We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean Pearl II = great value for price, very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Pearl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Pearl Inn
Ranked #97 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ocean Pearl II = great value for price, very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Ocean Perl Inn II and really enjoyed it.
The staff was super friendly and even assisted in organising a birthday cake and planning our trip. The hotel was clean, calm and well located. One could reach the most important places by foot or pay around 1500 to get to the shwe dagon. They offer decent internet access and the continental breakfast was great.

If you had to choose between Ocean Pearl Inn and Ocean Pearl Inn II, then chose the latter!

Room Tip: We took room #1, which has a balcony and windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrDav1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    84
    96
    34
    21
See reviews for
14
103
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

After read reviews at tripadvisor, we spent our first night at this hotel in Yangon. Indeed it was nice that they offered airport pickup service for free. However we realized they gave us the worst rate to change our USD to local currency after the trip. I think after all the pick up service is not for free! The male staff here are not friendly. The whole place smells bad and our room is not clean. Absolutely they need to paint the dirty walls soon. The bed was terrible and we could not sleep. After 9 days round trip, we came back to this hotel, because we had booked before the trip. We complained about our bed during the first night, they gave us another room. And that room smelled really bad. And we asked to change again and they said no more rooms. At the end we simply left the hotel (luckily we did not pay yet) and moved to the guest house next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jingqiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently spent three nights at the Ocean Pearl Inn and had a great stay.
We were met at Yangon airport and driven straight to the hotel. Although it was still only 10 am they had a room ready for us: it was clean, quiet and well equipped, although not exactly stylish.
The staff and owner were extremely helpful - providing us with maps of Yangon, changing some money and booking our onward bus tickets and hotel.
The hotel is slightly out of the centre, but taxis are cheap and plentiful if you don't want to walk into town. There are plenty of places to eat and drink in the local area: do try Lucky Seven teashop if you can: the food and service are lovely.
Overall Ocean Pearl is a good budget option, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1bsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is far from the city centre but it is not too bad considering there are restaurants, pogada, night markets within the walking distance. The room is clean but with no window and little bit smelly of the toilet.The price also includes one free – airport pickup, which can save you 7000 Kyats, and a good breakfast.
Overall, we enjoy our stay in here so much and we goanna miss the staff so much! ( we have a good interaction ! )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenmen1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, California
Level Contributor
1,602 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 699 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Rate included airport pick up and breakfast. When we were there the rooms were very much in demand and the owners opened a second hotel ( Aung Si Hotel) near the street market.
Good location close to attractions and downtown businesses. Easy walking distance to several restaurants. Our room was upstairs in the front with windows. Staff was very friendly and helpful with good tour recommendations. Free WiFi.
We returned for a second stay 2 weeks later and they were booked so they opened a room for us in there nearly completed second hotel. Yes it is somewhat noisy staying above the night market but also very interesting sites and food available in the market.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room at the front of the hotel and it had windows. The hotel is accessible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seafare74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed there a couple of days ago, a real backpacker's place, very friendly and helpful staff, the rooms were clean enough, but in my case the TV didn't work. Only thing I didn't like that there were no windows in my room (actually there were, but with a brickwall built 1 inch in front of it), it seems only the (few) rooms facing the street have windows, most rooms are in the back of the house... I had to check out very early, around 5:30 a.m. but got served a breakfast incl. coffe and toast, which I really appreciated... Would come again, in case I could get a room with windows. Btw. there's a really nice chinese restaurant just 4 houses away (to the right) which serves Myanmar draft beer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLJM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in Ocean Pearl II (NOT the same as Ocean Pearl - it's a sister hotel) - and we stayed twice, one week apart. The place was situated right by a small street market, with a buzzing bustle of local food sellers in the mornings. The rooms were clean and en-suite (although some are windowless). Breakfat was simple but wholesome - 1 egg, 2 pieces toast, jam, 1 banana, coffee. Good free wifi in the rooms, fast enough for Skype (rare in Myanmar!). Main reason to stay: wonderful staff - friendly and helpful; they even drew us an entire walking tour of the city going by all the specific things we wanted to see. This is by no means a luxury place - but was great value for Myanmar, and a really welcoming place to start and end our trip.

Room Tip: I forget the room number - but the room next to reception has windows and a balcony, where others do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#79 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#62 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.0 mi away
New Yangon Hotel
New Yangon Hotel
#92 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel 63
Hotel 63
#30 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
#80 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eden Palace Hotel
Eden Palace Hotel
#134 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pearl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pearl Inn

Property: Ocean Pearl Inn
Address: No. 215 Botataung Pagoda Road, Pazundaung Tsp., Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Pearl Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Pearl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pearl Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Ocean Pearl Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing