We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Choice in Yangon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Myanmar Panda Hotel
Ranked #62 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I've stayed here a few times, it's close to our local partners office. The rooms are clean and well maintained, the internet speed is very good especially for Yangon, the staff is friendly. The common area's are a bit warn but nothing to worry about. The front staff was very helpful with suggestions and idea's though not always accurate, basically they try to give you good advice.
It's Yangon remain calm and things will fall into place.People here genuinely want to help.

Room Tip: The Pagoda view rooms have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Big L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 252 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for one night. It looked more like a hotel for business travellers, or tourist groups. Below is the pro and cons.

Pro:
1. Professional and helpful staff.
2. Spacious room.

Con:
1. It looked more like a hotel for business travellers, or tourist groups.
2. The decoration and facility of the hotel seems to be a little outdated.

Tips:
1. Beware of the taxi drivers waiting in the queue outside the hotel. Some of them charge you more than normal, and they don't keep promises.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ling Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks on business. It was convenient for my trip as my office is just a 10 minute walk away but also a good location for local bars and restaurants, several of which are just outside the gates. The staff were really super helpful, the room was clean and airy, with good bathroom, lots of hot water, working fridge, plugs and TV with a range of channels. Wifi and power also reliable. Free and unlimited bottled water provided in the room and I had a view of the pagoda from the window.

Breakfast was one of the best I've had in Myanmar with eggs cooked to order and plenty of fruit. Not good if you are expecting a five star hotel buffet but everything I needed.

It is a bit old fashioned but having stayed at other hotels in Myanmar I thought it was really decent. Maybe a bit pricey at $90 for a night if you are on a budget but on my last trip I payed just a little less for somewhere much worse! So I would say good value for Yangon.

My complaints were that the noise travelled a lot in the hotel - poor insulation! And the pillows were quite hard and uncomfortable - but I asked them to change them and they did. No gym.

2,000 kyat to Scott Market and pagoda, 3,000 kyat to Monsoon restaurant. Not bad!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts as they are noisy! View of the Pagoda from 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finners86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The staffs were very nice to us but the hotel is a bit older . Not such good value for the price , the location is not satisfactory but our room was alright , we enjoy the breakfast at the hotel but the service in the breakfast room not good . We went into the city , easy to get a taxi from the hotel .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demi x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped at the Panda , for a supposed medium priced accommodation. Prices here have obviously increased dramatically in the last two years. Now a basic room is $90 US for two single beds, a double is $120 and supreme is $150 US. The rooms are basic and overpriced, with the complementary breakfast quite poor.Door staff were great, but counter staff unhelpful, which is the first time we have found this in Myanmar .Stuffed full of Chinese business people, a stop , only if necessary and the prices listed we for July, their low season.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I found myself staying At the Panda my first night in Myanmar after not being able to secure lodging at more central location.
The hotel itself is aging at best but the staff are very friendly and obliging. My room was satisfactory and the breakfast was one of the best I had in Myanmar. Not in the most interesting part of town but safe. My only complaint is, even by Myanmar standards it is bloody expensive.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel has nothing special, no perfect location, not exceptional service, room are under standard for the price we paid. Front office staff, belong from the military era, with an extra touch of Chinese rudeness, doormen are very interested sitting and reading newspaper than providing help to the guests. Elevator look old, but they are working. Room are quite spacious with standard fitting, our bathroom was clean and water was hot, safety box in room. Breakfast on 2nd floor, with a Breakfast buffet, Asian food alright, but western side was quite dull and the minimum we can say was not tasty. As well restaurant's staff stroll around and give only a far away look at you, so please don't disturb them. The only pleasant person in the restaurant is an elderly man, who's care about guest !!. It look like the staff of this place has not noticed time changing. Location is not far from centre and activities, but you need taxi all the time to move around, street around the hotel are not properly kept and at night few light are seen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoba2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branc...
#18 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#23 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#24 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clover Hotel
Clover Hotel
#37 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
295 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#39 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Panda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Panda Hotel

Address: No. 205 Corner Of Wadan Street & Min Ye Kyaw Swa Road, Lanmadaw Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11131, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $55 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Myanmar Panda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Myanmar Panda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Panda Hotel Yangon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing