We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Myanmar Panda Hotel
Ranked #57 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value, wonderful staff”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

As a popular hotel for tour groups, the Panda's lobby can be quite hectic. With a wedding and party hall on the top floor, staying on the 11th floor might not get you much peace. We were in a junior suite (room 1111) and could hear every drum beat and the music from a wedding one late morning.

However, on our second round, we stayed in a "Panda Suite"  (the suite with the Shwedagong Paya view) on the 9th floor (room 901)  with a wedding on (again), but no noise at all. We prefer this suite to the Junior Suite for its panoramic view. Superior rooms on the same side has the same but more limited view of the paya.  The rooms are quite spacious.

Though The hotel itself looks a bit faded, the rooms and bathrooms are clean. Breakfast is decent, with both Asian and eggs, toasts, and fruits.

The location of the hotel is close enough for a cheap taxi ride (1,500 - 2,000 kyats = US$ 2 - 2.50 to the main market or the Shwedagong. Very close to the hotel there are quite a few local street restaurants with a wonderful variety of  Myanmar curries which come with a nice plate of boiled veggies and a dip - 800 kyat (US$ 1) for a curry and rice. (Exchange rates are much better at the market.)

The best feature of this place is the staff who are courteous and very helpful. Though the desk seems to be busy all the time, they do make you feel welcome no matter what your problem is.

Overall it is a good value. We'll come back again.

Oh, most of the time the Internet here is so slow. But it could be the case for most part of Myanmar - like in Bagan, which is so slooooooooow. This might explain why an email contact with the hotel took longer than usual for a reply.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuangnoi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    88
    116
    16
    5
See reviews for
10
74
48
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

A good clean and comfortable hotel in a quiet area of the city. A relatively short taxi ride to the city centre - plenty of taxis available. Reasonable breakfast and good meals of Asian food. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good value. We had a suite but it was a bit of a waste as the 'suite' part was a lounge suite in a separate room. With the TV in the bedroom it got no use. Good view of the Shwedagon Paya from the window if a little distant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at the Panda. Spacious room, clean, mini bar, air conditioned with views to the Shewdagon pagoda. Hot water showers. Quite central. Walking distance to China Town, all other places of interest will cost 1500 kyats. There is a supermarket 10 mins walk from the hotel as well as coffee shops and a bakery. Buffet breakfast is not too bad. There is a free internet service but slow. You can bring guests in overnight without paying any extra charge. Taxi fare to the airport is 5000 kyats from the hotel All in all a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kuldip4034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I suppose it would be best to describe the Panda Hotel and a low level business/package tour place. You can't fault it on cleanliness, facilities and quality of service. The breakast was buffet style and extensive, there is free but slow internet access in the loby and they provide an currency exchange at a reasonable rate.
The room were functional, spotlessly clean and if you are on the upper floors quite a nice view. I paid $35USD for a delux room.

The downside is that it is out of town with few eating facilities nearby. However within 10 minutes there is a couple of late night stores, a pastry shop and 2 Chinese/Burmese/Western restauants at medium prices 2000-4000Kyat per dish.

The hotel on both occassions was used largely by Chinese package tourists. Due to the nature of tour groups there were periods in the morning and evening when the foyer was overflowing and the breakfast room packed. Plan your day around these times and you will have the place to your self.

Room Tip: Rooms to the North on floors 10 and 11 have excellent views. Southern rooms look out onto the office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I have been to Yangon 4 times, and this is the 1st time I stayed in Panda Hotel.
It is located right outside the main city square, within a quiet local neighborhood, yet an easy taxi ride of only 1,500-2,000 kyat to most places and attraction. There's also a new big shopping mall located just 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
I stayed is one of the Panda Suite for a week, and the panoramic view of the Shwedagon Pagoda is just magnificent to none.
The staffs at the front desk have been great, and the doormen are always smiling.
Best of all, internet service is free of charge.

Room Tip: The Panda Suite is definitely worth the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Club17Phuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in a spacious suite - lovely views.

Free internet downstairs
Quiet location.
Great Chinese restaurant ( named Panda - same family) next door. Eating here means you need not pay the10% food tax to the govt.

Taxi cost around 2000kyats to The Strand, Shwedagon - in 10 days in Yangon we found 2000 kyats was the price almost everywhere

Room Tip: The suites are excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcyokohama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My one night stay hotel, it's a bit old but well maintained in general. TV signal in my room is quite poor while my friend's room has no problem. I can smell a bit of cigarette odor in my non-smoking room in the morning. One free bottle of water is available and a bottle of mineral water costs 400 kyats. The buffet breakfast is acceptable and staffs are quite helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
The RGN City Lodge
The RGN City Lodge
#60 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esta
Hotel Esta
#39 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#17 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diamond Crown Hotel
Diamond Crown Hotel
#110 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taw Win Garden Hotel
Taw Win Garden Hotel
#19 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
295 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Panda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Panda Hotel

Property: Myanmar Panda Hotel
Address: No. 205 Corner Of Wadan Street & Min Ye Kyaw Swa Road, Lanmadaw Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11131, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myanmar Panda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, JovagoAsia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Myanmar Panda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Panda Hotel Yangon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing