We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much expectation”
Review of Ocean Pearl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Pearl Inn
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not much expectation”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed there for our first night in Myanmar trip, it is just provide a basic need with 3 channels TV in the room... what to expect for 10USD per person for twin sharing including breakfast and private bathroom?
The location is quite, a bit far from downtown, one departmental store near by and we had our satisfied meal 2200kyats for one pork noodle soup, there is many ideal local restaurants and bars for tourist if you willing to try local things.
The owner quoted us USD4 per min call to Malaysia, there is no international roaming. Hence I went to near by internet café just 400kyats for ½ hour.
There was no hot water supply for the bathroom; it happened the same for my friends in another room, further more there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Electrical supply is not stable during mid night, the air-cond on and off is annoying, we didn’t sleep well.
The breakfast is normal, but is satisfied for us.
The owner help us to arrange private taxi to airport in the next day morning which cost us 10000kyats, it made us feel cheated compare what we get after that.
I would recommend to stay in White House Hotel in downtown.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeilekHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    85
    98
    34
    21
See reviews for
15
105
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We are backpackers in our twenties and very easygoing, but our experience in this hotel was so bad I had to create a tripadvisor account.

Stayed here last week for one night. Had planned to stay for two nights but the smell of damp and other unidentifiable smells was so overwhelming we had to move hotels.

They leave the doors of the rooms open before you check in so when you do the smells aren't so noticeable, but after the bedroom door has been closed for 10 minutes you will begin to get a headache from the smells. Really bad. Tried a few rooms but they were all awful.

There were pretty disgusting stains on the walls in the rooms as well and the rooms were rife with mosquitos. Got bitten more that night than the rest of our three week trip in Burma.

Not sure why people say the breakfast here is good. Maybe it used to be but it certainly isn't anymore.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

This was much better than I expected for $10 with breakfast in Yangon. This is located about 10-15 walk east of centre. The room had 2 single beds, new A/C unit, comfortable and quiet. Only problem is most rooms do not have a window.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Almost all backpackers rush to Motherland Inn 2 in Yangon, making all others cheap hostels / hotels far less visited.
We have never visited the Motherland Inn and therefore cannot compare.
But I would say Ocean Pearl Inn itself is a nice place to stay, especially if you are looking for no-frill and cheap place in Yangon.
The owner and staff are friendly. Room is basic and clean. Hot water is sufficient while we stayed and air conditioner works perfectly as well.
Location wise, it's better than Motherland (i.e. closer to Sule Paya), though it still takes 10-15 mins walk (or a short taxi ride) to there.
They provide free airport pickup upon your international flight arrival, which saves you at least a few USD right away.
Also the owner has provided us the early breakfast at around 5:xx in the morning for us as we need to rush for early domestic flight.
Overall speaking, thumbs up.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankyDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed in Ocean Pearl when I arrived in Yangon on 11 Dec 2010 for a night. I booked one triple room for my 3 adult friends ( US20), 2 double bed rooms for 2 adults and 4 kids (US15 each room). The rooms were clean. The bathrooms were very new and clean, with good hot shower. I booked rooms on 21 Dec 2010 for my return journey from Kalaw. Even I reached Yangon at 12.30 am, but they still reserved the rooms for me. We leave early in the morning to Shwedagon Pagoda at 5.00am at the same day; they opened the gate for us without any annoying. The staffs are very friendly. They were not calculative, they let us stayed in a triple bed rooms instead of double bed rooms, without paid extra.
I have read the previews from other travelers, some have good commands and some have bad commands. I did check my room for bugs, but there aren’t any. Thanks to Ocean Pearl staffs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed 1 night in this guesthouse. Good value for the $15 I paid, nicely located, spotless clean room and bathroom with vert simple decoration. Lacks character due to limited, unfurnished common areas and has no internet, other than that it is a good alternative to Motherland Inn 2. Nice walk to Botataung paya.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homme_Libre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2010

It is a small hotel with nice staffs who can speak fair good english

the room is quite dry compared to other room i stay in myanmar, generally speaking value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliethan1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#78 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#63 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
185 reviews
2.0 mi away
New Yangon Hotel
New Yangon Hotel
#97 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
#79 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eden Palace Hotel
Eden Palace Hotel
#134 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orchid Hotel
Orchid Hotel
#58 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pearl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pearl Inn

Property: Ocean Pearl Inn
Address: No. 215 Botataung Pagoda Road, Pazundaung Tsp., Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Pearl Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Pearl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pearl Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Ocean Pearl Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing