We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eastern Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eastern Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yangon (Rangoon)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eastern Hotel
Ranked #73 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eastern Hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here on arrival in Yangon then left a suitcase in storage for 10 days before returning for our last 2 nights. This was convenient. We found the hotel simple but totally satisfactory in every respect. The staff were friendly and helpful and ready to assist with finding a taxi or whatever else we requested.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corsockalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    58
    47
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
43
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, room was comfortable (beds hard like rest of Asia but otherwise comfortable).

Power was consistent throughtout our stay.

Daily breakfast was good. I tried both western and local foods, I recommend trying the local breakfast, it was tasty and filling.

A little walk or cheap taxi away from sights and restaurants but makes up for the distance by being a lot cheaper than other hotels in Yangon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Upon my arrival, I was greeted with a stenched floor odor. I do think the floor mob needed to be changed, or not to use the same mob for toilet and the floor.
Yes, rooms are clean, and spacious and good wifi on 1, 2, and 3rd floor. Various TV channels from Chinese to Japanese and English plus the local channels, even though the TV image quality was not as good.air condition works wonderfully.
Bedsheet could be better as during 2 of my 4 night there, my bed sheet had linty feeling. The bed was the traditional chinese hotel quality hard bed, giving me the backache. Breakfast is simple and sufficient but the orange juice was of the interior quality. There are fresh fruits on breakfast corner, however.
All staff are excellent, especially ik ik and cho cho. They communicated well in English and very enthusiastic to assist for traveling outside Yangon.
My room had no international three pin plug and bathtub as seen on the pictures posted on the web and I was told all rooms were the same from the reception.
My bathroom toilet sewage cloaked and I notice water with fecal matter seaping out to the main bath drainage hole area.
Hotel owner, please spend more effort in keeping a better sewage system and keep the front lobby clean.
Being a budget hotel does not mean creating an inferior room. The staff service was excellent and I was always greeted with a sincere smile from the heart

Room Tip: floor 1, 2, 3 get good wifi. Front rooms are noisy , take the back room with no view instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inxpekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel replied promptly to our email enquiry, allowed an early check in as we had arrived by bus at 5.30 am. The staff were very helpful, we had a nice hot shower and the room is basic but adequate for a brief stay.

Room Tip: Our room looked onto a brick wall on the first floor of the property it did not bother us but may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Hotel is okay but maybe it just me that not used to the jaded and old type look of the furniture, beds and mattresses, surroundings. Dining area plain simple but old/aged. Not brightly lit, giving me a depressed feeling. Same feelings while in the room. Bathroom do not come with exhaust ventilation but just mere window/glass and covered with screen net. Overall, hotel looked quite old and run down but its clean and friendly staff. Bonus is the lift. Breaky is fixed western style - 2 eggs, bacon/chicken, toast, coffee/tea/juice or ask for local dish (did not try).

AC is okay, water pressure great but its not consistent of having warm water coming out as sometimes its cold sometimes its hot. Water pressure too great til it felt pain when the water 'pricked' on to your body. And can always hear the pressure noise it made in the morning from the bathroom.

Location wise, for me, its a bit out from the bustling area and the road in front is quite dead at night. Good money changer across the hotel at USD to 966Kyat. I changed in the hotel on the first day at USD to 930kyat. Turn right from the hotel and at the intersection, turn left, there is a decent supermart located at the corner called City Mart for your daily necessities. Other than that, it was okay for two nights sleep but will not return.

Pro : Clean room, AC ok, strong water pressure, room in front with window facing road usd65+bf

Cons : Looked jaded, old, not brightly lit, giving a distressing environment ( my personal opinion).

Room Tip: Room at the back has window that opened up to faced a wall. Rooms in front windows faced the road. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy2008_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed about 10 days and was quite satisfied with the experience. The room was simple, but clean, good bed, good bathroom, TV and free internet.
Included breakfast was limited to eggs, toast and banana every day.
Staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Rooms with no view except a brick wall are cheaper, but quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

i am staying this hotel since 2.5 months tentatively, nice hotel, all peoples are very helpful, manageable, the big thing is they allowed me to stay with credit of 10 days, because i had some problem to pay them, but they pleasantly managed. thanks to them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.7 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#80 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Laurel Hotel
Grand Laurel Hotel
#65 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Green Hotel
Silver Green Hotel
#91 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Pearl Inn
Ocean Pearl Inn
#92 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#33 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orchid Hotel
Orchid Hotel
#54 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Hotel

Property: Eastern Hotel
Address: 194/196 Bo Myat Tun Street, Pazundaung Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Eastern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel !Located at the heart of Yangon. Within walking distance from Sule Pagoda. Yangon Port, Botahtaung Pagoda, Bogyoke Aung San Market, Central Railway Station, Offices, Shops, Markets and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastern Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing