiality”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Small room space is the only con of the hotel. The place is clean with hot water, A/C, TV (not needing this) and wifi.The hotel is right next to the Sule Pagoda and within walking distance to the china town, port, post office, British embassy and other colonial buildings, etc.

Our room has no window but we only stayed in the room for sleep and shower - the other time we would be at the lobby for better wifi access. The staff is very helpful and treat you more or less as the family. The hotel charge for taxi is a bit pricy but they do tell you how much should the price of the normal taxi charge and let you try to make your own arrangement - we were there during rainy season and they have umbrella that we can borrow and the old man told me to go blow dried my hair before I catch a cold - very impressed. They were also generous with the food and our use of the hotel dining area to eat the food we brought from outside. So the room was small, but you can roam around the lobby and kitchen as though it's your own house. So how could I complain ;-)

Anyway, if you really need a window, asked for it when making reservation, the room will be bigger so it will cost more. Room no. 601 and 701, not sure if there are other rooms like this.

Room Tip: The normal room has no window. If you want windows, ask for the room for 3 persons, ie. room no. 601...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhaeTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    66
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
12
57
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Room rates seem to be opportunistic and do not reflect the basic nature of the hotel and its amenities. The location is quite central but that is of debatable advantage when there are few attractions nearby. The bus station is a one-hour taxi ride away and well north of the airport. The only worthwhile local attraction was the Shwedagon Pagoda, which is a taxi ride away.

The windowless room was clean but felt claustrophobic and resembled a cell. Breakfast was served in a small space at the rear of the lobby that appeared to be part of someone’s living space.

Staff was helpful and very patient in making numerous calls to find onward hotel accommodation.

My recommendation would be to skip Yangon and start a visit to Burma in Mandalay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

It is not a hotel! Rooms are rather basic, very much ran down. There were no windows in the room! There was a loud fan facing the corridor. It was not particularly clean either. Staff was fine. One great thing about May Shan is its convenient location. Still, for the price they charge there are better options in Rangoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel_Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Accommodation in Yangon is hard to come by if you want to be a responsible traveler in Myanmar. If you are like me and want your $$ to go to local businesses and hard working families, this is the place to stay. Be warned accommodation is expensive for what you get but that's the reality people! Also, as this was our first hotel experience in Myanmar we were expecting more bang for our buck but after travelling around the country for a month, we ended up back at the May Shan for one night on our way back home so that says something!
Pros - The booking process was easy, all booked via email and got quick responses. Central location, easy walk into town, China town, markets. It's basic but clean. Friendly staff, very helpful with directions and recommendations. It has a lift! Comfortable beds, good water pressure, standard breakfast included, great aircon units, tv and free fast wifi!
Cons - small bathroom, toilet and shower together
Tips - Don't get your money exchanged in the hotel, go into a bank or withdraw from ATMS. We got better exchange rates that way. Clean and new US bills required here. We stayed in room 601 as recommended in the Lonely Planet guide (for the view of the Pagoda) This room was more expensive than the others. We stayed in a double room at the end of our trip and it was just as good. No view but we didn't miss it. Get ready for your tea to come in powder form (this is standard every where in Myanmar) Go around the corner to the teahouse and get a traditional Myanmar Breakfast. Would also recommend getting glasses made at the shop next door. Husband had 2 sunglasses and 2 seeing glasses made, couldn't be happier with the quality! Happy travels!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

May Shan is really more of a guesthouse/hostel than a hotel, with a fantastic location in central Yangon less than 50 meters from Sule Pagoda. Overall the location is pretty much all this place has going for it. The rooms are small, dark, and very dated. Bathrooms very old and shabby.

Standard breakfast is included, but is pretty poor so either head out somewhere or ask for Mohinga fish noodle soup (the nice staff in the restaurant will go out and get it for you).

The May Shan reminded me of the kind of place you would end-up at in other countries in SE Asia if everywhere nice was fully booked! Rapidly increasing tourist numbers and limited accommodation in Yangon mean there aren’t many alternatives. The prices May Shan charges reflect this limited supply rather than the quality of the hotel.

Wifi in the lobby was a benefit and worked most of the time. The staff/owners were always pleasant too.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms available as some have windows and some don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_ES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

One thing about this hotel is its location. It is located at the heart of Downtown area very near the Sule Pagoda which adds convenience to our stay. However, the price that we paid for a double room of $55 was not worth it. Breakfast was just right, with the butter and jelly all for you to spread. The room is quiet small with no windows and the CR has no exhaust. Good that is has elevators. In fairness, it maybe one of the better hotels in the area but not so when compared with other cities in Southeast Asia in terms of value for money. Overall, the hotel is just average but you can find other hotels near the area which is cheaper with the same amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo Jr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent Head, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed in the May Shan for three nights and found it clean and comfortable. However, the rooms are tiny with just enough space to walk around the bed. We had a double room with window ( yes the window is an optional extra ). The room had a good clean comfortable bed, excellent air con and TV. The bathroom is also smallish but clean and functional, if you call a shower over the toilet functional, but it is a fact of life in Asia. The breakfast was fine, orange juice? fried egg, toast and bananas with tea or coffee. The hotel is located right next to the Sule Pagoda and is just a short taxi ride to just about anywhere. We found for the price in Yangon this was a good find as we place clean and comfortable at the top of our priorities. There are a few restaurants nearby but one we found to be better than the others was the Suzuki Cafe, a couple of hundred meters up the road ( opposite direction to the pagoda ) on the opposite side of the road to the hotel, just past the stairs to the overpass.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel on the seventh floor which was quiet and had a city view. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judit731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#77 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#46 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Space Boutique Hostel
Space Boutique Hostel
#9 of 83 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aung Tha Pyay Hotel
Aung Tha Pyay Hotel
#41 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Shan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Shan Hotel

Property: May Shan Hotel
Address: 115 117 Sule Paya Road | Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — May Shan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your May Shan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Shan Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing