We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean quiet room, friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myanmar Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Myanmar Life Hotel
Ranked #100 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Las Pinas
Level Contributor
1,452 reviews
234 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 689 helpful votes
“Clean quiet room, friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed for a week in one of the newer rooms (321) with a small balcony overlooking the pool ($90/day). Wi-fi was slow the entire time. Breakfast was basic. The room was clean and comfortable - came with flat screen TV (with several English channels CNN, HBO, BBC, etc.) a small refrigerator, two free bottles of water each day. Water pressure was adequate but the water was either cold or scalding. Close to the airport but far from downtown - so you need hire a cab to ferry you every day. No convenience stores or cafe's close by. Had dinner via room service one time - food was hot but very average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    52
    69
    21
    15
See reviews for
22
55
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for work, stayed about a week.

The staff are very friendly and attentive.

The rooms are basic, but clean, good free wireless internet, bathroom a little mouldy, really needs redoing.

Restaurant, was good, but didn't serve any western meals and the food was a little bit oily.

Overall I was happy to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Like many travellers, we had a 6:30am flight from Yangon to Bagan so chose this hotel based on its proximity to the airport. You can definitely walk to the airport, but not advisable in the dark unless you have a torch, and the road is a bit gravelly so your wheelie suitcase may not like it. We arrived late afternoon and were checked in and in our room in minutes. The staff were friendly and we ate dinner in the Chinese restaurant attached to the hotel, which was pretty good. The grounds and pool area looked lovely, though we were too tired to use them. There are also a few shops and other local restaurants a few hundred metres up the road.
The rooms and corridor were very dated (think mid 1960 communist era), but very large. The bed was hard but pretty comfy. Only two pillows in the room and both were very high or big which I wasn’t used to making for an uncomfortable sleeping position. However, the room was very quiet through it was facing the front of the hotel. Bathroom was pretty standard – shower over bath with curtain, toilet in the middle and large bench with basin along the other side. But it was in need of and seriously good scrub and some maintenance. When you showered, water did flow out along the top of the bath onto the floor despite the curtain. My partner had to fix the tap so the water would flow up to the shower head instead of through the bath spout. At least there was no drama with hot water or water pressure.
We received a breakfast pack of a roll, egg and juice for our early departure. Again, the staff were very helpful and hailed a taxi for us (though it was 1500 kyats which is outrageous but it is a trapped market). For an early flight, the hotel is a perfect choice. Probably 3 + 1/2 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We landed on at midnight in Yangon and had to be back at the airport at 5am the next morning - so we were after somewhere that was close to the airport.

We booked the cheapest room which was very dated, but clean and tidy. Airconditioner worked very well. Bed was comfortable although the pillows were very high.

Check in was very fast and efficient, and they had a take-away breakfast package ready for us.

They also called a taxi for us the next morning so it was a cheap ride back to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nothing_beats_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
182 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Chose the hotel because it was the closest option for the airport. We arrived exhausted in the early evening having flown from London via Bangkok. The next day we had an early internal flight so proximity to the airport seemed like a good idea. However we got little sleep as the room walls were paper thin. The room rate included a pack-up breakfast which consisted of two slices of bread with a thin spread of jam and a hard boiled egg. Wouldn't wish to stay there again although it was much cheaper and more convenient than other options.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

melbourne
Level Contributor
292 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Agree with Mosolygo with all that was said. We only stayed as it was close to the airport & had an early flight. Booked Agoda, stayed in Room 309, cost with taxes US$100.00. Good sized room, plenty of hot water, TV with extra channels, veranda & VG aircon, free WiFi all over inc our rooms. Tacky in that my pillow case had a stain on it, & the lampshade had big stains. Not a big deal, however $100.00 in Myanmar is quite outrageous. Including breakfast but when we arrived, it wasn't set up for the western meal. So small bowl of corn flakes & 2 slices of stale french stick & coffee hardly constitutes a descent breakfast.They do eggs, unfortunately there were too many ppl waiting, def need to get their act together.Had dinner in the same place, as there is a captive audience don't think they try too hard, menu is the same as in the room. Waiter was great, none the less, but to be professional, staff should not be eating in the same room, & have paper work spreadout all over the table.Business centre was where we were sent for check in, there seemed to be a bigger degree of efficiency than at main reception.I was expecting an email & had to go get it, & was glad to get it but doubt if it would have been delivered. The pool is new & did look fab. Agoda advertises airport shuttle & inroom safe, neither exist. To summarise i would only stay here to go to the airport.

Room Tip: The Room in the 3 block were silent, had free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foreverdreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed with a group and all of us were placed in the cheapest rooms in the main block above the reception desk. The rooms were okay. Very clean and basic. However, they were also quite old. No one had showers that worked very well--alternating freezing and roasting water. The showerhead was about at my chest level. Internet did not work for some of the group at all. It did work for others. My room looked out over the street (a rather fancy word for the mostly dirt road outside) which turned out to be much louder than expected. Several of our group had troubles sleeping given the noise outside--shouting, motorbikes, dogs and so forth. In addition, the noise from the reception area was also quite loud. However, the pool area was quite nice and the rooms that surrounded the pool appeared to be significantly nicer. The price difference was only $10, so I think it would be worthwhile to invest in the upgrade. Breakfast had quite a lot of food options, although quality was only mediocre. We did have dinner at the same place. Despite a prominent sign displaying "seafood," fish was finished. However, the other dishes we ordered were surprisingly good.

Room Tip: Select a room near the pool, which is quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smith294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
High Five Hotel
High Five Hotel
#42 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yangon Airport Hotel
Yangon Airport Hotel
#68 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holly Hotel Myanmar
Holly Hotel Myanmar
#46 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Butterfly Hotel
Golden Butterfly Hotel
#64 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elegant Pyi Thar Yar Hotel
Elegant Pyi Thar Yar Hotel
#80 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Yangon
Hotel Yangon
#76 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Life Hotel

Property: Myanmar Life Hotel
Address: 41 Radio Station Road | Mingalardone, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myanmar Life Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Myanmar Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Life Hotel Yangon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing