We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sultani
Nearby Hotels
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Memling(Kinshasa)
$250
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pour Vous(Kinshasa)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Selton(Kinshasa)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leon Hotel(Kinshasa)
$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Havre de Paix(Kinshasa)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Invest(Kinshasa)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
9
16
20
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
16
20
6
4
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 55 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The impression you get when you first enter the hotel lobby is great. Unfortunately, the same is NOT true when you leave the lobby area and go to your room:(

I have to agree with most of the reviewers here that bathrooms are old, smelly and equipped with cheap accessories. Towel wasn't clean and I had to get a second one which was a bit cleaner but had stain marks. Only stayed two nights in Kinshasa and based on what I heard from colleagues there, this is one of the best hotel so I'd lower my expectations during my next visit. I'd give it 2+ star ratings overall. Buffet breakfast had good variety on the plus side :)

Room Tip: Turn the A/C on and observe the noise before you let go the bell boy. The room that I initially got on 4th floor had A/C which was very loud so I had to change that room
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainbow777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for work. Good location in the main part of the city, close to lots of things. Price is more reasonable than a lot of Kinshasa hotels. Rooms were perfectly clean, if not particularly special, staff were friendly enough. They also sell Vodacom sim cards at a kiosk in the lobby, so that's a huge help if you're just arriving.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have small balconies - these are preferable.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank optimallydisplaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Second visit to the Sultani in 6 months.Has the absolute bare minimum, however for Kinshasa that is more than you get at a lot of other places. Rooms clean with TV that picks up satellite if there are no thunderstorms. Bathrooms very poor and smelly. Make sure you have towels before you hop under the shower. My aircon worked properly through my colleagues did not. Check this when you get shown to your room and wait till you know it is cold air. Bedroom doors are steel lined (not sure why) so there is no chance someone can get into your room once you have locked yourself in for the night. Breakfast acceptable. Fresh bread, instant coffee sachets with hot water and powdered milk. Some cereal and cold meats.
The staff make this place despite the other short comings. The front desk are most helpful and always smiling. I don't speak French yet they made me feel very relaxed. The small bar on the ground floor serves cold beers and decent freshly roasted peanuts. WiFi reception not bad yet expensive at US$10 per day, though I have paid more in the DRC.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank clinton_sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Staying here for a couple of nights for business was a pleasant experience. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was good. The prices were a little steep but the location is good. The finish on the rooms is slightly lacking and it is not exactly luxurious but they were clean and had all you needed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LCOSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed here one night while traveling through Kinshasa - for Kinshasa, it definitely is a good deal. The room was clean and comfortable - nice bathroom. Definitely very safe. Also, a huge plus for me was that one of the men working at the front desk could speak English, and went out of his way to help me figure a few logistical things out - he found an English speaking taxi driver for me, and even called his dad to try to find out about the bus schedule to Matadi for me. Since I was traveling alone and can't speak French, that kind of help was invaluable. Everyone at the hotel was super friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank winnie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews