We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good rooms, but not efficient wifi”
Review of Asia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #61 of 152 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good rooms, but not efficient wifi”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wifi not properly working, especially in the rooms. Lobby’s hotel is small and not so nice and it’s where wifi works better (not so fast anyway).
Rooms are clean and they have a good breakfast service. Staff was really kind.
Good location in downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    52
    109
    30
    12
See reviews for
13
54
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in the Chatrium hotel previously, I can say that the Asia Pacific was terrible. We stayed in the superior level room and I dread to think what the standard rooms are like. Compared to Thailand or India, this hotel would be around $15 per night instead of $110 in Burma. Who knows which army generals pocket that extra money goes in, and for what purpose.

Anyway, although the hotel is in downtown, and has excellent views, there is nothing else worthwhile here. The room is old with old carpets, old walls and really poor quality. The tv channel had one channel that worked properly. The restaurant on the top floor which served breakfast was really bad for Asia - the food was old and bad quality. On the last morning I woke up with a cockroach running across the bed. The carpet looked like it had been used for a century and not cleaned. The cupboards were dirty inside. The hallways were old and smelly. The bathroom reminded me of poor villages I stayed in in India.

My advice would be not to stay here for any reason. As a regular visitor to the country, stay well clear.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank olfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Situated 40-45 mins from the airport, near Scott's market and a shopping centre the location is fine. I stayed in 2 different rooms: one large, internal with no windows and noisy (near the lifts), the other a lot smaller but with windows and quieter. OK room facilities although one had a kettle which was unusable because it had the wrong plug, one had a hairdryer, the other didn't. The hotel has insufficient lift capacity and with 15 floors you can wait a long time for a lift. Breakfast was poor, not a great choice of European food, bad sludgy coffee and food items ran out early and weren't replaced. There is a good view from the roof terrace area. On my second stay a male hotel employee knocked on my door at 4.30am and immediately used a master key to open my door before I had time to answer or reach the door. If I hadn't put the bar on the door he would have walked in.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a trip joining and ending hotel for Intrepid so I didn't pick it myself but the location was good, sheets were clean, hot water and AC worked so it did the trick. Nothing to rave about but a good basic hotel, if you don't have to pay too much for the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaitDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Asia Plaza is located in downtown Yangon. Hotel is past its prime and showing age, but the price is right and the facilities are adequate. Elevator, good beds, good shower. Our package included breakfast on the top floor, where the views are spectacular. Breakfast was excellent, including both Asian and American choices. Staff was uniformly helpful and knowledgeable. Be ready for crowded sidewalks in bad condition when you leave the hotel, but watch your step and enjoy the experience. People everywhere are friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoWithGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times now in 3 different rooms. All poor and in need of refurbishment. The staff are excellent, apart from the poor English of the reception staff. What exactly is the point of providing a kettle with an English style plug when there are no sockets it will plug into? The service lift is out of operation, so staff are using it all the time resulting in waits of 5 to 10 minutes for the lift. The food is decidely mediocre. I will definitely not stay here a fourth time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyShouldIStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was there with a group and lots of the small things were lacking. Only half of us got their wake up calls but the staff are very cheerful. Rooms a little tired, bare wiring in my bath room, room clean-ish, breakfast somewhat random, didn't want to eat dinner here. The streets looked more appetizing. Literally a place to put your head down.

Room Tip: Book another hotel if you can. The area is good and handy for all areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambitiousmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#52 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#58 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Laurel Hotel
Grand Laurel Hotel
#63 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#51 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Green Hotel
Silver Green Hotel
#112 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#36 of 152 in Yangon (Rangoon)
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Plaza Hotel

Property: Asia Plaza Hotel
Address: 277 Bogyoke Aung San St, Kyauktada | Corner 38th St, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 152 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asia Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Asia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Plaza Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Asia Plaza Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing