We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect central location, surprisingly plush large rooms”
Review of Hotel Olympic

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Olympic
Ranked #13 of 23 Port Vila B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed our first night in Port Vila at the Hotel Olympic to get our bearings and so we could see what the restraurants and bars of Port Vila were like. Hotel Olympic was perfect for this purpose. Central as you can get, easy walk to the harbour, restaurants etc.

We booked a studio apartment to share with 3 adults and were pleasantly surprised by how spacious a plush it was for the price. Comfy big beds with clean fresh linnens and nice covers. Much much cheaper than a much smaller, crumbier room at one of the large hotels in port vila (we also stayed at Le Meridien). Full kitchen facilities, fridge, airconditioning. Bathroom was clean and functional and also a good size.

There is a cute bbq area upstairs with plants, seating etc.
Service was fine - we didn't actually need much service except check in and out, which went smoothly. We had booked through the hotel's website as we found that was the easiest way to ensure all 3 could stay in the room with out being charged an 'additional guest' surcharge, as other 'discount' booking sites did.

The included breakfast involved getting vouchers from the desk and going across the road to a chinese restaurant, where we got a nice traditional breakfast spread including bacon/eggs/fruit/yogurht/muslie/toast and juices. Was very tasty and good after a big night out on the town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peanuts56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 31 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2010

Stayed at Olympic hotel due to it being conveniently located right in the town of Vila . This means easy access to local buses to go to cascades, hideway island, etc. Satisfactory to use as a base to travel around the local sites.
Had a studio room with kitchenette which was clean, tidy and comfortable. Air con to keep room cool as it can get very hot and humid in Vila. Can get somewhat noisy at night as its right in town but thats to be expected given its location. Staff friendly and helpful.
All round a very good well priced hotel if you just want it as a base to come back to after travelling around during the day. Choice of many resturants within walking distance to eat at, or grocery stores/market to buy food and prepare yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandalsAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Olympic down town in Port Vila for a 3 night stay. Good large rooms with opening doors. (Airconditioned if you want, but we didn't use) Very clean, service was good. Not all staff spoke english, but they were nice.

Free internet access, not so strong in the rooms but there is a garden area that the signal comes from and it is very good. Just ask the staff for the code for the wireless.

Had breakfast at Nirvana Restaurant across the road (also managed by Hotel), ask for breakfast included in the room rate.. If you book online is is a bit cheaper than over the phone.....they also do asian curries. Worth a try. Take away is good at Bob & Emilies takeaway up the road oposite the Parliament House.

All in all, nice clean hotel with pretty good staff!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MantraErskineBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

The Olypic Hotel was what I expected, a fairly plain serviced aprtment type of complex in downtown Port Vila.

The partment I had was one of the mid-range offering and came with a large bedroom and living area/kitchen on an upper floor.

As this was my first time in Vila I wanted somewhere well located so that I could explore the town without with the option of getting back to the hotel easily.

Overall I thought the Olympic fair value for money with the amenities of Vila just outside the front door.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inflight_meal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominique r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank roberto959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
1,579 reviews
0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
556 reviews
0 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#4 of 47 in Port Vila
725 reviews
0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic

Address: Rue Bougainville, PO Box 3232, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Port Vila
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Is Currently Under Renovation, See You Soon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Olympic Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing