We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$39
View deal
Hotels.com
$39
View deal
Priceline
$36
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/21
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Travelocity$39
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
9
32
46
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9
32
46
11
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 103 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed two times at the Alfa Hotel. Firstly in December 2012 when we entered Myanmar. Roomrate $ 83 including breakfast through Agoda. Staff is nice and tries their best but speak overall little English, staff has little knowledge within the concierge department (arranging flighttickets, businformation etc), rooms are so so, location is perhaps the best unique selling point since it is within walking distance from the Swedegon Paya and Bogyoke Aung San Market. The Sapphire Rooftop Terrace is also great, stunning views over Yangon! Food is good ( breakfast is great) and not to expensive. We learned from staff that the hotel reopened in 2012 (August?) and the owner is a Birmese-Chinese businessman.

The second time is right now (11-13 January 2013), through Agoda we were offered $ 105 including breakfast and taxes, by booking at the hotel we managed to knock $ 10 off. This was when we made the reservation during our first visit. Per the 1st of January 2013 to our interpretation the Food and Beverage prices have gone up by 20% (we are sure beverage prices have at least risen by 20%), billing to your room number is no longer possible, cash payment in de restaurant is required (why?). On check in we were given the wrong room and when we finally received the double room with king size bed we specifically requested at the time of booking we found out that the bed was made up with used sheets. Everything was solved in the end but all together we are disappointed. Especially since we can now compare to the average level of quality and service in the rest of the country.

Overall we would not consider staying at this hotel again if rates do not drop to $ 65 or less. However all the hotels in the area (and suburbs) that appeal to us were fully booked when we enquired so we had no choice.

Room tip: If you decide to stay, ask for a room on the upper floors (where the ceiling is high enough to walk through your room whilst being straight up. I am 1.90m tall and the first time we had a room on the 6th floor. The ceiling in de middle of the room was appr. 1.85 m high).
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanMartinTimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have travelled with family in december 2012, The hotel was very expensive especially given the grotty rooms. Positive points: good location between centre town and swedagon pagoda and nice view over the pagoda from basically all rooms and the vicinity of the market behind of the hotel

Room tip: higher floors for a view on swedagon pagoda
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred o
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Yangon at the moment is still much lacking in its infrastructure and tourists orientated fascilities compared to other SEA countries. To find a good quality hotel at a low price is almost impossible. Alfa Hotel to me is the one with relatively affordable room rate and acceptable quality.
Its location is good, within walking distance to Scott market and Schwedagon pagoda (30 min walk).
Nearby eateries are plenty, street hawkers are seen everwhere, as long as you have an iron stomach to try them out.
Taxi is always available at the doorstep and at reasonable rate.
The front desk staff are super helpful, esp Mr Khin, who had helped us in sorting out our itinery.
The breakfast is simple but tasty.
The room is quite small but no big deal unless you plan to spend most time in.
And for those who plan to visit Myanmar, I would advise you to change USD to local currency in Airport, which in contractradictory to many other comments given, offered the highest rate (1 USD: 848 kyat) which is higher than hotel rate (barely 810 kyat) and those money changer in downtown.

Room tip: Lower floor if u wish not to climb stairs. The lift is slow at stop at even floor only.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Good location budget hotel decent breakfast but not much vegetarian choices. Free WiFi is a plus. Scott Market and Shwedagon pagoda nearby. They take cash $50 bucks deposit upfront. Nice view if Shwedagon Pagoda from the rooftop terrace.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fulldistance
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Hotels in Yangon are relatively expensive compare to other south East Asian countries like Thailand or Vietnam.

I have stayed in 2 quite affordable hotels in Yangon and found that this hotel offered much value than the others. At least they don't charge us wifi Internet access like other hotels in Myanmar would want us to pay.

Also, the hotel was also not looking tired and run down like the other hotels.

Overall my stayed in this hotel was a satisfactory one.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews