We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Asia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #64 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
mangalore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel which is in the heart of Yangon. Close proximity to markets and also there is a shopping Mall Ruby Mart next to the hotel. Also the train station is in the front of the hotel. The hotel is very old. The room is also old but adequately furnished . I stayed on the 8th floor and had a good view of Myanmar at night when the Pagoda is lit up and also it was their festival so lot of firecrackers being lit in the night.

The bed was a king Bed and was OK. Breakfast is served on the terrace and is adequate with fruits, eggs to order juices, and of course the soups and rice etc although the variety is not as much as in other 5 star hotels like Traders or Park Royal where I stayed earlier.

The room tariffs have skyrocketed now that the Myanmar economy is opened up and there are conferences/seminars held in almost all the hotels for which the guests travel from other countries to attend. Also a lot of tourist traffic which has made the tariff increase almost threefold. Also due to the Airlines increasing their capacity by introducing bigger aircraft to meet the demand,you need to spend more time at the immigration counters.

I can only conclude that this hotel is value for money at the present moment as rooms are hard to get nowadays in other hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knhegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    52
    109
    30
    12
See reviews for
13
54
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We used this hotel as an entry and exit for our recent holiday to Myanmar.

Asia Plaza has a couple of floors that are renovated and these are really nice. The other floors are quite terrible, damp and have an odor. My request to the hotel would be to dehumidify these rooms and freshen them. Location wise this is an excellent location with Ruby Mart - a super market just around the corner. Getting to the various attractions from here as well as from and to the airport was quiet convenient.

The staff were very helpful and apologetic for the condition of the rooms that were not in good order. There was nothing left to be desired from the staff - management must consider required investments.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated floors. The family room that houses 5 may be useful to larger families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrategyIdeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We 24 ladies stayed @Asia Plaza the first 2 nights and the the last night in Myanmar.
What i would like to write about is the service of the staff. One room had problem with the flush another didn't know to change the AC temp. both were taken care of immediately.
We had done a lot of shopping and needed cartons[cardboard] The staff went out of their way and supplied us with various cartons from the hotel. To me this was something out of the ordinary. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shobharai126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
1,030 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is located very well - in fact, on the main street of Yangon, near the Sule Pagoda and the famous Scotts Market with its rubies and saphires. Behind the building you can find street market of a decent size. Famous Shwedagon pagoda is within walking distance, but it is better to get there by by public bus. But we went by taxi - in Yangon taxi is in principle inexpensive. Shwedagon and many attractions in Yangon are clearly visible from the roof of a 16-storey building. On the penultimate floor there is the restaurant where we had breakfast. The rooms are quite spacious. Equipment inside is in working condition. If your room is above the middle of the building, the noise from the railway hardly felt. However, the rail service in the country is far from intensive. Nearby there are supermarket, outdoor cafes, shops, currency exchangers - almost everything what tourists need in a foreign city, and even beyond that. But the staff practically doesn't know foreign languages. Even at the reception desk the managers speak English with great difficulty. In addition to it they are a little stubborn. I asked them to call AirAsia office to inquire about the departure of our flight. Instead of call the boy behind the desk began to convince me that any flight delays were impossible in Yangon. Not called. As a result, when we arrived at the airport, we had to wait another two hours because of late retiming of the flight.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gentbrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Let's face it, you don't visit Myanmar for its state-of-the-art technology or something like that. So given that, this hotel is very good actually. Value-wise especially. When we stayed here, the rooms had just been painted. We are used to pretty high standards but we had no reason to complain here. And we love to complain haha. If you travel deeper into Myanmar then this hotel is in my opinion a great way to get started.

The location is great, and they even have wifi I think. Well what do you know.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnodar, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The 16-storeys building of the hotel is one of the tallest in Yangon. From its windows famous Shwedagon pafoda is well seen. The hotel is located on the city main street close to the Scotts-market. Supermarket is just nearby and street market behind the hotel building. But in late evening almost all the cafes and shops near the hotel are closed. Spacious rooms. Bathroom is the real bathroom, not a shower-room, like most often in Asia. Courteous staff. Breakfast on the rooftop - a buffet, a little similar to dinners. There is a good choice of soups and main dishes. Fruits: papaya, banana, pineapple.
I can also note among the hotel particularities equidistant location from the major attractions. Though there is ten minutes by walk to reach well-known Sule pagoda.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed hered after being told the Panorama was full, when we returned from Inle Lake even though we had booked, and was pleasantly surprised. The room was cheaper than Panorama and was in much better condition. (I must say here though there was renovation going on and some of the unrenovated rooms we were shown first we ancient and stained. The air conditioning worked well and in the morning had to leave early to catch plane so they put on breaksfast for us before time. They also arranged the cab to get us to the airport. The front desk were extremely helpful and provided.

Location wise this hotel is just around the corner from the markets and railway station etc. Still a cab ride from Swhedegon Pagoda and the lake though.

Bad point is the unairconditioned lift which locks aromas in.

Room Tip: Asked to see several rooms as some have already been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tumbuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#53 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Laurel Hotel
Grand Laurel Hotel
#62 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#52 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#59 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Green Hotel
Silver Green Hotel
#113 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#45 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Plaza Hotel

Property: Asia Plaza Hotel
Address: 277 Bogyoke Aung San St, Kyauktada | Corner 38th St, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asia Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Asia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Plaza Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Asia Plaza Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing