We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Price for Yangon / Myanmar, Efficient staff, free wifi”
Review of Alfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alfa Hotel
Ranked #96 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is in a great location close to Pagoda and other hotels in the Yangon city center. Rooms are comfortable and clean but don't expect more than basic. The price was very competitive for Yangon as hotels try to get expensive. Together they have twin rooms which is good for friends traveling. Internet and breakfast was free with very good airless connection. The staff was very efficient for Asia and always smiling.

Room Tip: Get the rooms not facing the main road as they are more quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarricsBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Alfa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 99 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a good mid-range hotel, off the main street (so somewhat quieter) in a central part of town. Just a short-ish walk from he main pagoda. Good rooms, comfortable beds, slightly older (so noisy) a/c units, very clean and comfortable. Passable breakfast buffet is included. Has a cozy bar downstairs off the lobby. Exceedingly competent and friendly staff. Overall, a solid choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Public areas seem to have been renovated so give an OK first impresstion, But the rooms have not been - poky, not secure (loose-fitting door handles), and dirty, with a bathroom that would hardly have been acceptable in a 1 star hotel. If the outrageous $95.night hadn't been paid in advance (and you're asked to pay a deposit on check in in case you eat or drink anything), I would have walked out. Owners that probably hope that the naturally warm and friendly staff will save them from negative reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 909CSTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights september 30th. Very friendly staff, did everything they could to answer all our questions, their english was ok. The whole place in need of a makeover, and the breakfast could be better, but the location is great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladefoged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights in October 2012. The hotel's location is good for sightseeing and for the town. The staff were helpful and professional. The hotel is not particularly modern but it was clean and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatrickSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel has some good sides and many disadvantages. They charged me 85 US $. Very poor value for this high price.
good:
- central located
- spacious room
- silent
- free internet
- linnen clean

bad:
- slow internet
- very old, not renovated hotel, all equipment is maybe 30 years old.
- cyling is low, only about 2.10 m. u feel like in a cave.
- dirty walls, dirty floor
- buffet breakfast, choice no big
- staff not greets, staff not helpful: check-out: i had big suitcase and big backpack. 5 staff passed me, 1 greeted, noone helped.
- 1 small lift. long waiting if many guest check in or check out..

MOST IMPORTANT:
- the hotel is not safe in the case of fire or like this:
--> there is only one, very small staircase /wide about 1 m. the staircases are covered with carpet. There is NO emergency-exit. there are NO signs how to get out of the room. no alaram-bells.if there is a fire, the plastic-carpet and the wooden cyling will burn like hell. and it s high house, 10 floors...

conclusion: if they would ahve charged, 30, 40 Dollars, then o.k. But for 85 US $ it s totally overpriced. don t go there

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theodor111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I don't think it was the hotel's fault as much as Agoda, which is generally a good indication of the type of property. This is a two star hotel that has a good view of the pagoda at nights, but is also 2 kilometers away from the pagoda--could be 1.5. The waterstains on the ceiling, musty smells and if you are allergic to dust or mildew or mold, just stay away. This was a mistake for me because I normally stay in four star properties, but the view and price attracted my attention and the ability to prepay via agoda. However, in retrospect, if you can afford Traders, just pay up and get the executive floor which will save you for dinner elsewhere.

Also beware of the hot water here. If you can handle boiling water, then you are OK. If not, make sure you turn on the cold water first and slowly the hot water. It's the hottest water I've ever had coming from a tap.

Just do yourself a favour and stay away. Breakfast was pretty poor also.

Room Tip: If you must, a view 1.5km at night might make you a bit cheerier for $7.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hughsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Yuzana Garden Hotel
Yuzana Garden Hotel
#116 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#41 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#59 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
York Residence - Bed & Breakfast
York Residence - Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfa Hotel

Address: No. 41 Nawaday St. | Yawmingyi Qr, Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: $66 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alfa Hotel, founded in 1996, is now renovated and ready to welcome guests from all around the world to The Golden Land once again. Strategically located in the heart of Yangon, Alfa Hotel is situated right in the central area of the city. While providing quick access within walking distance to many of the city's famous attractions, such as the Shwedagon Pagoda, the Sule Pagoda and the Scott Market, it also offers a serene environment for our guests to rest. Some of the rooms share the beautiful scenery overlooking the famous Shwedagon Pagoda. Alfa Hotel strives to provide excellent service to our guests, making this the perfect place for business travelers and tourists. Alfa Hotel has preserved the glorious time this country once had for the guests. Travelers who stay with us will be taken back in time, surrounded in an environment that compliments Myanmar's rich history and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Alfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing