We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokers? go away !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Myanmar Panda Hotel
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smokers? go away !!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

As non smoking hotel, the atmosphere is more fresh compare to other hotel with similar price in Yangon. The price it self is quit high compare to other country, but hey... this is Yangon... everything getting more and more expensive rather than a year ago.
The room is clean. They change the sheet everyday. They also prepare water boiler. It is help me who stay more than a week in Yangon.
Internet is available in each room but the connection is not stable.

Room Tip: The hotel sets the price based on the view. The room with view to Shwedagon Pagoda is more expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BwSad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    88
    117
    16
    5
See reviews for
10
74
48
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

For the price they ask, this hotel is probably not worth it. Just to the west of the center of town, the area feels more like a construction site than part of the city. The rooms are clean, but the hotel and the staff are totally impersonal. Overall it was comfortable, but we prefer something with a bit of charm and this definitely wasn't the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankTult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at the panda hotel for 1 night and it was a decent hotel at a fair price.
Location: The hotel wasn't necessarily close to downtown/other sites but taxi rides are cheap.
Hotel:basic rooms, fairly clean, wifi for free, good sized rooms. The bathrooms were a bit dated, our toilet wasn't flushing and the shower leaked. We told the hotel about the toilet and they did come fix it. It was quiet and we slept well.
Food: Breakfast was offered but we didn't get to try it as we left early the next morning.

Overall, this is a basic hotel that will meet most people's needs. Hotel staff are attentive and the price is good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDMD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

not doing are research better we ended up with the Panda Hotel. hotel rooms in Yangon were selling out quick and prices were jumping with just three weeks after grabbing our flights. happy to settle with any place for a nights sleep and a shower they turned out to be OK. a little FYI its getting popular here maybe a month in advance would be better.
the room had no thrills aside the view of Shenadagon Pagoda which is lit up all night so you can stare forever or sit back at the table in the room and enjoy some beverages. providing your facing this way, accross from our room I hear is a river view and you see the school and a football field. the aircondition was spotty in room 1002 but give it some time it will start to freeze you up good. that said the mini bar in this room wont get very cold. filling it with beers nightly they dont get very cold. there are two mini marts at a 5 minute walk to get cold beers for 1000 to 1300 kyat or you can order from your room at 2300 kyat a beer. beer, sodas, water and juices in the mini bar, no foods. we got an old school box TV with satelite coverage but it was storming good so lots of lost signals. still the storm was nice to watch and lightning along with thunder lasted a whole day of our stay. when the channels are working you get a good choice, Starz, HBO and the menu says you can request other chanels like super sports, animal planet, discovery, bbc, Thai 3 and on an on and on for free.
nice firm bed but only 2 pillows and likely you will have to give one up. interesting coat rack in the corner, we used it for fun. a digital safe with option buy a backup lock at the souvenier shop ( the safe is in an enclosed shelf and door that you can shut and equipped with hardware for a small lock). we were using Thai electronics so charging our phones and cameras was compatible. USA electronics will fit too. the bathroom has a small tub with shower and the shower pressure is good. it will take some time to fill the tub though.
location a bit away but got to tell you its really peaceful here. traffic is at a minimum and its so relaxing. they could really use a pool though as its so humid here. refreshing swims would be welcomed. free buffet breakfast daily but nothing but fuel for your day. eggs made to order, some kao tum and other chinese choices. toast, rice, kai khem and fruits. orange juice (sugar added) and water for beverages. free wi fi through out the hotel and it works pretty good. theres three computers in the lobby but all were down when we visited.
for the price of 75 dollars it was OK. we could get this room in Thailand for 30 - 40 dollars, so with the demand here comes the new prices. some peeling on the ceiling and we actually watched paint fall several times and laughed. its from the aircon blowing on it and somewhere along the line there was moisture damage. there was paint on the floor everyday but just something that we got over quickly. would recomend staying here for the quietness. close to the Pagoda as well. Taxi from the airport cost us 6000 Kyat and taxi to the airport we got for 5000 kyat. also you can walk to the Black Canyon Coffee shop in 20 minutes or a shopping mall in 10 to 15 minutes going the same route. lastly our flight wasn't till 6pm so we enjoyed the late check out they gave us, and everyone was friendly here.

Room Tip: even number rooms on higher floors have a nice pagoda view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here in Nov 2011 for a total of 4 nights.
We booked the junior suite at a very cheap price, it wasn't located near any malls. The nearest mall was about 5-8 mins drive away. It's located off the main street, so it's advisable to cab as walking will take you about 10mins. Cabs are in horrible condition though, almost falling apart, dirty, and non air conditioned. The hotel staff are friendly, and the few of them that we spoke to, could speak decent english, and we met one who could speak mandarin.

The junior suite was spacious. Bedding was clean. Toilet was clean and had hot shower. The air conditioner in our suite was slightly erratic. Towels were clean. The room had a flat screen tv with quite a few channels, though reception for some ain't too great.

Breakfast at the hotel was very basic very few selections, and it had almost the same things over the 4 days we stayed. The hotel seemed to be a popular place for the locals to hold their wedding. Out of 4 nights we stayed, the hotel had 3 weddings. So, honestly the breakfast we had looked like leftovers from the wedding dinners.

Wifi in the hotel is painfully slow and could only be accessed at the lobby and breakfast area. Our suite was on the 11th floor, so we didn't have the connection in our room. Probably lower level rooms may be able to access better.

A good enough hotel, if you are on a budget. Quite old but still value for money.

Room Tip: Do take the Junior suite if you are staying in this hotel. It just cost a couple of bucks more, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elshjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Panda hotel is situated in a quite neighborhood just off the main road at Yangon. We were at the Junior suite and the two room suite was decently sized. The bathroom though small is quite clean and tidy.

There are not many facilities in the hotel, though the Wifi there is decent. The restaurant of the hotel looked almost dead when we visited it, but there are good eating options a couple of minutes' walking distance from the hotel.

The hotel is a good cost effective option for people who do not intend to spend much time at the hotel, but use it more for a good night's sleep after a tiring day out at Yangon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The Panda Hotel is located in the center of the city and a small walk will get you to the main road, although during day time metered taxis are always around, in the eveing might have to take the 5 minute walk to the main road. The price/quality is OK, although the rooms are a bit old, it is a good budget value for money stay. There is a convenience shop acrosss the street and breakfast in the morning was excellent compared to hotel quality. Most taxi drivers know the hotel so it is easy to find.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsianTravelGuru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
The RGN City Lodge
The RGN City Lodge
#53 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Crown Hotel
Diamond Crown Hotel
#97 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esta
Hotel Esta
#43 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kan Kaw
Hotel Kan Kaw
#96 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taw Win Garden Hotel
Taw Win Garden Hotel
#18 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Panda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Panda Hotel

Property: Myanmar Panda Hotel
Address: No. 205 Corner Of Wadan Street & Min Ye Kyaw Swa Road, Lanmadaw Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11131, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myanmar Panda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Myanmar Panda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Panda Hotel Yangon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing