We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Orovy Beach Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 107 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: $9 - $16
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 9, 2018 via mobile

We took a day bus trip around the island and stopped here for a late lunch. What a lovely surprise this place was with a beach restaurant with beautiful fresh food. Just perfect ☺

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank JennC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essau K, General Manager at Orovy Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

Many thanks for coming by and share your time with our friendly staff. Thank you for supporting the locals. We really appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 56 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2018

We stopped here for lunch and it was just beautiful. The food was very yummy and great quality! The setting is just beautiful. We ate lunch watching the ocean

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essau K, General Manager at Orovy Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

A big thank you for supporting the locals. We really appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2017 via mobile

Hidden gem. A must do!
The food at the village restaurant (Orovy Beach Restaurant) was outstanding. Simply the best lobster I have ever had! They have lobster every Friday, Saturday and Sunday(caught locally offshore). So then there is the amazing fish meals and everything else! The menu is unashamedly simple and is local produce focussed.
George and Rachel were amazing hosts. We ate at the Orovy Beach restaurant every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Each day was a culinary treat and depended on what was available on the day and what was sourced from the village directly. Could not fault the food at all, hence why we ate there each day.
Rachel even gave impromptu traditional cooking lessons (between her cooking school duties - another reason to visit - I suggest to book as they appear popular) and we were able to experience genuine Vanuatu food.
You can choose to simply eat at the restaurant or you can stay at the bungalow for a few days. This place is a must stay and eat experience at Emua Village, Vanuatu. We (my 8 year old son and I) travelled together and were safe and welcomed by the beautiful village community. He learned to climb a coconut tree and watch a movie in the playground under the stars with the village kids. They became his family during our stay. The bungalow was simple and rustic. In the morning we walked 1 minute to the best spot in Vanuatu to go snorkeling, swimming and generally laze around. George organised day trips for us and nothing was too much trouble.
The bungalow was furnished nicely with the facilities being seperate. Everything was spotlessly clean. Rachel even went to the effort of making our beds every day and placing fresh flowers from the garden outside our bungalow on our beds.
Then of course, there was the sunset sitting at the Orovy Beach Restaurant right on the beach.
Words escape me the beauty of this place. (Check out the photos).
Nice wine in hand and great food. Tranquility personified.
A true immersive experience for anyone or family wanting a taste of traditional Vanuatu life and food.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank karenn490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essau K, General Manager at Orovy Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

We really love the way you commented on our local restaurant. Thank you very much. Hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2017

20 mins on the left from Havannah on the way to Eton Beach- in Emua Village. This lovely licenced restaurant is run by local Chef George and his wife.
Really the best lunch we had in Efate! right on the beach with views of surrounding islands (extinct volcanoes many of them!)
Fresh produce from his village - this is an authentic experience. Support this truly driven Local and his village.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 512carynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essau K, General Manager at Orovy Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

Many thanks for supporting the locals. We loved your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

I have eaten there twice now and will be going back. It is on the opposite side of the island of Efate from Port Vila but it is worth the travel.
The views from the restaurant are stunning. It is a simple but delightful beach side restaurant run by a true gentleman. The food is excellent and as I said, I will be going back!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essau K, General Manager at Orovy Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. Please come back and support the locals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orovy Beach Restaurant also viewed

Port Vila, Efate
Port Vila, Efate
 

Been to Orovy Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing