We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Back Street Crawler
Melbourne, Australia

Very Good Mid Range Accomodation

Review of Panda Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 29, 2012
I found this hotel to be good value. It was clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. It wasn't too far out of downtown, just a short taxi ride or 30 minute walk. All in all a worthwhile experience
Date of stay: May 2012
Trip type: Traveled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$49
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $38
  • Official Site
    $58
  • Expedia.com
    $58
1.3 miles from Panda Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$58
  • Expedia.com
    $96
  • Trip.com
    $51
  • Official Site
    $110
1.0 miles from Panda Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$57
  • Expedia.com
    $55
  • Vio.com
    $47
  • Priceline
    $69
2.3 miles from Panda Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$65
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $116
  • Agoda.com
    $56
  • Hotels.com
    $116
2.2 miles from Panda Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
$64
  • Expedia.com
    $74
  • Melia.com
    $60
  • Priceline
    $74
3.3 miles from Panda Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$34
  • Priceline
    $78
  • Agoda.com
    $32
  • Expedia.com
    $39
1.3 miles from Panda Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
$64
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $63
  • Priceline
    $64
  • Hotels.com
    $64
2.7 miles from Panda Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$86
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $87
  • Trip.com
    $64
  • Agoda.com
    $71
3.4 miles from Panda Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$80
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $148
  • Vio.com
    $60
  • Trip.com
    $100
4.3 miles from Panda Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$25
  • Priceline
    $25
  • Agoda.com
    $17
  • Hotels.com
    $26
8.0 miles from Panda Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
18
96
132
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
18
96
132
19
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 270 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

A not to big hotel a little off the road but still oke.
Reasonable rooms but old could use some renovation. Same counts for there restaurant.
There breakfast is just oke.
For US$ 75 a day not what you may expect from similar hotels
in surrounding country,s like Cambodia or Vietnam.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ipong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

As non smoking hotel, the atmosphere is more fresh compare to other hotel with similar price in Yangon. The price it self is quit high compare to other country, but hey... this is Yangon... everything getting more and more expensive rather than a year ago.
The room is clean. They change the sheet everyday. They also prepare water boiler. It is help me who stay more than a week in Yangon.
Internet is available in each room but the connection is not stable.

Room tip: The hotel sets the price based on the view. The room with view to Shwedagon Pagoda is more expensive. Maybe it is good to see Shwedagon pagoda from 10th floor for the first time, but I think it's not really worth to pay more if you stay more than a night.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BwSad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

For the price they ask, this hotel is probably not worth it. Just to the west of the center of town, the area feels more like a construction site than part of the city. The rooms are clean, but the hotel and the staff are totally impersonal. Overall it was comfortable, but we prefer something with a bit of charm and this definitely wasn't the place.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankTult
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at the panda hotel for 1 night and it was a decent hotel at a fair price.
Location: The hotel wasn't necessarily close to downtown/other sites but taxi rides are cheap.
Hotel:basic rooms, fairly clean, wifi for free, good sized rooms. The bathrooms were a bit dated, our toilet wasn't flushing and the shower leaked. We told the hotel about the toilet and they did come fix it. It was quiet and we slept well.
Food: Breakfast was offered but we didn't get to try it as we left early the next morning.

Overall, this is a basic hotel that will meet most people's needs. Hotel staff are attentive and the price is good.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDMD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A Tripadvisor Member
Kihei, Hawaii
8996
Reviewed June 11, 2012

not doing are research better we ended up with the Panda Hotel. hotel rooms in Yangon were selling out quick and prices were jumping with just three weeks after grabbing our flights. happy to settle with any place for a nights sleep and a shower they turned out to be OK. a little FYI its getting popular here maybe a month in advance would be better.
the room had no thrills aside the view of Shenadagon Pagoda which is lit up all night so you can stare forever or sit back at the table in the room and enjoy some beverages. providing your facing this way, accross from our room I hear is a river view and you see the school and a football field. the aircondition was spotty in room 1002 but give it some time it will start to freeze you up good. that said the mini bar in this room wont get very cold. filling it with beers nightly they dont get very cold. there are two mini marts at a 5 minute walk to get cold beers for 1000 to 1300 kyat or you can order from your room at 2300 kyat a beer. beer, sodas, water and juices in the mini bar, no foods. we got an old school box TV with satelite coverage but it was storming good so lots of lost signals. still the storm was nice to watch and lightning along with thunder lasted a whole day of our stay. when the channels are working you get a good choice, Starz, HBO and the menu says you can request other chanels like super sports, animal planet, discovery, bbc, Thai 3 and on an on and on for free.
nice firm bed but only 2 pillows and likely you will have to give one up. interesting coat rack in the corner, we used it for fun. a digital safe with option buy a backup lock at the souvenier shop ( the safe is in an enclosed shelf and door that you can shut and equipped with hardware for a small lock). we were using Thai electronics so charging our phones and cameras was compatible. USA electronics will fit too. the bathroom has a small tub with shower and the shower pressure is good. it will take some time to fill the tub though.
location a bit away but got to tell you its really peaceful here. traffic is at a minimum and its so relaxing. they could really use a pool though as its so humid here. refreshing swims would be welcomed. free buffet breakfast daily but nothing but fuel for your day. eggs made to order, some kao tum and other chinese choices. toast, rice, kai khem and fruits. orange juice (sugar added) and water for beverages. free wi fi through out the hotel and it works pretty good. theres three computers in the lobby but all were down when we visited.
for the price of 75 dollars it was OK. we could get this room in Thailand for 30 - 40 dollars, so with the demand here comes the new prices. some peeling on the ceiling and we actually watched paint fall several times and laughed. its from the aircon blowing on it and somewhere along the line there was moisture damage. there was paint on the floor everyday but just something that we got over quickly. would recomend staying here for the quietness. close to the Pagoda as well. Taxi from the airport cost us 6000 Kyat and taxi to the airport we got for 5000 kyat. also you can walk to the Black Canyon Coffee shop in 20 minutes or a shopping mall in 10 to 15 minutes going the same route. lastly our flight wasn't till 6pm so we enjoyed the late check out they gave us, and everyone was friendly here.

Room tip: even number rooms on higher floors have a nice pagoda view
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A Tripadvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews