We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable older-style hotel”
Review of Hotel Olympic

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Olympic
Ranked #14 of 22 Port Vila B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I spent a month in the Olympic. It's a short walk to most of the businesses in Vila, and handy to many restaurants, cafes, the Tropical Market, Anchor Inn and Nambawan Cafe. I had two rooms - a large double with basic kitchen facilities (electric frypan, jug, microwave and refrigerator), and a two room suite with a full kitchen. The rooms fronting the main Vila road are quite noisy.

The rooms are clean and tidy, and serviced with fresh towels and sheets daily. Decor owes more to the 60's and 70's than the current century. Furniture is in good condition, but laminated kitchen and bathroom surfaces were lifting. Free WiFi (but slow; better for email than browsing) and 3 TV stations.There's an outdoor courtyard and barbeque, but no pool. Good hot water.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Safe and comfortable. At the price, would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birchgrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 31 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed here for five nights in October. The hotel is conveniently located on the main street of Port Vila, on the northern side of town. Restaurants, bars and night-life are within close walking distance. If you want a swimming pool you'll be disappointed. Breakfast is not included: it's an optional extra if one desires it. I found the staff are friendly and helpful, not only with regards to the hotel's facilities, but with their general knowledge about town as well. Wireless Internet is an advertised feature.

My room was styled a "Twin Room", although fitted out with one queen size bed, rather than two beds, which made for a lot more space. Mine was at the front, facing the main street. Whilst there was a bit of street noise, it was never more than an irregular, minor irritant. The queen bed was comfortable, the air con was a touch noisy, but worked well and came with a remote. Other inclusions are in-room tea and coffee facilities, a generously sized bar 'fridge, a small TV and bedside clock-radio. The curtains were thick and kept out unwanted street or early-morning light. There was no in-room security safe. The only complaint I could probably level at the room was the light quality of the bulbs fitted. Both the ceiling and bedside lamps appeared fitted with rather low-wattage bulbs.

I felt external security was quite good. The doors closed at 9:00pm, (a night key was provided) and a security officer was in attendance at the front. He did a good job. On my first late-night return, even though I opened the door with my night key, he still politely verified my bona fides.

In the bathroom, the basin provided both hot and cold running water, the shower water (shower over bath) was hot, didn't run out and had good pressure. The basin was fitted into a long bench top which gave heaps of space to layout all the necessities of bathing without needing to constantly delve into one's bag of bathroom goodies. The only criticisms I'd level at the bathroom is the degree of mildew in the bath recess and also when climbing over the rather high side of the bath, a little care is prudent as one can be a little "off centre" with the potential to slip.

The decor in my bedroom and bathroom was a little tired however it appears that the establishment is gradually being totally refurbished. I settled my account with a credit card along with a card surcharge of 3½%, low by Vanuatu standards.

Summary: A well run mid-range hotel, conveniently situated right in town, close to all facilities, friendly and helpful staff and management. A little "tired" in decor but under active refurbishment.

Room Tip: 1. Request a look at the refurbished rooms. 2. Ask for a room off the main street if outside noise w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hastatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlympicHotel, Owner at Hotel Olympic, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Hi I have asked a couple of times to have the listing chnages from A B&B to a Hotel.

What do I have to do to get you guys to change it PLEASE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We enjoy staying central to everything going on, so we loved the location of Hotel Olympic in the centre of town.

Walking distance to the cafes and restaurants, the supermarket, and ferry to Iririki.

Accommodation in Port Vila is quite expensive, particularly for what you get for your money. We paid $90 a night for Hotel Olympic standard twin room inc. Wi-fi and air-con, so we were happy with this and felt it was good value for money compared to other places.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The decor is old fashioned a bit worn around the edges, but clean, and the beds were very comfortable.

There was air conditioning, though the unit was very noisy. The free wi-fi was slow, but reliable, and we loved having it for free in the rooms.

The TV was so small (about the size of an ipad screen!) and reception was not great.

The bathrooms were spacious and clean, and the shower was warm enough for a shower, though never really got hot.

The hotel is on a very busy main road, which is quite noisy. However we feel into the routine of the island, early to bed, early to rise. So the traffic noise (which was enough to wake you from 6 ish onwards) didn't bother us.

The reception desk was friendly, though levels of English varied with different members of staff.

We saw the work in progress renovation of the studio rooms, they are looking great, they will be very smart when they are done. I was impressed that the hotel had put us in a room furthest away from the renovations, so this didn't effect our stay at all.

We enjoyed going to Chantillys Hotel for food, and happy hour cocktails at the Grand was great.

We viewed the following hotels out of interest, so if you want any thoughts on the places below please email me:

Pacific Lagoon apts
Pandanus Bay apts
Villa Chaumieres
Tamanu on the Beach
Starfish Cove
Chantillys
Iririki Resort
Mangoes Resort
Grand Sebel

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The Olympic is an institution in Vanuatu. I stay there every three to four months fo business. The location is perfect for me being in the heart of town. Most of the rooms are large & self contained.
Free Wireless internet is a big bonus for any commercial traveller. The satff are always helpful & friendly & currently the rooms are being upgraded. I can recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Olympic got great service and is really a clean hotel to an affordable price. The standard is of what you might expect on any european hotels. The friendly girl at the counter even recognized us from our last visit and we`ll be back at another occation.

The cons are that the internet connection is among the worlds slowest and most unrelyable, but atleast it is free. It would also be nice if people above the height of 160 cm could use the showers freely standing up with no trouble.

All in all, a nice choice between luxury resorts and cheap B&B`s.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0stViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Fantastic location right in the heart of town. Close to everything. Staff were so helpful & guided us along the way.

Rooms were very clean & the beds are comfortable.

Happy to recommend

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We booked into the Olympic for two main reasons: because it was downtown (which we generally prefer); and because a large double room with a/c for under 8000VTUs seemed excellent value for money compared with all the resort hotels which surround Port Vila. Being downtown offered a choice of places for breakfast and dinner (not possible if you're staying in a resort miles from the centre), and easy access to the attractions of Port Vila.

We found the staff helpful, the rooms were cleaned properly every day, and the hotel stored one of our bags when we went off to Tanna. Otherwise we've very little to add to the other recent reviews.

And if you do want the "resort experience" during the daytime, many of the island resorts (Iririki, Erakor, Hideaway, etc.) are open to non-residents on payment of a fee which is generally refundable against meals and drinks purchased at the resort - much cheaper than actually staying there!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandSKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,544 reviews
0 mi away
Pacific Paradise Motel
Pacific Paradise Motel
#43 of 47 in Port Vila
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
515 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
548 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic

Address: Rue Bougainville, PO Box 3232, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Port Vila
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Is Currently Under Renovation, See You Soon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Olympic Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing