We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economy Hotel”
Review of Myanmar Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Myanmar Life Hotel
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Buderim
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Economy Hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We recently (March 2013) spent two great weeks at this moderately priced hotel. Room was very comfortable and quite large, yet sparsely furnished in keeping with its cost. Free breakfasts and inexpensive meals. Great swimming pool. Handy to airport ($3 taxi fare) but long way to Bogyoke Market (about $10). We'd gladly go again. Hospitality excellent.

Room Tip: Bungalow accom is vg. Hotel room less expensive. Cost about $80US per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyblue20040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    58
    70
    23
    16
See reviews for
24
57
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow UK
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

As others said, 5 minutes from airport, but fair distance to town. Generally up to national standards, pool is its best feature (salt water, as most). Very adequate deluxe rooms with parking, a/c, fridge, pleasant verandah. Nothing otherwise wrong, but nothing quite right (fairly normal in Myanmar). Staff generally friendly and hopeless. Only English speakers in business centre, who are very good and helpful. Make use of them for anything you need. Wifi only available here. Despite recent info, the restaurant now serves lunch and dinner too (fairly simple).

Room Tip: 300 series quieter than most. Beware of the original main building, heard terrible stories about con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosolygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

As I had early flight decided to book a hotel close to the airport. Had pool side deluxe room, nr 323, with balcony. Spent almost all day in the hotel, enjoying the pool side.
Room was spacious and view overlooking to the pool. In the room: 2 armchairs, tv, fridge, writing table, small cupboard, water kettle, Complimentary water and wifi. Room service.
Pillows in the bed were too big and hard for me, uncomfortable to sleep. In the cupboard they had some pillows in the vacuum plastic package, only no sign can one use them for free or...

The restaurant - very simple, more like canteen, very usual in Burma. So I decided to order the food in the room, no additional fee. There were no prices on the menu, range was like 3000-8000 Ks.
Nice bathroom, with proper tiles etc., bath, shampoo, toothbrush and -paste, cotton sticks, no hair dryer.
Business center: was able to use laptop and print out some papers, no fee.
Close by, 2min walk, was minimarket-shop, can buy drinks, snacks etc.
POOL: salt water, soft sunbeds, clean, grass, trees. Close by fountain, sitting areas midst of green- beautiful.
As left very early had take away breakfast: coffee and triangle sandwiches - tasty.
Taxi to the airport: 1500-2000Ks, max 5 min:), very close to the airport.

Hotel staff was helpful... everywhere (reception, business center, restaurant). I choose the hotel because of the pool and was in overall nicely surprise of the facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadi-rei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Landed in Yangon at 10:30pm and stayed here overnight before taking a domestic flight that left at 6am. Staff was available at check-in and check-out (at 4:45am) and ordered us a cab in the morning. The rooms are very average, so we decided not to stay here at the very end of the trip, but given the traffic in Yangon, recommend staying close to the airport if you have an early flight!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinkajou_Springroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Having read previous reviews, I wasn't expecting much. We stayed here on our Explore tour as we were scheduled to land from Tachilek at 7pm. The rooms had a small balcony and were very spacious and had fridge, (free) wifi, good quiet aircon, large flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and plenty of light. We were in a block as far as possible from reception and expected a very quiet night. Sadly, the army of tree frogs had other ideas and broke into a croak from time to time!
The restaurant food was pretty good, but the service was not at all good. They had run out of beef and mutton. Three of our party ordered prawns and after a lengthy delay two prawn dishes appeared with an announcement that they had no more prawns! As is common it seems, the food appeared in dribs and drabs, such that some people had finished before others had received their food. Unfortunately, there is really nowhere else nearby. I think the solution may be to go in, say, four at a time and at five minute intervals!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was only in transit for one night, but was put in a room that was being occupied, the occupant was away for 2 days but had left all their belongings in the room. The room was not clean, restaurant is pathetic, breakfast was inedible. Power is on and off 2-3 times an hour. Give this place a miss

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Monmouth County, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

In mid-Jan 20113 we had a very peaceful relaxing 10-day stay at the Myanmar Life Hotel We will definitely return. Our room was quite comfortable & met all our needs including enough storage space. The floors were wooden, always a plus in a tropical climate. We sometimes ate on our pleasant veranda over looking the pool. There is a lovely gazebo in a grove of trees where you could also have food sent from the kitchen. Building is continuing one of which will be a new Chinese restaurant we assume to replace the current one in the lower lever of the main building. Breakfast offered a wide range of choices. There is a good chef and we found the food we ordered to be quite good. We loved the youthful staff who always had a smile and did their best to be helpful. They could not have been more accommodating. The landscaping appears to have been done by a knowledgeable professional. We really enjoyed the park-like setting where the air is cooler and cleaner than in town. The salt-water swimming pool was a joy! We would go back just for that pool alone. All the taxi drivers were also friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Going to and from downtown was not a problem for us as we simply avoided the rush hours. This is a new hotel. There is some construction going on but the was no troubling noise. We spent several enjoyable entire days not leaving the hotel. Some of the issues other reviewers had will no doubt be solved once the hotel is totally completed.
.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upenuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.8 mi away
Yangon Airport Hotel
Yangon Airport Hotel
#71 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
74 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Five Hotel
High Five Hotel
#43 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
104 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holly Hotel Myanmar
Holly Hotel Myanmar
#46 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Elegant Pyi Thar Yar Hotel
Elegant Pyi Thar Yar Hotel
#82 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
6 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Parami - Yangon
Hotel Parami - Yangon
#34 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
81 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyne Hotel
Wyne Hotel
#47 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Life Hotel

Property: Myanmar Life Hotel
Address: 41 Radio Station Road | Mingalardone, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myanmar Life Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Myanmar Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Life Hotel Yangon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing