We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Myanmar Panda Hotel
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable base”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stopped for 3 nights, it is clean, quiet and has large rooms and plenty of hot water.
Free Wifi and a taxi to the centre was only 2 or 3 dollars. Restuarants within walking distance including the excellent Padorma.Friendly staff and adequate breakfast.

Room Tip: Away from Lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    88
    117
    16
    5
See reviews for
10
74
48
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this very impersonal and overpriced Chinese hotel during our last night in Yangon. We could easily book a room on Agoda's website and this is the main reason why we stayed at this hotel.
Rooms have old furniture, very hard mattresses and pillows. After I took a hot shower there was no more hot water for my husband. At breakfast everything looked to be cooked the evening before, eggs were cold and pancakes were really not good.
Taken into account the current hotel offer in Yangon this hotel can be a solution for one night if you don't find another place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smile83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

One night stay at this hotel with a tour group. Staff pleasant enough. I was told not a nice hotel but I found it very adequate and the room was quiet and pleasant and I was content. The hotel in a quite part of Yangon and central.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

When arriving there don't expect it to be a WWF ran hotel - they just borrowed the logo. We stayed there for two nights just upon arrival in Burma. The place is clean, has large rooms and nice staff in the reception. Breakfast is just about ok. Panda hotel is located a bit out of the very city centre in a residential neighboorhoud - you will probably need a taxi to get anywhere in town. Nothing fancy but a decent place to stay for your Yangon visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I’ve been coming to Yangon since 2010 and in my view the hotels are cashing in on the inflow of visitors to the country and lack of hotel rooms. Prices for hotel rooms in Yangon have been spiraling upwards and this hotel which used to charge US$30 is now asking $80. It certainly isn’t worth the $80. I wouldn’t consider it a 3 star hotel, not even sure if it warrants any star.

The rooms are old, the bed hard (and not the cleanest) and bathroom, well I’ll leave that to your imagination. I would only say I stayed there a night out of necessity and couldn’t wait to check out.

The saving grace is the staff is fairly courteous and helpful. Breakfast was comparable to the overall state of the hotel – it won’t kill you but you could probably do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twotencents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
576 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Panda hotel is OK it is a little dated and plain. The quite ordinary rooms were of a good size and kept clean. The hotel staff were obliging if you approached them and the reception staff efficient and helpful. The Panda is situated in a quiet area and is a 5 -10 minute taxi ride from downtown, with taxis readily available. The breakfast weren’t particularly good for Western tastes but seemed to have a good selection of Chinese and SE Asian food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simply-peregrinating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,168 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Not a three star hotel, more akin to a Chinese Guest House, only saved by the free availability of wi-fi throughout the hotel. Rooms are adequate and clean, but with rock hard pillows and very noisy air conditioning, make it nigh impossible to sleep !! Reasonable shower, but only use the receptacle for paper, in the bathroom !!!!! Staff are friendly, but the breakfast is inedible, A few reasonable restaurants nearby, Used by Tourist Groups, but is not a good start to a visit to Myanmar.

Room Tip: Acceptable if you are on a tight budget, otherwise go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
The RGN City Lodge
The RGN City Lodge
#53 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esta
Hotel Esta
#42 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Crown Hotel
Diamond Crown Hotel
#103 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taw Win Garden Hotel
Taw Win Garden Hotel
#19 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kan Kaw
Hotel Kan Kaw
#92 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Panda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Panda Hotel

Property: Myanmar Panda Hotel
Address: No. 205 Corner Of Wadan Street & Min Ye Kyaw Swa Road, Lanmadaw Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11131, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myanmar Panda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Myanmar Panda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Panda Hotel Yangon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing