We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view/loaction, very over priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of May Shan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
May Shan Hotel
Ranked #78 of 158 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view/loaction, very over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a triple room (room was recommended by lonely planet). It was clean adn with air-con, but it was quite small and very basic. It had a small old TV and a small bathroom (albeit with hot water). The beds were not made every day and the water was not replenished either. We had to pay for water and one bottle had something quite curious floating in it. The breakfast consisted of toast with butter/jam, tea or coffee and a banana. The best thing about the room was the view across to Sule Pagoda and the fact that the hotel is ideally situated in the city near all the hustle and bustle. The worst thing about the hotel was the price. At $90 per night for what we got we thought it was way too much money. $60 would have been more reasonable and in line with the other hotels that we stayed in Myanmar.

Room Tip: Look around for better priced rooms in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rylee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    65
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
12
57
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our room was small, windowless and very old and dated but it was clean. It was not the kind of room you looked forward to coming back to at the end of the day. The breakfast was pretty basic with a banana, egg and bread. It was also one of the more expensive hotels we stayed at in Myanmar.
On the plus side the May Shan is in a great location and the owners and staff are very hospitable, knowledgable and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The room is overpriced, the room is small, and facilities are incomplete but location is strategic, food are around that area. This hotel is suitable for backpacker, for family it is not recommended. I will rate the hotel as three stars.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank YP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed her for two nights and really enjoyed it. As others have mentioned Yangon is extremely expensive so this is a good find. We reserved a room with a small window, which is exactly what we got. The room was quite small compared to American hotels, but quite normal for the rest of the world. The breakfast is the same everyday with no options, 2slices of white toast and butter, one fried egg, pineapple jam, two bananas and tea or coffee. Seriously, what more do you need for one meal?
Free wi fi in the lobby but lots of chairs that were comfortable. Extremely helpful staff on reception,what more do you need. How about a roof terrace withviews over the Sule Pagoda and rooftops? They seem to be in the middle if building that. We are staying for two more nights at the end if our trip around Myanmar and looking forward to it. It certainly is much better than the hotel i am currently at inBagan!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisdsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and stayed in Yangon at this hotel and were not pleased. It is backpacker quality with rates a lot higher than expected. The rooms were clean but they were small and dank. The location is quite good however located close to all amenities. I would not ever stay in Yangon again! If I returned to Myanmar I would get out of Dodge (Yangon) as quickly as possible. We found this hotel quite disappointing. Also do not book using Agoda as you cannot cancel or change bookings online, ever! We were therefore stuck in this hotel. I must say though the family are good people and were very nice to customers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dabblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Sutter Creek, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I must agree with most of the other reviews of the May Shan - the location is ideal and the service was excellent, even if the rooms were on the small side. From my first email exchange with Ko Htiak, the staff at May Shan were professional and very helpful. It was virtually impossible for me to make local Myanmar airline reservations from the USA, but they readily reserved all the flights we needed and had our tickets ready for us when we arrived. Also by contacting them directly, we were able to get a room in the back of the hotel with a window which let in some natural light. They also helped us find a room in the Inle Lake area by making numerous phone calls when our original reservation fell through.
Although they did not tell us about the free breakfast, we did not go hungry! Across the street is a little tea house called Kings which has beautiful steamed buns made in house, and down the road past Sule Pagoda there are some other tea houses where you can enjoy a steaming bowl of mohinga. And in the evening, a fun, 15 minute walk will take you down to 19th street to the beer/barbeque spots that are both delicious and entertaining!
We were fortunate at the end of our trip to secure a room at the May Shan on a days notice. It's difficult in Yangon, and most of Myanmar to find small, local, mid priced hotels, but we did with May Shan.

Room Tip: Email ahead to get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoothillTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The May Shan is located beside Sule Pagoda which is an excellent location. The staff were very helpful and can be counted on for good advice. They converted my money to kyat at a good rate and then bought it back at the same rate at the end of my stay! Yes the price is high compared to other countries but was more than competitive for Yangon. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmccull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#84 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
#43 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Space Boutique Hostel
Space Boutique Hostel
#9 of 83 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
30th Corner Boutique Hostel
30th Corner Boutique Hostel
#16 of 83 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aung Tha Pyay Hotel
Aung Tha Pyay Hotel
#35 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Willow Inn
The Willow Inn
#18 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Shan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Shan Hotel

Property: May Shan Hotel
Address: 115 117 Sule Paya Road | Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — May Shan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your May Shan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Shan Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing