We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location; Average value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of May Shan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
May Shan Hotel
Ranked #80 of 158 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Top location; Average value”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to Yangon and the Mayshan Hotel. In 6 short months, tourism has exploded in Yangon but there are no new rooms. So a single room that was $15 two years ago and $25 nine months ago, is now $45. Our triple, booked just a month earlier had gone up $10 in that period. So the maxim is, get a reservation with confirmed rate by email (they adhered to our lower rate without question).
The owners here are very helpful and booked internal air flights for us before we arrived - we paid them only on arrival. The rooms are internal or with window - the best looking out over the Sule Pagoda and costing $89. They are now looking quite dated (small TV, broken/old bathroom fittings, poorly fitting windows), but I have yet to see any viable competition in this mid price range in this location (right by the Sule Pagoda, and an easy walk to the markets, the river, Chinatown, and Little India).
Breakfast is adequate but could benefit from a little dressing up. Egg alone on a plate with toast, canned butter, pineapple jam, a banana, and tea or coffee is no longer the norm in Myanmar.
Internet is available in the lobby area only and is now faster than it was - which is not to say very fast... Beware what sites you access - despite sanctions having been lifted, Paypal will suspend your account if you access it from Myanmar until you get home and can call them.
There is now a branch of CB bank nearby with a functioning ATM that dispenses Kyats to MC and Visa debit card holders, but as the hotel takes only cash, I would still come with an adequate supply of dollars in hand. Taxis are cheap and reasonably fair - a ride to the Shwe Dagon pagoda is about $3, and the airport about $10.
**I like the Mayshan. I like the owners and the staff. I like the location.**
But I hope that they choose to reinvest some of the windfall rate gains they now have with increased tourism into the upkeep of the rooms and some of the services like breakfast (if you crave a luxury breakfast at western hotel prices, Traders Hotel is a 5 minute walk away with a huge breakfast buffet).

Room Tip: Rate dictates window or not; view or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    65
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
12
57
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent a month in Myanmar which included three different Yangon hotels on different dates (see Winner Inn and Panorama reviews for comparisons). May Shan's location is fantastic if you want to be in the heart of things - noisy, bustling street outside, central market round the corner, masses of food options. Walk in rates at Jan 13 are $58 for a double and I think $98 for a triple (with views of Sule Paya, NOT Schwedagon as another reviewer suggests)); we paid a bit less for our triple by booking through an agency. Rooms are clean but basic, old furnishings, very shabby bathroom, perfunctory cleaning (although towels were replaced). Because you're in the heart of things there's lots of street noise, but it does die down for a few hours (or bring earplugs). None of the extras you'd usually expect for a room at this price, ie no fridge, kettle, hair-dryer, but the May Shan isn't alone in this. Staff were lovely, and 2/3 of the cost of a bed here is for the location so choose it accordingly and you'll be delighted. Other central hotels are charging even more, so we would recommend this, though not if your only option is a windowless room ...

Room Tip: Check you're booking a room with a window! And as always in Myanmar, book ahead or you'll mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our hotel choice in Yangon was mainly driven by the location and from this (and also other) point of view, May Shan is an excellent option.

During our Myanmar Trip in December 2012 we stayed three times at May Shan (two times in room 701, once in room 401). Room 701 looks quite new with a large, spotlessly clean bathroom.
Room 401 was also clean but with some nicks, mainly in the bathroom.
The rooms x01 overlook the Sule Pagoda and the main street in front of the hotel. As soon as the last bus leave the station, it is very quite during the night.

Reception staff is very helpful with all kind of travel organization (reservation of guesthouses, taxi transfers, restaurant recommendations, etc.).
Receptions was manned during the night and we felt save at any time of our stay.

Due to the great location, a lot of interesting places are in walking distance (e.g. jetty, bogyoke aung market, Indian quarter, etc.). We even walked to the Shwedagon Pagoda which we reached after less than 30 minutes (unhurried).

In my opinion, May Shan Hotels offers very good value for the money and I would recommend the Hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Room 701 is renovated and has a great view of Sule Pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights at the May Shan at the beginning and end of my Myanmar trip as I previously booked it through Agoda.
To start with the positive, the location is great, right next to Sule Paya in the centre of Yangon close to many interesting sights and places for eat and drink.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and always smiling, like most of the people in Myanmar. Check in was quick and easy.
The breakfast was basic but decent, with egg, bananas, toast, jam and butter.
Free wifi was in the lobby only and worked fine.
Now with the negative part: May Shan is a very basic budget place ridiculously overpriced. I was expecting this reading about Yangon hotel situation, but it was really too much. We stayed in two different rooms, price was 59$ per room per night. We stayed in a room in the back with small window and one without window. The room with small window faces a back street full of garbage and we also had a huge cockroach "visiting" our room, quite disgusting.
The room without window was probably worst, small and with no air, had a very bad night sleep there.
I am not a pretentious traveler, and I am used to backpacker places and I don't really mind as long as I get what I pay for, but May Shan does not meet the minimum requirements for the price they are asking.

Room Tip: probably the triple room in the front is the best choice, if you are willing to pay 90 $ though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here twice while in Yangon. First time in a room with no window and the second time in one of the newer rooms with a window. Both rooms were clean and serviced daily. The staff were exceptionally friendly and always helpful. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby and there are also two computers to use for a charge. Breakfast was also included and was fairly basic - egg, toast, coffee and fruit. The hotel is in central Yangon, close to many sites including of course Sule Pagoda, and many restaurants and eateries are also close by. There is a lift to all floors. The train station is within walking distance. The staff in the hotel are happy to organise a taxi to the airport and Northern Bus Station. Currency exchange was also available but at a fairly inferior rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in triple room on the 7th floor as was recommended for a good view of Yangon. The view is good, but the rest was pretty average, small dark lobby, slow wifi, mess on the stairs. However, the owners were friendly and helpful, the room was clean with fresh towels and walking distance to central attractions. Shwedagon Pagoda is far, you will need to take a taxi.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassidy_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Avoid this hotel!! I have been badly bitten by bed bugs (66 bites in TOTAL) whilst staying in May Shan hotel. When I got back to my home country, I had to see the dermatologist (injection required) as the bites have resulted in severe skin inflamation in the immediate surrounding area of the bites!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avid_Gl0be_Trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#80 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
#42 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Space Boutique Hostel
Space Boutique Hostel
#9 of 83 in Yangon (Rangoon)
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aung Tha Pyay Hotel
Aung Tha Pyay Hotel
#41 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Shan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Shan Hotel

Property: May Shan Hotel
Address: 115 117 Sule Paya Road | Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — May Shan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your May Shan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Shan Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing