We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great buffet breakfast, efficient staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Myanmar Panda Hotel
Ranked #61 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great buffet breakfast, efficient staff”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in a spacious suite - lovely views.

Free internet downstairs
Quiet location.
Great Chinese restaurant ( named Panda - same family) next door. Eating here means you need not pay the10% food tax to the govt.

Taxi cost around 2000kyats to The Strand, Shwedagon - in 10 days in Yangon we found 2000 kyats was the price almost everywhere

Room Tip: The suites are excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcyokohama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    88
    117
    16
    5
See reviews for
10
74
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My one night stay hotel, it's a bit old but well maintained in general. TV signal in my room is quite poor while my friend's room has no problem. I can smell a bit of cigarette odor in my non-smoking room in the morning. One free bottle of water is available and a bottle of mineral water costs 400 kyats. The buffet breakfast is acceptable and staffs are quite helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Picture this...we were booked on a trip to Tibet and China closed the borders to the TAR. We changed our travel plans and within a 24 hour period had flown from Beijing to Bangkok, picked up a Myanmar visa and were headed for Yangon with our heads in a collective spin. After picking up a 'non original' copy of a LP Myanmar in Bangkok we were a little the wiser but not alot! So, booking the Panda through Agoda was a good option - comfortable, good aircon, quiet and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, despite the last minute Agoda booking and us not having a voucher copy. Really nothing was too much bother. We checked in early - they gave us a room from 8.30am and charged us nothing extra. The room was fine for the $37 price tag - clean, air con worked well. Probably the only down side was that the hotel was a good walk or 10 min taxi ride out of the city centre. Breakfast was included and not bad - geared for the Chinese market but okay. For sure, if you're a backpacker you might head for the Golden Smile but that didn't look so flash and we were happy with our choice!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed in the top floor suite so cannot comment on the quality of the other rooms. The suite is fantastic though with views of the Holden pagoda and city. The hotel is near china town so you can easily o down the road (perhaps by taxi) and find s ome good Chinese food. Internet is free n breakfast is quite good. The hotel is also guest friendly... ID needed. staff are friendly and the hotel will also change money shoul you need to do o. Rat was similar to the Scott Market

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kpdkpdkpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Rooms are spacious with high ceiling and in good overall condition, equipped with a hot shower, a minibar, working AC and a TV set (signal seems poor av watching CNN it cut out frequently). The bed is large but on the hard side and so are the pillows so perhaps not the most comfortable sleep.

WiFi Internet is provided free of charge in the lobby, but being Myanmar, many (most?) websites are blocked by the government and I was unable to even access my email.

While I had an overall good experience at this hotel, the downsides are as follows:
-poor TV signal
-hard beds and pillows
-hotel in generally worn down condition (rooms are good)
-Restaurant (and therefore breakfast) is awful (I could not eat)
-You are relatively far from "downtown", about 30-40 min walk (taxis are available).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeTheAmmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

a small and neat hotel, bit further from Shwedagon Pagoda, Panda is a good choice for people who strive for tranquility

not that Yngon is a noisy place, yet Panda is a bit inside in between some lanes and away from main road,and offers quite surroundings and yet a sneak peak of the Shwedagon.

The staff were very welcoming.in fact I had 3 staff to accompany me to my room and offer me a welcome drink and switched on the TV set and faucet for the tub, to ensure me and check that all was ok.....they didnt even accept a tip, so I only gave half dollar tip (Kyat 200) to the bell boy who look genuinely happy and always willing to help.

I took a stroll down the opposite side towards the MyanmarCentral Station, which was around 10 minutes walk...quite and peaceful with curious onlookers wondering why a foreginer would be around here...away from the noise and the Sule and Shwedagon Pagodas....

The breakfast was sumptious and meals were hot and tasty and as mentioned earlier, the staff were very very helpful and even offered me a comprehensive map of Yangon (which I did find rare to find around when I looked earlier)

try it for a day or two if you want peace and traiquility in an anyway tranquil city....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gautammasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

It's a good value of money especially if you book the Junior Suite. It's spacious, clean and the wood elements in the room gives a warm ambience. The staff are helpful but don't really engage in conversation with guests. The hotel breakfast is rather average but again, when you hear reviews about other hotels in the similar range, this one should be a decent choice especially when you look for space and cleanliness.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemma1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
The RGN City Lodge
The RGN City Lodge
#58 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esta
Hotel Esta
#43 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Crown Hotel
Diamond Crown Hotel
#95 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#59 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#41 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Panda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Panda Hotel

Property: Myanmar Panda Hotel
Address: No. 205 Corner Of Wadan Street & Min Ye Kyaw Swa Road, Lanmadaw Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11131, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myanmar Panda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, JovagoAsia, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Myanmar Panda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Panda Hotel Yangon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing