We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - an old building which needs updating.”
Review of Asia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #71 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My partner & I stayed here as part of our Intrepid Travel organised trip to Burma. We had no choice of hotel, as they booked it for us.
We stayed for two separate trips; one at the start of our holiday, the second at the end.
The first room on the tenth floor (Rm 1014 I think) faced towards the river and had a view of the slums nearby..not a great first impression. The windows didn't close, so the mosquito's were free to join us in bed each night which was delightful (especially I as I sat reading about all the diseases I could catch). The air con was rubbish (not cold, very noisy), the room was dull, the shower was weak, the room was basically dated and I'd give it 2/10.
The second room we had was on the eighth floor (Rm 805), which faced to the front of the hotel and gave views of the old trains outside and allowed us to listen to all the car horns at night. It was wonderful... To be fair, this room had a good shower and was much cleaner than the first. We were meant to have a double bed, but what we actually got was two singles pushed together, so it wasn't the most comfortable couple of nights. This room gets a 5/10 from me - better, but room for improvement.
The breakfast service is quite basic; dry bread each day and stale cereals. UHT milk as well, which tastes truly awful in tea & on cereals at the best of times. I guess they can't offer fresh milk as the electricity doesn't stay on long enough to cool the fridges! Don't get stuck in the lifts during a power cut on a hot & sunny day; you'll cook!

The only good thing which I must mention was the good service from all of the staff. From the helpful Security guard to the efficient and tidy room cleaning teams, I couldn't find fault with the staff. They clearly work very hard in difficult conditions and I was impressed. It's a shame their management don't give them a hotel to match their service standards - the staff should come to London and show some of the so-called posh hotels here what decent service is!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front give a view of the Pagoda and old train station/trains.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Asia Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 212 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed a total of 3 nights which was 3 too many, during our organized trip of Myanmar. When you enter the hotel it looks very grand but once you get inside the bedrooms its pretty basic. On our first night I got bitten by bed bugs so had to change rooms. Both rooms had a problem with the sockets, practically none of them worked. The kettle didn’t work and the air conditioning was intermittent. The rooms looked dirty with marked bed linen and curtains. The carpets looked like they needed a good scrub and the furniture was tired and broken. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied but the constant scurrying of rats under the table was a bit off putting. On the plus side we had a good view of the Shwedagon temple, the rooftop terrace was good for a beer or two and all of the staff were very friendly. It’s also very central. I think I saw on line it was around $100 dollars a night, which is far too much but I guess ours worked out cheaper as it was a package. I wouldn’t recommend it. You are better off spending half the money and staying at the Eastern Hotel which is a 15 minute walk away. A much smaller hotel but very clean and uptogether

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuking1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was in Burma on a organized tour so didn't have choice of the hotels. We had room on the 4th floor and had a problem with the aircon so moved on the 9th which was bit better. Bed linen and towels were clean but the room was covered in dust. Bathroom was also clean. Breakfast was not great.
However hotel was in excellent location and staff very helpfull so if your budget can't stretch a bit further nothing wrong with staying here for couple of nights. There is no swimming pool : (

They had rooms advertised in March as Deluxe $110 & Executive $126

Room Tip: Definitely 9th floor. Cleaner rooms and better view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoka06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our tour group was booked at the rather tired and dated Asia Plaza Hotel. Our first room was excellent but the second needed new carpet and a definite upgrade. Not the fault of the hotel, but the prayers and chanting that went on all night through a loudspeaker outside meant it was almost impossible to sleep even though the beds were comfortable! On the plus side, the staff at reception were incredibly helpful especially Nyi, we were able to leave luggage there while we were travelling and the internet worked slowly but was generally OK. There was a very good choice of food at breakfast with fantastic views of the city from the diningroom level but taking the lift there seemed to take forever.

The hotel is well situated and an easy walk to the markets, railway station, money changers and restaurants. However if you do take a taxi they're supposedly the cheapest in Asia!

With new hotels planned for the city, Asia Plaza should definitely be looking to upgrade its facilities to keep up with the competition.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our trip and then for one night at the end. The room we were first given was disgusting - dead flies in the bed!! We asked to move and were given a better room but that was still in need of upgrade. We had no hot water for the two nights but beds were OK and room quiet (at the back of the hotel)
We were not looking forward to coming back at the end of the trip but the room we were given had been upgraded and was much better (although at the front of the hotel and very noisy)
On a positive note - wi fi good and PC available for use in foya

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded one
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located for sightseeing in Yangon. Our room (4th floor) was a reasonable size: boring but ok; no problems with noise despite overlooking main road; efficient air conditioning; plenty of sockets, including one that took UK plugs. The bathroom was good - shower pressure good. When we arrived there was no kettle, but this deficiency was remedied without our asking. The beds were not made till the afternoon. The breakfast was poor - the Burmese options were lukewarm, greasy, and boring. The door staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ours was fine - 4th floor, facing main road.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Lobby plain and cold but adequate. Staff above average. Our first room had wet carpet from overflowing shower. Second room better but not great. Breakfast on top floor adequate at best, but the views up there are superb - be sure to go up there at night. Suggest checking out your room before you unpack - extremely variable in cleanliness and comfort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiceShotSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#52 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#51 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#62 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Laurel Hotel
Grand Laurel Hotel
#67 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Green Hotel
Silver Green Hotel
#116 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Star Guest House
Royal Star Guest House
#31 of 93 in Yangon (Rangoon)
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Plaza Hotel

Address: 277 Bogyoke Aung San St, Kyauktada | Corner 38th St, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $58 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asia Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Asia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Plaza Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Asia Plaza Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing