We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, but basic”
Review of Asia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #73 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is centrally located, which is one of its main benefits. The bathrooms could use some updating, but I found them to be clean, and included toiletries. The staff at the desk speak good English, and seemed very eager to please, and to be helpful. On return to this hotel at the end of my tour, I did find a bug in the bed, and was immediately moved to another room which was free of bugs. The top floor terrace gives a wonderful view over the city, including Shwedagon Paya. They offer a large choice of both western and local food options, which changes from day to day. The rooms have mini-refrigerators, hair dryers are available upon request. Over-all, I'd say this is a reasonable option in Yangon. Book through an on-line company. The hotel's stated prices are over-priced for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms. Be sure to check the beds on arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 215 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This would've been a 1* review if we hadn't stayed here again at the end of our holiday in a different part of the hotel! We were extremely happy to be given a room on the 13th floor, large spacious room, double bed, nice bathroom etc. However, after traveling nearly 24hrs the least you want is a good sleep. This was not possible when at about 1am we were woken by the sound of rustling in the bin. I sat up just in time to see a rat run underneath the connecting door into the next room! Contacted reception, no spare rooms, porter came to room with a can of fly spray. Unbelievable! Only option was to put a towel in the gap under the door. After a terrible nights sleep we were away all day, came back to find the towel moved and all our snacks missing. Looked under the bed and saw a pile of food. Went to reception and luckily there was a spare room. No relaxation in 2 days, very poor. When we came back at the end for 1 night we were in a different part and the room was 100% better. Would not recommend to anyone unless you can guarantee being in the refurbished part.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank driff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel is in a good central location. I stayed here at the beginning and end of my tour. The first room (at the front of the hotel) was gloomy, dated and poor. One person had a rat in their room and were relocated. When I returned, I had a room at the back, which was quite different, light, modernised and perfectly acceptable. The breakfast on the top floor was akin to a student canteen - searching for crockery, chair and food. Best to ask for a picnic breakfast. The staff were pleasant and helpful. There is a money exchange in the lobby which is useful, but they like big denominations of pristine dollars.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a modernised room in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sooots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here at the start and finish of an Intrepid Travel Best of Burma tour. We did not stay at any good hotels on this tour; Myanmar hotels are more at the standard of Indian hotels than those in other south east Asian countries. This was one of the less-bad. The walk-in rate of the Asia Plaza was US$128 which is dear at half the price, but this is Burma so expect price-gouging.
The Asia Plaza is a centrally located high rise hotel with a clear-sided lift for views across Yangon. Most of the main inner city sights are within walking distance. The Bogyoke Market is in the same road. Just a block away is the Ruby Mart, an good local supermarket and department store on 5 levels, there is even a bakery near the entry and a food court on the top floor. They also have a good selection of beer, local wine and spirits.
Our first room was spacious and adequately clean. The bathroom was convenient, except that the shower over the bath was a nozzle on a hose and the shower bracket was missing AND there was no hot water. I am okay with cold water in a crumby $28 hotel, not in a crumby $128 hotel. We reported this to Reception and were surprised at how quickly a maintenance man arrived to attach a shower bracket. However the water was still cold. It took three complaints, the last to the Duty Manager who immediately had us transferred to another room which was not only less grubby but also had a flat screen television AND hot water.
Our room on returning at the end of our tour was a smaller and even crumbier room on the 11th floor. The window frame did not even fit in the space which gave one an odd sense of insecurity on the 11th floor. A door within our room was held shut with a folded scrap of paper. Curious, we opened it to find a shaft running pipes the length of the building.
The included breakfast buffet was served in a light and spacious room on the top floor with great views over Yangon. The buffet choices were adequate however this is a large hotel with many guests and the food was replaced on a very slow drip-feed system so many of the platters were empty or near empty at any given time. The fried eggs for example were replenished two at a time when there were up to 50 guests attempting to make their breakfast. I am unsure whether this was very bad organisation or an attempt to skimp on food.
If you are here as part of an Intrepid group prepare yourself, as this is one of the better hotels that you will experience. And just because the tour company is paying does not mean that you cannot request a better room if you are given a really crumby one.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was expecting this hotel to be the best in our 10 day tour of Burma. Whilst it is centrally located there is nothing else positive about this hotel. Our toilet wasn't working. We highlighted this to reception staff at midday, mid afternoon and early evening. When we returned later that night only the intervention of a Burmese friend ensured it was fixed. The sheets were dirty and when my friend woke the next day the bed was covered in blood from squashed bugs. A friend had a mouse visit her overnight who ate her biscuits. The breakfast buffet was also poor-they seemed unable to provide enough food for the arriving guests on the 3 mornings we tried it. Not to be recommended !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Spent a number of nights at this hotel. Our first night was spent in the "main" building (elevator access just at reception) and I have to say, the room was very basic. We were staying here as part of an Intrepid tour. This room cost us €100, so what you get for your money in Myanmar is very poor! The room was on the sixth floor, overlooking the main street/train station. All rooms facing streetside are very noisy. All rooms are very grubby and tired and in need to a good cleaning and a lick of paint. All in all it was fit for purpose.

NOTE: Two weeks later we stayed here again and this time we were given fantastic rooms!!! Freshly renovated and much more modern, very spacious and amazing bathrooms with contstant hot water. These rooms we not in the main building as such - they are accressed through a door to the left of reception via the elevator our there.

**If you can, ask for a room above as it makes all the difference to your stay**

Location:
The hotel is in a great location. Its right by the train station if you want to do the circular train trip, a short walk to the Scott Market, a short walk to the jetty (near the Strand hotel) if you want to venture across the river to Dala.

Room Tip: Pay the litte extra for the new rooms - its so worth it for a better sleep!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanMerrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed in Traders Hotel for two nights on business and then transferred to the Asia Plaza where I joined and Intrepid tour. We spent our first two nights and last two nights in the Asia Plaza. On the last two nights the rooms that we were allocated on Floor 8 and 9 were definitely better than our rooms for the first two nights which were on lower floors. It is a budget hotel but the rooms and bathrooms were a decent size. The air conditioning worked and the wi-fi was reasonably reliable. Good location with Scott's Market, Sule Pagoda, the Colonial area and the main Railway Station (for the circular train) all within 5 minutes easy walking. Breakfast was fine with a good range of asian and western food including eggs any way you want them. The Ruby Mart next door to the hotel is a very handy and decent little supermarket. If I was going back to Yangon on a budget I would stay here again. Staff are absolutely excellent. Hotels in Yangon are expensive and you can get a better standard hotel for the same price in other Asian cities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinerBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Laurel Hotel
Grand Laurel Hotel
#60 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#52 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eastern Hotel
Eastern Hotel
#120 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#42 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#65 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#57 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Plaza Hotel

Address: 277 Bogyoke Aung San St, Kyauktada | Corner 38th St, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $58 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asia Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Asia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Plaza Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Asia Plaza Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing